Companion/assistant for a disabled youth close to Paeroa, Coromandel area, with lots of bush walks. New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

61 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/02/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    242

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My husband and I are creating a community of support around our disabled son, Keegan, who has high complex needs. We know that he would 'wilt' if he lived in residential care. Our property is 4 hectares with a large house and minor dwellings. We would like to apply the principle of 'If Mohammed can't (won't) go to the mountain, the mountain must come to Mohammed'; we would like our place to buzz with life around our son and that involves overseas visitors. Once the house is renovated and ready, we will set out to create a self-sustainable organic environment. We have paddocks, an orchard and a vege garden.

    We are looking for someone to join our team of 3; ideally a nurse, Occupational Therapist or Physiotherapist with a good command of English (this is very important). You would share our daily living, as a boarder, but also be paid to provide support to Keegan.

    New legislation coming into effect in July ensures that support workers are paid well above the minimum wage. Our son receives funding for his disability support so the arrangement means that you provide some hours of support (around 25 hours a week, negotiable), you are paid for them ($20 phr before tax). You live with us, become part of our family, have your own room, food, access to WIFI, power, washing machine etc, paying us board of $200-250 a week. This will leave you some money in hand each week. We are flexible about it so the arrangement is negotiable, enabling you to discover our beautiful surroundings on your days off.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to live on a life style block within amazing surroundings (conservation lands). You will get to learn our kiwi ways, participate to our music jams (our young man is an accomplished muso) and generally feel good about making a difference in his life. You will also learn how to relate to someone who needs 24/7 support for all his needs.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The support involves being a companion to Keegan, including personal care (toiletting etc).

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house has 5 bedrooms plus Keegan's self-contained studio. You will have your own bedroom. The kitchen is shared. The idea is to share our daily life (including chores and cooking).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live close to Paeroa, Coromandel area, with lots of bush walks. Our property faces a large area of Conservation land.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 217119571536