Help us become more self-sufficient and support a vibrant cultural community in Magliano Sabina, Italy

Country

Italia

actualizado  

240 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    18/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi. I am Shakeeb the caretaker of a farm in the beautiful Sabine hills some 60 kms north of Rome.

    I believe that the future of humanity lies in the adoption of a shared economy which works in harmony with nature. The farm is not a commercial business.

    The farm covers three hectares with traditionally planted olive trees, a vineyard and fruit tree and a magnificent area suitable for market gardening. Landscaped gardens and meditative spaces surround the farm’s many structures (7 bedroom farmhouse, dining hall & kitchen, traditional wood oven, barn, workshop, sauna & hamam).

    Since becoming caretaker in late 2020 I have set out to transform the farm towards policulture regenerative agriculture (permaculture and no dig) with the aim of becoming self-sufficient and capable of supporting a vibrant community of eco-conscious travellers.

    So far the farm has achieved self-sufficiency in electricity. A rainwater harvesting system is being developed, and firewood production organised for heating and cooking. Composting and biomass recycling is being developed to sustain a vegetable garden and the traditional monoculture fruit orchids are being reorganised into food forests.

    I am interested in the many new eco technologies emerging around the world (mini wind and solar), as well as the many innovative recycling ideas (such as converting petrol cars to electric, repurposing wood pellets) and I would be happy to partner with anyone willing and able to organise an eco-recycling workshop.

    My farm is also offered as post-pandemic cultural reanimation retreat for street performers and artists in which to flex their artistic muscles.

    There is good G4 reception. You will need to use your own data plan for internet access.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be expected to participate positively in the social & cultural life of the farm, be ‘situationally aware’ and ‘mindful’ at all times, and be respectful and considerate in your interactions with others.

    Meal times are important moments in the cultural life of the farm and an opportunity for good conversation and conviviality, as well as practical daily planning and communication.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    You will be expected to work up to a maximum of 5 hours a day, Monday to Friday. Physical manual work can be done by those without any farming related skills and experience. There is always plenty of work for those with trade skills such as carpentry, plumbing, welding, masonry, etc.

    You will be expected to help with the household chores at all times, including weekends - preparing meals, food conservation, clearing up, keeping common areas clean & tidy, etc. Household chores are not considered part of your voluntary work.

    Aiming for self-sufficiency involves learning how to make many of the things we buy. Preparing a meal is not limited to cooking but also involves food processing and conservation (jams, pickling, drying, yogurt, breads, biscuits, etc).

    You must be fully vaccinated against Covid-19 and have the legal right to do voluntary work in Italy.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido
    Bengali (Bangla): Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are 6 guest bedrooms available in the farmhouse, all with attached shower bathrooms.

    Single workawayers may be asked to share a room, while couples and families will be offered private rooms.

    There is one room with wheelchair access with a disability enabled shower bathroom.

    Healthy vegetarian meals will be provided for breakfast lunch and dinner. You will be expected to help in the preparation,washing up and cleaning of all meals.

    The kitchen is open to all who enjoy baking and preparing snacks and treats.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The nearest town, Magliano Sabina, is 3 kms away. The train station is also about 3 kms away from where I can pick and drop you. There are trains once an hour for Rome and takes about an hour.

    The farm borders Viterbo, Rieti and Umbria. This is reflected in the diversity of the many small hill-top towns in the vicinity.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is good G4 connectivity on the farm. You will be expected to use own internet data plan.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, Monday to Friday.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 164217669271