Home environment in lovely Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

278 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    59  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/10/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    143

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Have you been avoiding Covid by hanging out in quiet parts of BC? We may have room for you. Priority to workers who have had their Covid vaccines, take precautions seriously and are on Vancouver Island or areas that have low covid rates. We usually have helpers at this time of year but Covid put the brakes on that so far. Larry and I have been working away slowly making progress on the list but at the same time feeling overwhelmed and wishing we had some company. We are missing you wonderful travelers.

    It is just the 2 of us with our dog living in a beautiful home surrounded by fields and forest with views of the mountains and sunsets. It is very peaceful here and we often see deer, hawks, and eagles.
    Sometimes we like extra help with the garden or forest or whatever special projects are on the list (see below) and of course there is always weeding. If you are not used to outdoor work you will build some muscle and get your hands dirty! We try to accommodate people's strengths and abilities. We won't ask you to do any work that is beyond your capacity. We work with you as much as possible and make sure you are comfortable with the job. We do expect a good work effort and ability to clarify and follow directions.

    We have hosted more than 100 volunteers over 10 years and it has always been a great time together. We love welcoming travelers into our home and treat you like family while you are here. We value the efforts and contributions that have been made by all who have stayed here. We certainly wouldn't be where we are without the help and we feel the helpers become part of our story. Some of those pictures are included in our profile.

    Breakfast is self serve from food provided. For lunch and dinner, I like to cook a variety of healthy meals from scratch and we eat together family style. You are welcome to help and keep company in the kitchen with cooking or clean up. We raise our own beef and seasonal vegetables.

    We have bikes so you can go exploring to Cowichan Bay (10 Min) or into town- 7 km. We try to be accommodating of people's interest and help them explore the Valley. It is such a beautiful area for hikes along rivers, up mountains and enjoying beaches. In the evenings, we like to watch TV, read, play cards or watch the sunset while playing with the dog.

    This is a good place for 2 people traveling together but that is not a requirement. We have often had 2 individuals traveling who have become great friends. 3 week long stays preferred but exceptions can be made.
    Non-smoking, no drugs.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    For many it has been a reprieve from the fast pace of work or travel. A chance to regroup, think, get in touch with themselves and plan the next steps. Working outside, enjoying the beautiful, peaceful nature that surrounds our home, learning new skills, and being appreciated for their efforts while being welcomed like family and experiencing how one Canadian home functions are what a traveler can expect with us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Projects on the list this fall;
    *️ Cleaning out old leaves and weeds in the rhubarb patch
    *️️️️️️️️ pulling invasive weeds in the forest
    * fall clean up in the gardens
    * picking produce and preserving it.

    We try to match skill level/ experience with job needs and we will help along side you when possible or make sure you understand the job before leaving you.
    We are flexible with the volunteering day hours so that you can have the time you need to explore. At the same time, we expect a good work ethic and a job well done. We expect you to make an effort to be efficient and be good at clarifying and following directions.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Large private bedrooms and bathroom upstairs in main house with wireless internet.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    With Covid we will work out what is best for traveling to our home on an individual basis. We expect our guests to take social distancing precautions and hand sanitation seriously.
    There is great beauty and peaceful nature in our area. many hiking and biking opportunities.
    We are situated midway between the larger cities of Victoria and Nanaimo. Victoria is a favorite city for guests to explore.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large property in the country so lots of room for a camper van.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-5 hrs per day, 5 days per week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)






































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 211311856115