Help us with renovation projects of an old blacksmiths in the Black Forest, Germany

  • 56 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 18 ago 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    ***** We have space for a van so if you would like to join us, helping us with our renovations then please do get in touch. We are needing to install windows into the main house and we are creating a living space in the Schuppen which we need help with. ********

    So about us...

    We are a family of 4; Aidan, Denise, Fraser (16) and Olivia (14). We are a multilingual family. We are British but have spent 6 years in Spain and moved to Germany in June 2018 to the Schwarzwald. Aidan works full time and Denise part time at home & locally. We have a dog, 2 cats and 6 chickens to help keep us busy. We are non smokers and have a non smoking house.

    We purchased an old Blacksmiths which was built in 1840 which is heated by log burners and has very basic amenities until we can update more. We do have a kitchen, living room, a bathroom & 4 bedrooms upstairs (the floor we live on). Kitchen, living room and bathroom are shared with us.

    We have the most amazing views over the Schwarzwald and are 600 metres above sea level. The village is small but very friendly. We source our milk from the farm in the village. We bake our own bread daily, getting our flour in bulk from the nearest mill and we immerse ourselves into the German way of life as much as we can.

    We are located 5 kms from Schopfloch towards Horb am Neckar. The village does not have any shop or pub but we can cater for most diets with prior knowledge. The village has little in the way of amenities but is still welcoming and lovely. We have 4 buses a day each weekday leaving the village and a couple coming into the village. The nearest shop/train/bakery is about 5 km away and the nearest bar/restaurant is 2 km away. Transport from the train station can be arranged. The nearest train stations are; Schopfloch but Horb or Freudenstadt are also good.

    We love cooking from all over the world so please feel free to share this with us. We try to lead a mindful, spiritual life. We are growing our own vegetables to provide some of our own food. We have plum and apple trees and various berry trees. Denise practices meditation and spiritual connection.

    You will have the ability to look at the stars with minimal light as the street lights are out from midnight to 5 am making the sky come alive and camping fun.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are looking for people from different cultures and also Spanish speakers to keep our Spanish up. We are all native English speakers but Aidan speaks fluent German and basic Spanish, Denise is learning German and the children are both fluent in German but we are always open to learning a little of your language or dialect.
    Now that we can't get to visit other cultures so easily then it would be great if you could visit us.

    We hold many interests between us and love hearing about other interests. We love to share food, drink and conversation so would hope you would join us in this.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    There is building, barn clearing, gardening & other general help around the house. We also have a barn across the road that we would like to create accommodation for workawayers so if you have any experience with creating off grid electric that you can bring to the project then definitely get in touch. There is also help with the stone mason, installing heating and creating a new kitchen in the main house. There is digging, underfloor heating, stairs building and cement laying jobs if you have the skills or the will. Basically there is plenty to chose from that will all help us... In fact, all skills are welcome!

    Primarily we are looking for any 'handy' people that can help with maintenance and building but we are also looking for people that enjoy gardening as we have a number of fruit trees as well as 3 veg plots so plenty to do here too. Our daughter is learning the guitar and piano so any musicians are also very welcome. We love music in the house.

    Aidan can teach a little but is also open to learning from a skilled builder/tiler/plasterer. We are mastering this project day by day and alone so please, if you have any skills to bring then get in touch.

    We are looking for 4-5 hours help a day, 5 days a week in exchange for free board, food and refreshments.

    We are mainly looking for English speakers just so we can communicate easily but German speakers are very welcome.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Aidan and the children speak fluent German. We speak English at home. Denise is learning German and we would love to keep our Spanish going. Olivia is also learning French.

  • Alojamiento


    PLEASE NOTE that we can only take people with campervan or tent at the moment. If you have either of these and would be interested in joining us then you can park your campervan in the barn where it will be sheltered. The barn is enclosed and relatively draft proof. It is certainly waterproof. You can also pitch your tent in the barn or one of the outbuildings. The barn can take up to an 8m motorhome and the access is flat.

    All living spaces (kitchen bathroom, living room) will be shared with us until we get bathroom facilities across the road.

    Breakfast - You can help yourselves to what we have on the shelves. This can be fruit, cereals, homemade bread etc We have milk direct from the farm in the village and have lactose free milk in stock all the time.

    Lunch - We try to have lunch together with the children which can be pasta, salad, sandwiches.

    Dinner - This is our main meal of the day which we tend to all sit around chatting, all preparing the food and relaxing. We try to play a board game or cards or just chat after dinner and occasionally we have 'movie' nights. We do have netflix and wifi is also included for your stay. We do only have one television.

    We encourage you to join us but of course it is your preference.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Being in the Schwarzwald there are many different things to do with your time and many things to see but if you wish to stay nearby then walking or cycling are great ways to see the forest and the countryside.

    Locally there is
    Natur Erlebnis Bad (natural water swimming) in Glatten which is the next village
    Toepferei/pottery in Dietersweiler
    Barfuss Park in Hallwangen
    Europa Park is within an hours travel
    Hochwaldstrasse is easily accessible and we can guide road users to other quieter but equally satisfying driving experiences.

    Stuttgart is 1 hour away with a variety of museums and monuments to visit
    is a great website to find more of what is available to do in the area

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wifi is available and we welcome you. Might be able to improve our digital skills!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a large barn which can house a campervan up to 8m. We do also have space in front of the house if you prefer to be outside to catch the sun on your solar panel. We have a garage across the road for smaller vans and soon accommodation above this.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We can accept pets BUT they must stay in the van with you. Dogs can be walked with our dog too so it can be more fun and interesting for your pet. Our dog is very friendly and will walk with any other dog but this is your preference.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 157839371539

Comentarios (4)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Peace of permaculture orchard, garden and tiny house in Hildburghausen, Germany
Join our political house project and help with DIY and gardening in Homberg, Germany