Help with some summer projects at our home in the Highlands north of Inverness, Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

341 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    27  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    197

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello Workawayers, thank you for reading our listing! We live on a smallholding of 18 acres in a lovely, rural location, surrounded by mature woodland near the coast between Invergordon and Tain, in the beautiful Scottish Highlands, north of Inverness. We are a project-rich but time-poor working couple with 3 adult children who have left home and 2 teenagers (15 and 18) still at home.

    SUMMER 2021 PROJECT ALERT! We need help with building gravel beds and decking for our natural swimming pool! We are especially keen to hear from you if this is something you'd like to be involved in and/or have experience in.

    We have 12 hens, 3 cows, 1 calf, 3 cats, a vegetable garden and a poly tunnel. We both currently work full time (Sophie is a teacher and Nicky a builder/plumber) and so need help with some of our ongoing projects, which vary depending on the time of year. Outdoor activities and food are important aspects of our life here - some of us play Scottish trad music, others love skiing, mountain biking, swimming in cold water and hill walking but we all love eating, especially food we have produced ourselves, whether that's meat we have reared, eggs from our hens or produce from our garden.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Workawayers will find out lots about Scottish and Highlands culture, such as the landscape, history, traditions and politics of modern Scotland. We like to meet new people from different places who are also interested in communication and cultural exchange of ideas and experiences with us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    In the winter, the days are quite short and the opportunity to tackle big projects is more limited so the main activities are processing wood for our self-sufficient heating system (this could involve chain sawing if you are able, log splitting, keeping the kindling tray stocked and moving logs into the log shed as required), fence maintenance and feeding the animals; also at this time of year lighting fires to heat the house is essential and there are always domestic chores to do such as laundry, cleaning, food prep etc.
    In the Spring and Summer, the longer days mean that it's easier to get involved in activities such as gardening (digging, planting, weeding, picking), mowing, strimming and general grounds care. We have a four acre walled garden which is an ongoing project in terms of maximising its use.
    At any time of year, there will be other tasks such as cleaning out the hen houses and maintaining the track.
    We live in a large house in the countryside and help with general housework, tidying, cleaning, laundry and washing the dishes is always greatly appreciated.
    Volunteers who come to stay really need to be able to take the initiative with regards to tasks around the place, once they have been shown and explained what they are, especially since we are mostly out during the day in the week. Also, it's really important to be open, dynamic, energetic, responsible, honest and patient.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a self-contained "granny flat" with en-suite bathroom which is sometimes available and a large downstairs room with a double bed and a single bed. There is a shower room downstairs opposite the large room. Wifi is available throughout the house and there is good 4G signal in the area.
    With regards to food, breakfast and lunch are a "help yourself" affair, whilst the evening meal is the chance for everyone to talk about their day and enjoy the food together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There's a local bus service which runs every hour to Inverness (about 30 miles away) and is roughly a 50 minute bus ride. There are plenty of local walks/bike routes from the house. We are about 6 miles from both Invergordon and Tain, small towns with shops, cafes etc. Of course this is a good base from which to explore the majestic mountainous scenery of the whole of the Highlands of Scotland.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.5)




















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 197958289943