Share our home and help with eco projects in Sherborne, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

26 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We love living in the country and really enjoy living in this part of the world. At the moment it is just the two of us, Claire who is an art teacher married to James who is a timber frame carpenter/instructor. We are interested meeting new people and cultural exchange and feel it is important to create opportunities for young people to travel and have affordable experiences. We feel very privileged to have a field which is becoming a more complex ecosystem every year and the planned pond will benefit the wildlife too. We try to grow as many vegetables as possible and the poly tunnel is a huge benefit. We have planted many apple trees as well as making new paddocks with different hedgerow varieties. The 2 horses are great lawnmowers and riding is an option. They are usually ridden by our daughter who is abroad at the moment. There is a great camping/barbeque space and also kitchen, bathroom and art studio up at the field. Table tennis also and good wifi at the house. We like to share the space and are interested in eco projects. If you like dogs we have 2 plus 1 cat and 2 tortoise also. Claire's parents live next door.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We can offer involvement with creative projects in small building construction. We really encourage people to have a go and develop skills in practical applications like gardening, building, designing low impact structures and being creative. We also have an art and pottery studio plus workshop, as well as learning how to plan and make a productive garden in a beautiful part of Dorset. Opportunity to improve English speaking. If you can ride that is also a possibility. We usually make cider in the autumn as we have planted a lot of apple trees. Claire is an art teacher and James is a timber frame carpenter. We like to socialise and cook for friends and guests, and love sharing recipes and trying different cuisines.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are keen for guests to generally help with any on going projects. We have various projects that we are hoping to do this autumn and through into 2022, planning to build a sauna, a shepherds hut, a freshwater pond as well as growing flowers and vegetables and generally looking after the animals and helping with decorating - currently 2 horses , 2 dogs and a cat. We have a nice field with studio, workshop, kitchen and bathroom as well as comfortable accommodation at the house. We are keen to improve soil health on the land and are interested in different composting techniques and sustainable agriculture.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We have travelled widely and can help with speaking English. We speak a bit of French, would like to learn more Greek!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a comfortable studio bedroom accommodation in the garden (good for a couple) which is heated and gives privacy to our guests, with bathroom facilities in the house. There is also a lovely camping area up at the field if the weather is warm enough which has an independent rustic but clean kitchen and bathroom. We also have a small van up there too which can be used as an extra bedroom. We like to eat well with good ingredients, there is produce from the garden normally and we like to share the cooking with our guests, but are open to people being more independent if they want. We cater for different types of diets. Good Wifi at the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are plenty of interesting things to do. Sherborne has 2 castles, there are some fantastic ancient hill forts nearby with excellent views as well as amazing walking (which can include visits to the local pubs if you need refreshment!). The beach is 50 minutes away and we like to go there often. We have bicycles (one electric) so you can be in Sherborne in under 15 minutes. Sherborne has good rail links to London and the south west.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Good wifi around house

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is space for camper van in field, with good facilities

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Occasionally possible - depends on behaviour of pet

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Número de referencia de anfitrión: 163585673252