Help us with the vegetable garden, artisan preserves and general maintenance in Woodbridge, Australia

Country

Australia

278 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    23  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/08/2020

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there Workaway people.
    My name is Ann and Bill is my partner

    Our property is situated in Woodbridge, a small town 35km south of Hobart on the D'Entrecasteaux Channel.
    The property has great views of the Channel and Bruny Island with a small beach in front of the property

    Properties in the surrounding locality often have excess fruits and vegetables, which I enjoy the process of preserving and bottling for domestic and hobby purposes.
    When required, we assist other residents on local properties to pick grapes, olives and over abundance of fruits etc.
    I grow quite a bit of rhubarb and horseradish . We often trade plants and produce with our neighbors.

    Having spent the last 10 years trading at Salamanca Market, I have withdrawn, as 10 years is enough!!!
    I still like to visit local Farmers Markets.
    We need a bit of help in our small domestic vegetable garden, and Bill, my partner needs help outdoors to maintain the property. We are devoted to the no-dig technique using lots of mulch, so weeds are minimal (In a perfect world!)
    Help would be approx. 5 hours per day, with flexible hours so you can take time to enjoy the beautiful surroundings.
    You may prefer to help longer hours with whole days off so you can spend complete days sight seeing etc

    There is a small cabin on the property, with a double and a single bunk. It has a TV and heater. There is a 'lunch room' adjacent to the Cabin with basic cooking facilities and room to relax. Good internet reception. I will provide dinner, and often, lunch, in the main house (special needs not a problem) Breakfast is taken independently in the lunch room.

    If arriving by plane, I will more than likely be able to collect you from the airport, or there is a bus service from Hobart to Woodbridge

    Woodbridge has a small general store, post office and a great local pub called Peppermint Bay
    The village is a 10mins walk through forest and along the foreshore

    Visits of about two weeks are ideal but flexible

    There are several other Workaway hosts locally, i.e.at Bruny Island and Cygnet, so you have a chance to meet like minded travelers and there are many places of interest in the vicinity.
    I would be happy to assist with information to further your travels in around Tasmania.

    Please see the photos which give an idea of the property, the helpers bungalow & breakfast/lunch area, dinners and some of the various activities the helpers help us with.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We also occasionally visit local Farmers Markets
    We assist to advise how to visit places of interest surrounding Woodbridge e.g. Bruny Island, and also other parts of Tasmania

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tasks include:
    Planting seedlings.
    Helping to maintain the veggie garden.
    Weeding, but I practice the no dig, much mulch technique to keep the weeds at bay.
    Help with processing excess fruits for preserving, also from neighboring properties, for domestic and hobby interest
    Otherwise, hopefully, fun.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Semi self contained bungalow overlooking the vegie garden for our workers to stay.
    Within the bungalow is a double bunk and a single bunk, a T.V, heater, WiFi and a HUGE map of Tasmania.
    There is an independent Breakfast/Lunch relax room for the workers
    Laundry & bathroom adjacent to bungalow

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are many other Workawayer hosts locally, so there is the opportunity to meet up with other like minded travelers

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week






















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 149691776623