Stay in old swiss village, help with our household, learn English and/or Italian and discover the beauty of Ticino, Switzerland



242 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hello!! We are an Italian-American family speaking mostly English and sometimes Italian. We live in a quaint little Swiss village about 6 km from Lugano in the Italian-speaking canton of Ticino, Switzerland. We are very close to Como, Italy, about an hour from Milan, 2.5 hours from Zurich, and in the midst of many beautiful trails and mountains of the canton of Ticino. We are a young family with 3 children. We try to eat mostly vegetarian and cook from scratch. We have recently acquired an old B&B/restaurant that needs restoration and a makeover. I am an artist, my husband a scientist and beer maker. Our plans are to turn our place into a home for our children, and also a place where we can brew and sell craft beer, create and show art/sculpture, and eventually have a part-time B&B....mostly just a very dynamic and creative environment!!
    Living here has given us the best of both worlds, being close enough and emerged in nature, but also having the ability to travel to the downtown or other Italian cities as we are only about 20 minutes from the border of Italy. The weather is mild temperate. Beautiful springs and summers, with often very little snow in the winter. We like to forage for different things depending on the seasons. Nuts and berries, mushrooms, and different plants depending on what nature has to offer! We love music, art, people open to different cultures and learning/teaching different skills. Yoga and meditation peeps are also very welcomed!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers looking to learn English or Italian, visit and travel in Switzerland or Northern Italy/Europe could use this opportunity as a home base to stay and take day trips and/or weekend trips. Accommodation and food will be provided while with us, but you will be expected to help with preparation and cleanup when dining with us. Therefore learning the dynamics of family life, artistry, basic renovation skills, cooking skills could be learned depending on the length of your stay. We are situated within a range of beautiful mountains in the pre-alps of Switzerland. Monte Bre, Monte Generoso, Monte San Salvatore are all just minutes away. Ideally, someone wanting to stay from 2 weeks up until 3 months would most likely acquire basic Italian speaking skills if not speaking already, but we are open to other cultures to learn from as well!! Especially if you love to cook different foods from around the world!!

    Travelers who are looking for experience as an artist assistant could also benefit if they are looking to have experience with the in's and outs of apprenticing as an artist and all the work involved as such.

    Anyone looking to travel nearby towns and villages to experience what Ticino, Switzerland and Northern Italy have to offer may find this a good opportunity.

  • Ayuda


    I have created these details based on previous experiences with other please read clearly, if you are not able to fulfill what we are looking for, or have other intentions, please do not waste your time or ours. We are a very generous family, but this is a work exchange, and we do not want any lazy people! Thanks!

    Single mom looking for various types of people and skills for various help around the house. Must like being around children!! On average 4-5 hours a day Monday through Friday, one weeknight, weekends off (except the occasionally weekend night) . Some help with basic childcare for a 11, 8 and 6 year old occasionally during the mornings or afternoons, 2 lunchtimes a week and at least one or occasionally 2 nights a week (sometimes a weekend).

    Help with general cleaning around the house, and laundry. Odd jobs such as organizing, cleaning or sorting in house, painting/handy work. Artist assistant work would also be appreciated and sometimes asked...(prepping canvases, cleanup of studio, organizing, etc).

    Meals aren't always included in some workaways, but we include breakfast, lunch & dinner while you are with us, snacking and "free reign" in our kitchen however is NOT permitted. We do expect our workawayers to eat meals with us at our times. HOWEVER, We are not your parents (you don't get "called" when meals are ready, you should be present beforehand), and meal time is a communal activity and necessity so no included in hours....we are NOT a bed & breakfast and you are expected to help with preparation, cooking, and cleanup. This time is NOT included in hours because it's a necessity & added benefit, although flexibility is also a given when effort is shown.

    Knowledge of basic English/French/Italian would be ideal (but not necessary), to read to children, and also help a bit with homework. Knowledge of teaching music such as piano or guitar is a plus, or any other creative skills. Knowledge of English/French and/or Italian is a plus, but not necessary.

    We are a NON-Smoking family, and expect the same of our guests.

    We would like someone very outgoing and high energy.... with some previous workaway experience, and someone able to provide references with regards to childcare experience. However......grandmother-like figures are also always lovely to have!!

    PLEASE remember....This is a WORK exchange!!! NO FREELOADERS!!! We are accepting guests because we need the help, and you are expected to put in your fair share of work around the house, without having to be reminded every day. If you are looking to try to find work and live in Switzerland, this is NOT the place for you. We accept tourists & travelers and people who want to enjoy the beauty that Ticino Switzerland and nature have to offer around us. We are a very generous family, however, if someone is not pulling their fair share or we feel you are taking advantage of our hospitality, then you will be asked to leave.

    We can accept 1-2 FEMALE workawayers, however, NO couples.

    Ideal person would have some (or all) of these skills or qualities....
    outgoing and energetic
    good critical thinking skills
    problem solver
    loves children

    We have two cats.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Single family house with a small separate bedroom with a double bed, balcony, beautiful view,, and a shared bathroom/kitchen/living area. Access to internet, and public transportation (bus) 6 km from center of Lugano.
    We unfortunately do not have a spare television.
    Wi-fi available.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Anyone loving the outdoors would most likely really enjoy this area: hiking, swimming in the lake, nature walks, exploring Northern Italy, wine tastings, lake region, Lago Maggiore and Lake Como. Milan Malpensa airport is about 1 hour drive (also with possibility of train or bus for arrival). Lugano airport is about 15/20 minute drive. The local bus stops in our town with hourly departures to and from the center of Lugano (and then most things within the city are walking distance). We are open to helping volunteers with travel to and from destinations with notice.
    Lake Como is less than an hour.
    Milan 1 hour 15 minutes.
    Zurich 2.5 hours

    We like to be really open with communicating, if something isn't working for either us or the volunteers, we would like to be open to conversation about it. We are a busy family, a lot to always do in the house, and we expect volunteers to clean up after themselves, be mindful and communicate about what their desires for their schedules and work preferences are and help to teach our children basic manners and skills necessary for being human beings as well.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 174332776176