actualizado  

Se necesita ayuda en una acogedora casa vegetariana, de mente abierta y agradecida, en Donegal, Irlanda

  • 1789 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 14 abr 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Currently I’m seeking a helper May 03– 12th I’m also looking for someone to help September onwards

    Hello and welcome, I often look for help, someone with dog and horse experience is a must!


    A female vegetarian or vegan is preferred.
    I prefer helpers that have actually owned dogs and horses but experience is considered. Horses are big, dangerous and I don’t want to spend my time teaching how to clean stables or put headcollars on.
    If you like the country, love silly little very loud dogs, (terrier and dachshund mix) that bark a lot, and have lots of experience with horses
    you could be a good fit and should love it here. The 3 dogs are high energy and need lots of attention and walking. They bark a lot and while this is annoying I also adore them so that’s how it is here. I can’t figure out how to keep them barking as helpers walk up the hall I think they are just saying hello hello! It drives us all a bit crazy sometimes but we just laugh and pet them and try to find a solution with kindness. The horses are mostly stabled in the winter. Winters there’s lots of mucking out, feeding, checking water, looking at them, turn out or excercise, grooming them etc is part of your chores here.
    I am a vegetarian, and provide vegetarian food only. No dead animals are to be eaten in my home. I am generous and buy the best food available whatever you like. Vegans are also welcome but I usually only make it about 3 weeks without cheese. You don’t have to eat it though. And I only eat an egg that is produced by a happy hen, so we don’t get eggs very often.
    I don't have riding school type horses for beginners, but if you are a good experienced rider you can help work 2 of them. I would love someone who could teach me dressage and teach my horses lateral work. My young 2 year old horse needs handling at the moment and I need help with him teaching him ground work and manners. I have 6 in total. If you know dressage you can ride the 9 year old Kitkat. I’d love to learn dressage groundwork, help me if you know some please. Nike can be ridden lightly but only for experienced riders. She was an endurance mare is 20 and need to watch her for laminitis.
    My days off are Tuesdays and weekends those are my 3 free days to play with my horses, take dogs to the beach, explore, garden, play guitar, rest. I’d love someone to help me with my guitar, or help learn some Portuguese, Spanish or French. I’m not a good student though.
    It takes a week to get used to the horses and dogs so someone who wants to stay at least a month is best.
    I often take mini holidays, and I am more comfortable with hosting someone happy with that. I seek someone independent, used to looking after a home, cooking, turns lights off when they leave a room etc. The wine tee is cold and oil is expensive wear a hat, and dress warm.
    My dogs are a big part of living in my home so if dogs annoy you please don’t apply.
    I work as a chiropractor Monday Wednesday Friday 11-7 and Thursdays 2-8. If you need free chiropractic care just ask me! I don’t like to push it on people but love to help so don’t be shy, just ask! I settled here from America in 1996 so I am a bit Irish too!
    To get to me fly into Dublin or Belfast or City of Derry airport. Please don’t fly into Donegal Airport it’s in the middle of nowhere with no buses. Buses from Dublin Belfast or City of Derry take you to Letterkenny or Derry then get a bus to Newtowncunningham where I live and will collect you.
    I live 2 miles from the Newtown Cunningham bus stop and will collect you there on my days off or Letterkenny days I work there.
    County Donegal is lovely and scenic with beautiful beaches. Donegal is a beautiful county to explore, Glenveigh Castle and The Giant's Causeway, Bushmills, and loads of beaches are within an hour-2 hour bus ride from my home in Newtowncunningham. Derry is only a short drive and is a nice city to visit too. Belfast is a train ride from Derry, very scenic.
    Lots of my workaway helpers have done mini trips themselves to Belfast and Galway especially. If you would like to help me drop me a line.


    Thanks Victoria

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have 27 years working as a chiropractor and even more with horses. I did massage and physiotherapy qualifications as well. I adjust people and horses.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help with animals, especially walking dogs and looking after horses. I need basic help with computer, sorting photos making files doing social media. There’s always painting, cleaning, whatever...you can choose what you want to help out with, I am open to suggestions. I've gotten so much in return from many workaways in the past I feel very lucky and open to suggestions. I find most are eager to help so if you have any ideas for improvement feel free to suggest. Horses can be dangerous, insurance is recommended. So far nobody has been seriously injured but riding is a high risk sport and if you do ride here it’s at your own risk. Im not a slave driver, I don't just do workaway to get free help. I love interacting with people from other countries and learning from them. I have hosted over 100 people from all over the world and love hearing their stories.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Nothing too fancy, but the country setting is beautiful. Your own bedroom with a double bed. Shared bathroom with other workawayers (if any around) The shower has bad power so it’s more like a bath than a shower. I don’t use a tumble dryer so drying clothes can be tricky in the rainy winter. Vegetarian only food provided. No meat in my home please. I tried letting meat eaters come but my kitchen stunk of dead animals so now I try to host mostly vegans or vegetarians. Relaxed home with plenty of doggie fun! Cold in the winter so dress warmly. This is Ireland raingear essential, wellingtons too. Work gloves. Hat.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Derry the walled city 15 minutes away. Beach 20 minutes. Glenveigh Castle and National Park 1 hour away. Giants Causeway 1 1/2 hour away. Doagh Island an hour away. Train from Derry to Belfast a nice overnight trip.
    My WiFi is slow and unpredictable so you may want to have data for your phone. I switched providers and it has improved.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Free Wi-Fi in your bedroom

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 17858494754d

Comentarios (39)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.9)































































Help us in developing our retreat centre in County Cavan, Ireland
Let's have fun with Home & Garden organisation & clearout, fence painting, dog walking. Dublin's East Coast, Ireland