Gardening and DIY projects to help us to become more eco-friendly in Essex, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

27 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/11/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I returned back to the UK in Oct 2020 after 2 years traveling through South America, Australia, Indonesia and Canada. I was a workaway myself in a couple places and have always wanted to be able to give back a positive experience to other travelers as a host!

    Located in rural North Essex we occupy 3 households on one unique plot. A secluded family home to 3 generations. Penny and Eliza in the main house. Harriet and John with their three children (Artie - 6yrs, Bonnie - 2yrs, Betsy - 9 months) and their energetic dog - Cash in the annex and myself in a not yet completed self built cabin! Amongst all of us the are also 15 chickens, 15 ducks and 2 cats.

    Our outside space is vastand we are eager to utilise it, especially with Harriets and John's wedding to prepare for in September! Harriet has just begun a small vegetable garden, one we wish to grow and extend over the years. The are lots of general maintance tasks that need attention around the gardens and some little DIY projects about the house too. All though I've stopped putting money into the cabin build for now the will undoublty still be days to work on that and likely some wedding prep too!

    Our Mother, a proper deadlock hippie runs a pub in the nearby village and if you are from overseas it will be a great spot to enjoy the true traditional British culture of a proper pub! We have a castle - a Norman keep in the village too definitely worth a day up for the Jousting! We have access to canoes to paddle down the local river, I can show you a great route that takes you straight to the pub!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You'll get to experience the countryside and embrace the community of our village, our home and our pub. If English is not your first language it will be a great place to develop it, especially spending time with the children! We shall learn together on how to be more green and eco friendly and how to incorporate that into our projects at home. No one at our home is an expert, we set ourselves a challenge and we strive to achieve it. We will share as much as we know and hopefully inspire each other to do more.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Garden maintence : Grass cutting, hedge cutting, strimming, vegetable garden, Landscaping, DIY projects around the house, possibly child care/creative projects, help managing the care of the large hord of ducks and chickens we have seemed to have accumulated recently!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A loft conversion, large (all though not very tall - it's an angled ceiling). A double bed and a sofa and TV area for personal downtime. The rest of the main house will be freely open to you. Our kitchen is kitted out with an aga that is not used in the summer as we use only the BBQ, all though the is a small electric oven and microwave avaible too.

    We occasional have communal meals as a whole family about once a week, but mostly cook for ourselves as everyone is in and out at different times. We can work to dietary needs and will ensure the is enough food for guests to either cook for themselves or will prepare meals together or in readiness all depending on what time is available. We do value eating together and encourage it as much as we can.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you are without your own transport the may be a spare vehical avaible if you have an appropriate driving license. Our property is off road, and therefore a good 20 minuet walk to a bus stop/local village. From there, however you can connect to lots of different bus routes to get around. The Castle is walking distance and so is the pub. You can get a bus to Colchester and explore the old roman town and respectively a much larger castle. Kent well Hall often hosts an outdoor cinema and along the way to that is the Nethergate brewery. Paddle board hire is avaible down the river stour and we are 40 mins from the train you can jump on to spend a day in London and we are under an hour from Cambridge if you fancied going punting down the river.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Any

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 166381489254