updated   Last minute

Share your construction skills on our organic olive farm in the Sabine Hills, Italy

  • Favourited 188 times
  • Last activity: 27 may 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a British couple living in the glorious Sabina countryside - an hour North of Rome.
    Over the last five years we have been bringing an abandoned farm back to life.
    We've finished a major renovation project inside the house, and outside we have 8.5 hectares of sloping Italian countryside, with gardens, orchard, 400 olive trees and a small area of vineyard too.
    We have two friendly dogs, six hens, a large vegetable plot, and two bee hives.
    We farm according to organic principles, and produce a delicious Extra Virgin Olive Oil, which is certified organic. This spring, we hope to produce organic honey too.

    PLEASE NOTE THAT WE ARE UNABLE TO HOST VOLUNTEERS WHO ARE GOING THROUGH THE PROCESS OF APPLYING FOR ITALIAN CITIZENSHIP

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are really passionate about our project here, having bought our little farm in 2018, when the house was a 1970's time piece, and the land had been abandoned for years.

    Emma is an English teacher, so can help you to improve your English, and as you spend time in the area we can help you to improve your Italian too.

    There is so much to see and do in the local area, which is famous for its Sabina DOP olive oil. We are also only around 60km from Rome (an hour by train).

  • Help

    Help

    WE NEED HELP WITH A VERY SPECIFIC TASK RIGHT NOW!

    We need to build a block wall, ten metres long by around one metre high. The footings are in, but we really need someone to do the build, so this is not a job for someone without construction experience!
    Two further walls have already been built, but they still need the top plaster coat, followed by painting.

    The next task will be the construction of a wooden deck below the completed block wall, so if you have experience of constructing decking, including the layout and installation of posts, decking frame and boards, then this could be the job for you.

    Most of the help that we require is outdoors, and is manual labour. Normally, we try to vary the work routine, so that no two days are the same, but the current goal is to complete a large scale landscaping project in our garden in order to site an overground pool there late spring 2024. This may mean you will be concentrating on one of the tasks to achieve this.

    We are also renovating the external walls and guttering areas of the house; removing damaged areas of plaster, repairing cracks, plastering where required, and cleaning, in preparation to repaint the external walls when the temperatures outside allow us to. This task involves working on scaffolding.

    We work either alongside our workawayers, or elsewhere on our farm, breaking with you for tea breaks, meals etc. We enjoy preparing great meals for our guests, but we do also appreciate help with these household chores!

    As we like to travel, and head back to the UK a couple of times a year, we're also interested to hear from Workawayers who'd be happy to house sit for part of their stay, although this is not the driving factor for applications.

    Depending on the time of year, we may also ask for help with the following:
    * Decorating: both inside and outside
    * Scrub clearing (we have literally miles of brambles to clear!)
    * General gardening
    * Pruning our olive trees (we have 400)
    * Help with land maintenance
    * House sitting (including animal care)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A comfortable double room with an en-suite bathroom, connected to, yet independent from the main house, with its own entrance, and outdoor decking area, which when the weather is warm is a wonderful outdoor lounge.

    The bedroom has a Smart TV (Netflix, UK digital players etc), smart speaker, tea and coffee, and of course there is internet access - we are friendly and hospitable, but also appreciate your (and our!) need for privacy and down time in your own space. Your free time can be spent in your room, or in the garden areas, which you would share with us.

    Breakfast is provided for you to help yourself to in your room (there is a small fridge for milk, butter, jam etc), and lunch and supper are provided by us, which you can eat along with us, or in your own private area if you prefer. We can accommodate some special diets if you let us know in advance, and we're fine with veggies and vegans.

    If you're staying while we are away from home, you will have our well equipped kitchen in which you can cook for yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We may not be at home for some of the time that you spend in our home, so it's worth knowing that we live on the edge of a small village. We are rural, but not completely isolated, and there is a (sporadic) bus service from the village, linking us to the local train station.

    The village itself has a friendly bar, a tiny shop (Tabac), and two excellent restaurants, all of which are in walking distance.

    If we are here during your stay, we can drop you at the local train station, from where you can be in Rome within the hour, or take a train to Orte, which has connections to Florence and to the North of Italy. There is also a direct train to the airport at Rome Fiumicino.

    If you come with your own vehicle, you will really benefit from the gorgeous countryside and hilltowns which surround us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    As we may be away from home during your stay, we can offer a private, tranquil space with decent (satellite) broadband available, should you wish to work from here

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are in a rural, but well connected setting. We are around 15 minutes from the A1 autostrada, so reaching us in your campervan is easy. We are located on a single track road on the edge of a village, with plenty of space to park your vehicle

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 per week

Host ref number: 159234965769

Feedback (4)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Ecology, wildlife and food on the edge of the exciting Garfagnana, Tuscany, Italy
Help with activities and enrich our experiences with visitors to our village in Tuscany, Italy