Learn about off grid homesteading and help us build our straw bale house. Michigan, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

33 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a young family of 4 living in Michigan, working on building our homestead. Come learn about solar powered living while helping us to build our straw bale house.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are an international couple, from America and Slovakia, speaking dual language in and around the household and neighboring areas. We also speak spanish and have a small spanish speaking community around.
    We live on 25 acres just 5 miles from our nearby city Kalamazoo. Kalamazoo has a good amount of diversity, and offers various cultural activities and we are connected with social justice groups within the city.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for one couple or individual interested in learning and helping with our natural built straw bale home. Other opportunities include gardening, goat milking and cheese making, reforestation and forest management (including timber harvest ,round wood joinery and saw milling)

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Slovak: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    As being a start up homestead, our current housing is in RV's (caravan, mobile home) We have a good size mobile home that would suite a couple, or one individual. It is rustic, with an outdoor composting toilet, No wifi on the property, and no running water inside. We have solar panels for lights and charging cell phones. There is a gas powered stove that can be used for making tea and such small things. We have a solar powered washing machine, and a refrigerator for use in the outdoor kitchen. Hot water is created via solar showers, and we have a gas powered water heater also in the main Rv. Space is a bit tight with RV living, but we are flexible and open people. All of our produce and some fruit come from the farm here, and we purchase staple foods such as rice, beans, grains, condiments, and various other things weekly. We are primarily vegetarian, with some local meat and fish eaten quite rarely. We will have many shared meals (every evening and some days mid day)
    This opportunity would be good for a couple or individual who is up for some adventure, and would really like to learn about off grid solar systems and natural building.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a beautiful area with lots of forests and lakes around us. We are on 25 acres of newly planted oak and pines, with open spaces for gardens and pasture. We are about 45 minutes from the lovely Lake Michigan, and about 5 minutes from the city of Kalamazoo (a town of about 80,000 people)
    Kalamazoo has lots of free music in the parks seasonally.
    We enjoying taking trips to the lake, camping, making music, having bonfires and general merry making.
    We are big bikers, and have various bikes for offer with carts to haul kids and goods.
    We also have 2 cars, a farm truck and a small honda fit. A vehicle is not mandatory to live here, although convenient (especially if you would like to explore the surrounding areas)
    We would love to meet and connect with you!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gardens 2020
Our outdoor kitchen
A straw bale bench and countertop in our outdoor kitchen
Peeling beams for our house!
Kitchen in the guest RV
Futon turns into a full size bed
The main RV (where we live)
Building our timber frame barn
Our solar energy

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 142434966537