Help with renovation using traditional methods, developing and rewilding the land in Galicia, Spain



94 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    90.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 6 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Greetings from the end of the Milky Way.

    I recently bought a stone house on two hectares of land between Cedeira and the legendary pilgrimage site, San Andres de Teixido in Galicia (said to be the end of the Milky Way). I am doing up the house using traditional methods, and developing and rewilding the land...more details below.

    The house is about two km from the Atlantic as the crow flies, and about 4.5km from Cedeira and its beautiful sheltered beaches, and a bit further for one of Spain's best surfing (home to the Pantin Classico competition). Cedeira is a lovely little fishing town in a sheltered bay, which is great for swimming and boating.

    The house is the last one on the road up to the Monte Capelada National Park. You can walk straight out of the house and into this stunning a network of trails and cliff walks. There are active walking groups here (I've been part of one for the past year) where you can discover the many lost natural places, Celtic hill forts, mines and coastline of this spectacular part of the world. You can also walk right up to the top of the highest cliffs in Europe, or descend to the famous Black Sands beach. I have two mountain bikes which visitors are free to use.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am a writer and one of the leading experts on the history of Yoga. If you came here I would offer a daily morning yoga class or a guided practice, according to your experience.

    You would have a room of your own (or you could build a cabin with a sea view for yourself!). You could use the stay to practice your Spanish, sign up for one of the local surf schools, or kayak around the bays.

    You can also learn about forest gardens, and have a direct experience of an experiment in localism and self-sufficiency (in the early stages).

    If you're interested, I can teach you how to make your own beer.

  • Ayuda


    I am working on renovating the house using traditional lime plastering. If you came, you would be learning this technique (or applying it if you already know it), as well as helping get rid of the plaster in which the house was encased in the 1980s.

    You might also help with converting another small stone house (used for cattle) into a studio, and building some cabins, or a greenhouses. If you have building know-how, I'd especially like to hear from you. But I can use all kinds of help here.

    Half of the land was until recently eucalyptus plantation. The eucalyptus are an ecological curse and an extreme fire hazard in northwest Spain and Portugal. I bought this land to clear the eucalyptus and rewild it, in an attempt to bring back some of the biodiversity it used to have. Replanting will being in December or January, and help would be greatly appreciated with this.

    I'm also planning on putting up some small cabins there for writers, artists, activists, meditators and yogis. Maybe you could build your own, and have your very own sea views.

    Finally, the other half of the land will be given over to a forest garden and raised beds for vegetables. Help may be needed with growing/weeding etc., if the season requires it, and possibly with some landscaping.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Estou moi interesado en aprender galego. Teño unha base básica, pero necesito aprender máis. J'aime parler espagnol et français aussi.

  • Alojamiento


    Your own room in the house or in the converted 'horreo' (one-up, one-down grain drying house). I would cook lunch every day. I can also cook dinner, or we can share the cooking. There are lots of good restaurants in Cedeira too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is so much to do in this part of Galicia, which they call 'Green Spain' because of the cooler Atlantic weather. It is a relatively undiscovered region with few foreigners living here. I've already mentioned the spectacular coastline here. The walking is exceptionally good, as is the mountain biking. I swim all year round in the local bays: the water is always brisk, but never icy. San Andres is a very special place, and you can walk or ride there from here on the mountain paths. The town of Cedeira is a lovely place to spend an evening watching the fishing boats come in, or sitting in one of the many bars with a cold Estrella Galicia.

    You're also close to sections of the Camino de Santiago de Compostella, Europe's most famous pilgrimage route, and not too far from the Picos de Europa mountains. There are many incredible rivers nearby for kayaking (the Minho, for example), and some modest ones just a bike-ride away. I'd recommend having a look online or in a guidebook about Galicia and the wonders it has to offer.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 245922347753