Help with the garden and day to day home maintenance tasks in a lovely country town Cootamundra, Australia

  • 47 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Come to Cootamundra and experience a real Australian country town. Cootamundra is a very sociable and friendly town as well as being very pretty with tree lined streets and beautiful parks. Whether you land in Sydney or Melbourne you can catch the train (it's called the XPT) directly to Cootamundra. You'll also get to see more Australian countryside along the way. It will give you a good idea about Australia. My first Workawayers commented that it was very good to come to for their very first Workaway. They felt very safe and well looked after.

    I like to make sure we have plenty of fun while you are here. Tennis on Tuesday mornings (this is usually only girls - however, Cootamundra has every code of football, each with their own sports ground, so I'm sure I can work out something for the guys - I took Li to Soccer), Pub Trivia at the Central Hotel on a Tuesday night (a real Australian pub!), Movies on Sunday night (if you want to) at what's called 'The Tin Shed' and little trips either to where I need to go or to various interesting places not too far away.

    This is a 22-acre property 12 km outside Cootamundra in the Muttama Valley, a rich farming area known for its wheat and wool. Cootamundra is a small country town on the south west slopes of the Great Dividing Range, about 200km or 2 hours west of Canberra and about 4 hours south of Sydney. It is on the direct rail route between Melbourne and Sydney and the XPT train runs twice a day. It has a population of about 7,000, has lovely tree lined streets, lovely homes and beautiful parks.

    As I said before it is a very friendly town with numerous coffee shops and cafes and an Art Centre that provides a great variety of entertainment including movies. It is also known for it’s many sporting bodies: Cycling; League; Union; Football; Cricket; Golf; Bowls; Tennis and also its cultural activities, in particular dance.

    In 1990 , it was the corner of a friend’s back paddock. Since that time, I have developed it in to a truly lovely property. The house is passive solar design, built with sustainability in mind (I have deliberately not built a McMansion!) and is very comfortable. I have purpose-built facilities for dogs, horses, sheep and cattle. The gardens are extensive with a tree lined driveway meandering up to the house where there are lovely lawns and even more gardens.

    I used to be a very active and sporty woman. I showed a horse for fourteen years and owned, bred, trained and competed with Hungarian Vizslas for thirty years. Now in my mid-seventies, however, I find I am much slower than I once was and nowhere near as strong. A friend suggested that Workaway might be just what I need. I am a very sociable person and enjoy having people to stay. I also have a very active social life and am happy to include you in my activities such as Trivia, Book Club, Yoga, Ladies Tennis (I can arrange men’s tennis) and golf (though these would need to be at your own expense).

    In return I need help with the garden, weeding, mulching, cutting back and mowing. I'm a real outdoor person so usually we will be outside most of the day. I also need some help with a little home maintenance such as cleaning the gutters, the windows and a bit of inside work.

    I had Workawayers twice during 2023 and absolutely loved having these young people around. Discussing ideas. Listening to plans. Helping with their English. I even managed to remember some school girl french from a very long time ago! I am still in touch via Whatsapp with my first Workawayers. I also learned to use the 'Talking Translator' with my Japanese Workawayer. While you are here you can take a day tour to Canberra, Australia's National Capital. A bus leaves Cootamundra Railway Station in the morning and returns in the afternoon. I am happy to drive you to the station and pick you up when you return. Also, there is an app you can download to do a walking tour of all the main attractions in Canberra. I can promise you a very safe and happy environment. I try to cook good, healthy Australian style meals and you will have a very lovely bedroom, bathroom and toilet all to yourself.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to provide all your meals. I find most people like to make their breakfast and lunch in their own time so I will provide what you like to have and leave it to you. I have worked out a very Australian menu so you get to appreciate Aussie cuisine.
    However, I am a bit of a "Health" nerd so tend to have fresh fruit for snacks rather than sweet things and junk food! If you want to have those things feel free to bring them with you.
    Having lived overseas myself, I find one of the most difficult things for me to cope with is not having familiar food. I would suggest that you actually bring something with that you especially like to eat when you are at home. You won't be able to bring it in to Australia, but both Melbourne and Sydney are very cosmopolitan cities and have foods from most countries in the world.
    I am a very neat and clean person so I would like you to clean up after yourself. There is a dishwasher and automatic washing machine. You will have your own double bedroom (photo provided), bathroom and toilet. Your bedroom is north-facing and you look out on to the front patio and garden. It is a really lovely room.
    I have a very large shed so if you happen to have a caravan or motor-home I can actually provide undercover, lockup storage.
    On your days off you might like to explore surrounding country towns like Gundagai. Tumut, Young, Grenfell, Temora, Junee, etc. I am happy to suggest points of interest. Canberra is only two hours away and is an easy day trip. Alternatively, you might like to travel to any of these and stay overnight. Ideally you need to have your own vehicle, however, there is some public transport if you want to explore this option.
    As stated previously, Cootamundra is a really lovely country town, where people smile and say hello when you walk down the street and I will enjoy having you.

    I really look forward to hosting my next Workawayers.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Because I no longer have the strength or energy I once had, I need help just to catch up on gardening chores and things like cleaning the gutters and cleaning the windows. I also have antique furniture which I absolutely love but often don't get around to dusting and polishing as I would like. Some help with this would be wonderful too.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own bedroom, bathroom and toilet. All of which are light and airy with outside views of the countryside. They are also beautifully decorated. The passive solar design means the house is comfortable all year round. If there are two of you you'll have a bedroom each. One has a double bed. One has two single beds. If there are three of you, two will have to go in the bedroom with two beds.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    On your days off you might like to explore surrounding country towns like Gundagai. Tumut, Young, Grenfell, Temora, Junee, etc. I am happy to suggest points of interest.
    Canberra is only two hours away and is an easy day trip.
    Alternatively, you might like to travel to any of these and stay overnight. Ideally you need to have your own vehicle, however, there is some public transport if you want to explore this option. Country link have coach services to a number of other towns.

    Ask me for the link of a video of my property- so you can get a better idea of what my property is like. I look forward to meeting you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    As I only have a limited internet plan, workawayers would need to have their own internet account. Also, while I have good access to Telstra other providers can be problematic. I think Optus may be OK.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a very large shed with power and a concrete floor. I have my own campervan in there and there is plenty of space for a couple more!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We would need to discuss this beforehand. You'll see from my profile that I am an animal lover. Vision died in October so there are no more dogs here, though there are sheep so whatever animals come would need to be safe around sheep (and me!).

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 211293928127

Comentarios (5)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.2)

Intercambio cultural: (4.2)

Comunicación: (4.2)







Gardening and some building help in NSW, Australia
Help us with home chores and the garden on the beautiful Bruny Island, Tasmania, Australia