Give us a hand with babysitting and housekeeping in Valencia, Spain

Country

España

135 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/10/2020

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Greetings from Alboraya! We are Emma, Miguel Angel and little Dafne, a Spanish family living in Alboraya, a town next to Valencia. We are both software developers and in 2017 we became parents of little Dafne. We have lived in Berlin, Dublin and Valencia, where we own a nice apartment. We love slow travelling, meeting locals and experience a cultural exchange.

    Our nursing style with Dafne is spending quality time with her with no screen time, letting her do or watch the house activities and letting her gain independence and self confidence. We enjoy toys that are not technological, that do not assume any gender and that can be used in many ways. Emma loves doing DIY toys for her.

    Fun fact: We don't iron, there's no iron at home.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We've got wonderful experiences as travellers and hosts in other hospitality networks and as we currently need an extra hand we wanted to try workaway . It has been a smooth, helpful and rewarding experience so far.

    You'll be part of our family. You can expect a nice tour to our surroundings and lots of tips if you want to explore further. We're always willing to improve our language skills so you can expect some conversations in English but more than happy to also improve your Spanish if you are interested.

    Valencia is a historical city with an active cultural agenda worth visiting in any season. You'll find blue-flag beaches in Alboraya and Valencia, a stone throw away from our home. If you like the country side, historic towns, interesting landscape and/or hiking we've got plenty of info for you to know our region better.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Ideally, we are looking for someone with experience taking care of toddlers willing to stay with us for 3-4 weeks. (We cannot host couples or families travelling together.)

    Dafne will be 3 years old next summer (2020). She's a healthy happy toddler who enjoys playing, cooking (making pizza is one of her favourites!), being tickled, painting and listening to tales and histories. She only speaks Spanish at the moment.

    We mainly need help taking care of Dafne during the weekdays, generally ~3 hours after lunch in a regular schedule. Emma works from home, so you won't be alone while babysitting.

    Housekeeping with a little one is hard, so an extra hand taking care of arranging the kitchen daily, taking care of the laundry, keeping the main rooms clean and doing a general house cleaning once a week will make the rest of the volunteer time.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You'll stay in the guest room.
    We tend to prepare simple meals during week days and something more elaborate during the weekends. You can share our lunch and you are welcome to use anything from the kitchen and cook for yourself for dinner.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in Alboraya, a town next to Valencia. You will find all the amenities expected for a urban life (shops, cafes, restaurants, gym, markets...), while enjoying a relaxed environment.

    Alboraya is well connected with:
    - Valencia center by direct underground line (5 minutes from home) that will take you there in 13 minutes.
    - Valencia train station - direct underground (trip takes 15 minutes)
    - Valencia airport - direct underground (trip takes 30 minutes)
    - Valencia bus station - underground (trip takes ~25 minutes)
    - Patacona beach, Port Saplaya beach (Alboraya beaches) by local bus, or by walking (it takes ~25 minutes) or riding a bike
    - Malvarrosa beach (Valencia beach) by underground

    La via Xurra, a bike route of 19km, passes nearby. The town has some walking routes to discover the gardens and rural buildings. Alboraya is famous for its horchata and fartons.

    Things to do & see
    ===============

    Valencia
    --------------------------
    - Visit its historic centre, one of the largest in Spain, that includes Valencia Cathedral where Tribunal of Water is held (Intangible cultural heritage by UNESCO), Torres de Serrano and Torres the Quart (old gates to the city), La Lonja de la Seda (World Heritage Site by UNESCO).
    - Interesting neighbourhoods are El Carmen (part of the historic town centre), Benimaclet (former village now part of the city) and El Cabanyal (part of the sea village, ends in Malva-rosa beach). Ruzafa is a trendy neighbourhood these days to go out to lunch/dinner.
    - A visit to City of Arts and Sciences is a must. It is a unique complex devoted to scientific and cultural dissemination which includes an IMAX cinema, an interactive science museum, one of the largest aquarium in Europe and an opera house.
    - Parks, museums, peculiar cafes, where to eat a paella...let us know what interests you so we can recommend you more


    Day trips (with public transport from Valencia)
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    - Visit L'Albufera, have a paella in El Palmar (one of the best places to eat it), visit El Saler and the dunes beach. Access by urban bus.
    - Xativa, part of the route of the Borgias, it is a historic city with an interesting town centre that includes a castle in the slopes of the Bernisa Mont, a Collegiate Basilica and multiple churches dating from XIII to XV. Access by regional train.
    - Sagunto: historic city with the remains of the Citadel, a Roman theater, partly restored in late 20th century, and with the narrow streets of the Juderia (Old Jewish Quarter). Access by regional train.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Guest room

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 197191954674