Help finish a DIY project and experience island community life on the shores of Lake Huron, Canada

Country

Canadá

6 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/08/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I'm a laid-back, worldly, middle-aged, immigrant, big-city ex-pat who thrives on stimulating conversation and make a mean cup of coffee. I live in a small, remote and beautiful community on Manitoulin Island (yeah, the one of "the world's largest fresh-water island" fame :-)), located off the shores of Lake Huron.

    My home is a 100 year old church, located in the centre of our town, about 150 meters from the beach.

    My project is pretty simple: I need some assistance finishing up my renovation - remaining tasks include many, but minor, indoor finishing projects, landscaping and painting the entire (well, almost the entire) exterior of the building .

    For covidy reasons, at the time of writing, we won't be able to share meals, but I'm happy to provide the stuff it takes to cook up something tasty (I'm largely vegetarian) .

    Manitoulin means spirit island in Anishinaabemowin (Ojibwe language). The island is considered sacred by the Native Anishinaabe people, who are the original settlers on these lands. That the island is indeed spirited is something which most who live here can all agree on - there is an undeniable energy that is rare and most residents are grateful to to live here. The island can be accessed via ferry from the south or the one-lane swing-bridge from the north.

    Aside from super-friendly, helpful locals (known as Haweaters), our village features hiking trails, a 2 km long, sandy beach along a sandy-bottomed bay with crystal clear water - I am in the water on days when weather permits (I have a kayak which I will gladly lend you if you are also a "water-baby"). Our bay and beach is home to a variety of fitness equipment, lots of rocky shoreline, beautiful boardwalks and a river. Original old houses line the streets ( a total of 4 running N/S and 3 running E/W) and we have a small marina, along with conveniences such as a hip coffee-shop/art store, home-cooked take-out, an ice-cream shop, weekly outdoor concerts and farmers' markets on the boardwalk and a fish-n-chips stand. All within a 15-second to 2-minute walk from our front door.

    On the island in general, you will find much natural beauty - great for hiking, fishing, bicycling, swimming, water-sports etc; several indigenous reserves that are host to a number of pow-wows (some open to outsiders), museums, art-galleries, a tonne of hiking trails, charming old villages and small towns, a couple of micro-breweries, a thriving arts and permie-community and (pandemic pending, of course) many summer festivals - music, home-comings, fairs etc. as well as a weekly, local newspaper.

    If small town living and easy access to Northern nature is your thing, let's talk 😊

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am an immigrant myself and will readily share of my experience with you. There are also several indigenous communities nearby where you can learn more about original Canadian culture.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    My project is pretty simple: I need some help finishing up my renovation - remaining tasks include many, but minor, indoor finishing tasks, landscaping and exterior painting.

    The camper in which you will live also needs a little bit of work - specifically, the floor needs to come out and be replaced. Everything else in it is totally fine.

    You should have some physical strength and general handyman skills & experience.

    I'm also pretty flexible, so if you prefer to work 2.5 days in a row, or one full week on followed by one full week off or some other combination that works well for us both. I'd be completely open to suggestions.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Danish: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Norwegian: Intermedio
    Ruso: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have a degree in Linguistics as well as Slavic languages and literature. In addition, I freelance as a teacher of and translator between my mother tongue and English. My understanding of and fascination with languages, how they work and how they are learned is significant and I am happy to share of it. In addition, as a true polyglot, I love learning new languages, or smatterings thereof.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Stay in a neat, retro (original 1980's) 22', self-contained (full kitchen & bath) fifth-wheel camper, set in a private location on my lot. You will also have access to laundry and wi-fi.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is no public transport on Manitoulin. Within reason, I will transport you as necessary and I also have a bicycle that you may borrow.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    My Wi-Fi is fine and easily shared. I do work from home, but since translating is the name of my work-from-home game, it doesn't take up much bandwidth.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have massive parking-lot as part of my property so bring whatever size camper-van/motor-home you got!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    As long as your pet is polite, friendly and non-destructive, it is welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 213862281823