Learn wildcrafting on an off -grid homestead, Read Island, Canada

Country

Canadá

22 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/02/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello from Hank and Amy, we're a young couple working on reviving an intergenerational homestead. Our property is on beautiful, remote, Read island, with a small community of 50 residents! We live on a shared 14 acre property with Hanks mother, Lise. We are fully off grid, using a combination of solar and generators for power, we have internet access throughout the day and evening but no cell service unless you walk down to the ocean. We have many ongoing projects including, saw milling, fire wood cutting, foraging, cooking, building, gardening, and landscaping. We have 2 houses on the property, a small unfinished cabin where we live, and the original family home where Lise lives. There's a large furnished safari style tent in the yard for the workawayer.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This would be a great place to learn about off grid homesteading, boating and life in the bush. We welcome people of any skill level. We are about a 5 minute walk away from the ocean, so on your days off you can use a boat to explore the coast, or stay on the island and hike around in the forest! Though the community is small there are a lot of very lovely people with beautiful, idyllic homesteads and decades of experience, who would welcome a socially distanced visit.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would welcome anyone from a wide variety of interests! At the moment we are especially focused towards someone interested in building, gardening or food preparation! We can offer the freedom to work at your own pace and to your discretion, basically do whatever you want as long as you're contributing! Alternatively if you need more direction, we can provide a list of tasks suited to your abilities/ interests.

    Building

    We are building a deck, doing siding on a 16x20x14 ft cabin and building a cob oven this summer so help with those projects would be great!

    Gardening

    We have an approximately 50x50 ft area we would like to see turned into a garden. This would be a self guided project as we will be mostly be focusing on the building work. We would like to have a permaculture garden, so knowledge of permaculture principles, or a willingness to learn would be great! No gardening experience is necessary, this would be a great place to learn if you're interested in learning about gardening.

    Food preparation

    We would love to have someone around who could help with the daily chores, like cooking & cleaning. Someone with an interest in foraging/ fishing/ shellfish harvesting and fermentation, or who would like to learn about foraging wild foods and how to preserve them would be ideal.

    We always need help with firewood cutting and saw milling, both are physically demanding but easy tasks anyone can learn. If you have some other skills you think we could benefit from feel free to apply!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a safari tent in the yard, approximately 200 feet from the house. It's tall enough to stand up in and furnished with a bed, table, and small camp stove. You'll have power of your own and wifi access from the cabin. You're welcome to come into the cabin anytime to use the kitchen. The tent is great for privacy but if bad weather is predicted then you can stay in the living room in the cabin!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live very remotely, so it's the perfect place to hide from the pandemic, but also means we have very limited access to the amenities of town. We're open to both long and short term stays. Amy is a pescatarian so we almost exclusively eat vegetarian/ pescatarian at the moment, but if you cook, you can eat as much meat as you want.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    we have satellite internet, so not 100% reliable, very weather dependent. but usually decent

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have 2 dogs, a cat, chickens and ducks, no fence, and local predators. If your pet can thrive in this environment, they are more than welcome!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 144911548938