Help us with woodland management, coppicing and habitat creation in Stroud, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

163 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    85.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    What happens here: We are based in the middle of the woods in Gloucestershire and looking for single people or couples to come and help out in the woods and with the expanding vegetable garden. In return you will learn about about woodland management, biodiversity, growing, timber. And you can stretch your legs in over 120 acres of woodland.

    How we work: On Mondays to Thursdays we work on woodland management, usually with our resident woodswoman, with coppicers, gardeners and whittlers also coming by for occasional days. Days start at 10am and finish either at 1pm or 4pm. (Total hours around 20 and with some flexibility if you have the occasional day of work.)

    You'd be helping out in the woodland on projects to restore overgrown areas and create great habitats. You'd be helping with clearing, coppicing, land management, preparing the ground for new planting and creating eco-friendly areas to encourage wildlife. You'd be working with hand tools with advice from our resident foresters and coppicers.

    There is also a vegetable garden for the housend and a new one within an orchard. We tend to work in the house and gardens on Wednesdays. We also ask for occasional help looking after the house animals - dogs, cats and poultry.

    Over the weekends, you are free to do as you wish - try out green wood working in our outdoor workshop, travel the area, or just be a digital nomad or just chill out.

    Summer 2022 projects
    Path restoration
    Dead hedging
    Compost loo building
    Nature surveys
    Outbuilding restoration

    We take volunteers for a minimum of two weeks and a maximum of six weeks,

    Women volunteers, don't be put off by all those blokes practising their bushcraft on Youtube vidoes: these woods are run by a woman and we like mixed teams.

    Accommodation: there are a couple of rooms in the house which come up from time to time, plus a caravan with woodburner. Otherwise we have a couple of spaces for caravans and campervans.

    For outside socialising, there's an open A-frame, an open fire, sofas, tables for food prep and the house provides you supper. There's also a compost loo nearby.
    The ground floor of the house is a communal space, with bathroom, separate toilet (which you are welcome to use even if outside).

    In the house there's a warm dining room and kitchen fired by a wood-fired range cooker that is on all day during the chilly winter months. Whoever feels like it cooks dinner, then others help with the washing up.

    We don't provide breakfast or lunch as such. There are staples of oats, home-made bread, tea and coffee and, occasionally, eggs available on a daily basis. Anything extra eg. cheeses, vegan spreads etc are up to you. We have a weekly fruit & veg box delivery and a stock of potatoes, pasta, rice and pulses which form the basis of our communal dinners, cooked by whoever chooses to that night. There are also abundant vegetables and salad from the garden during summer.

    When to come: Usually on a weekend and we like a minimum stay of a fortnight.

    The nearest town is a 25-minute walk away through the woods. There is a Morrisons, and a Tesco and Co-op Local as well as a great bakery. There is a pub about 10mins walk through the woods. Bring a torch for the walk back.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn about countryside life in England, and in particular forestry and the woodcrafts which go on in the woods around the house. You will learn about sustainable forestry techniques, use of tools for forestry and gardening. We have a wealth of knowledge on tree types, dog behaviour, chick rearing, felling and extraction, and much more.

    The closest town has some great pubs and people and we'd be happy to introduce you to the locals, particularly in the woodwork community (so long as the COVID situation allows)

    We can assist with learning English or Italian, maybe a little with French and German as well. If you stay for a while, you may also pick up paid work from one of our regular foresters or partners.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Over summer 2022 we are working on path restoration, meadow management and some mini-build projects, over autumn we will be doing woodland work: coppicing, habitat brash piles and ride management,

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Italiano: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    If you have your own camper, see the description above.
    If you are staying with us, we have two rooms in the house, one single, one double, or there's a caravan with a woodburner.

    The ground floor of the house is a communal space, with bathroom, separate toilet, and dining room/ kitchen fired by a wood-fired range cooker that is on all day during the chilly winter months.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are near the town of Stroud that has lovely cafes and pubs and a good social scene. Buses runs frequently from Nailsworth, which is 25 minutes walk from the house. Or there is usually someone driving who can give you a lift.
    At home, we like to keep it quite low key, with not too many possessions, but also enjoy chilled out evening with our guests.
    We various partners using the woods for a multitude of reasons, so expect to meet lots of friendly, helpful folk. We do conform to COVID rules, and take good care when off-site. Most of our team has had at least one vaccine and we'd ask the same of our guests.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes but we run off mobile hot-spotting rather than phones. If this is important to you, please message first to check your network coverage.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a variety spaces for camper-vans. Our Woodyard has 2 pitches within a minutes walk of the house, with full access to the main house, bathroom, kitchen and sockets for battery charging. Further afield are more secluded spots, if you like more privacy and have a vehicle that can handle some bumps in the track. These spots have access to compost toilets. If you would like to camp during warmer months, there are more options.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have a free-roaming, un-snipped male Vizsla. If you have a dog, we just need to check they all get along. There is a field on the property with fencing that is good for allowing the dogs to run. We may occasionally decline a Wwoofer with a woofer if there are too many dogs already in the woods. Cats and smaller animals are all welcome as well.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 or 5 hours a day, five days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 167181186456