Help with collecting the olives and taking care of our fields and trees south west of our beautiful Samos island, Greece

Country

Grecia

66 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    474

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 23 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Mike, and we have family business south west of our beautiful Samos island. During the summer season we work in our restaurant (since 1983), and we also run our small studio apartments . In the winter we collect olives and make our amazing olive oil. Me, my wife Karolina, father Dimitris, sister Kleopatra and her husband Tasos are collecting olives on our fields, which are on several spots in our area. It is hard job to do, but you get to be outside in the nature, learn all there is about olives and the process of taking care of the trees, and making our oil in local oil factory. You will be able to practice several languages, since we are bilingual family. We like to have fun while we work, and even more fun when we finish. In our peaceful fishing village Ormos Marathokampos is everything you might need, even during the winter, such as Tavernas, coffee place, bar, supermarket, bakery. There is bus transport to the nearest city Karlovassi, but not very often (since it is winter time). You can easily rent a car or motorbike/scooter/quad and explore the island of Pythagoras, it is also safe and fast to hitch hike! Ormos is perfect location for hikes and walks, fishing, swimming,... We like meeting new people, and sharing some laugh, music, wine, food and stories...

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will experience the whole process of collecting and maintaining olives and olive fields and also making (and more importantly tasting! :)) our oil. Meanwhile you will be able to practice multiple languages (English, Greek, Czech, Russian) with us, as we are bilingual family, and we will be happy to learn and practice your native language with you. :)

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need help with collecting the olives and taking care of our fields and trees. The work is manual, and good physical condition is required. We work outside in nature, no heavy machinery is necessary, just strong legs and hands, (old clothes) and we will show you the rest. :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Czech: Fluido
    Greek: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Russian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Since we have studio apartments, which we rent out for the summer season to tourists, we will have those apartments ready for our volunteers as well. They are fully equipped apartments with kitchenette, private bathroom, wifi, heating, air condition, and laundry room available for all. In the garden we take care of few cats (there is a lot of cats generally on our island), but there are no pets in the accommodation. Smoking allowed, but preferably on your private balcony. One apartment accommodates 1-2 persons.
    So we will not be living all together in one house, but we will be neighbours, sharing a garden. Me and my wife will be always around, if you would need anything. :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your time off, you have many choices to explore the island. Even though in the winter time most tavernas and bars are closed, there is always few good ones, that are open and full of locals having great time (in Greece to get to know local people, the best way is always over glass of wine or ouzo and some nice food :)). Our part of the island is perfect for hikes and walks, collecting of wild herbs and mushrooms, exploring the caves (Pythagoras cave) and little churches, countless small natural beaches and small traditional villages. If you rent a car or scooter, you will be able to visit some historical sites (Pythagorio, Cleopatras spa, Eupalinio tunnel, Ireon temple...) as well as other villages and towns around the island. Samos is one of the greenest islands of Greece, and tourists return for its pure nature, nice and friendly people and relaxing and peaceful spots. I am sure you will fall in love with Samos as well... :)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 189612187382