Experience daily family house life while you discover the medieval scenery in Aquitaine, France




1424 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

  • Medallas

    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

  • Descripción


    We are a Belgian family who lives in France since 14 years. Begin of the fifties and speaking several languages french- dutch-english and some spanish and german. We enjoy people visiting from all over the world. This is a wonderful exchange and we appreciate helpers that can give their best, are motivated, also enjoy what they are doing and have some fun and good exchanges at the same time.

    Our region Lot et Garonne is a rural land full of history situated between Bordeaux and Toulouse, between Guyenne and Languedoc, the Lot and Garonne experienced many different influences. In summer you ca enjoy activities such as Marché Gourmands, summer concerts, medieval festivals ….At contact we provide you a link with touristic info video.

    We have a large, beautiful, traditional old home just on the border of a small village where we live in a very large nature property of 18 hectares on the riverside. We do wish to host the year aroud as the lady of the house has a chronic bechterev illness, which from time to time makes her daily life some more difficult.

    Main search is for someone who can help with the daily family house life. The needed help is varied and not difficult. The househelp consists in some vacuuming, mopping, dusting , hanging out washing, ironing.... as well as some basic garden help as weeding in small vegetable garden or assist with daily summer watering of the plants in and around the house.

    Four bedroom houses are also always in need of some small DIY chores so we also welcome handy profiles or couples, in order to achieve the ideal combination of the handy allrounder and the cosy family carer.

    Although we are petlovers we can not host people who travel with their pets, as we have pets of ourselves. In function of my home based office job with a permanent customer phoning I can not take on pet battles.

    This CAN BE A PAID POSITION but ONLY IF you are eligeable to a longterm "salarié aupair" programm ! As we are not a business organisation we can only propose paid positions by the "au pair contracting formula " meaning that conform to french regulation this kind of position is only possible to EUROPEAN CITIZENS who have Nationality of a Country Member of the European Union. Furthermore this kind of paid arrangement can only be offered to a person between 18-30 years and with a mininal of 3 MONTH STAY ! This is not a classical job so next to your full boarding your minimal legal wage is only a little pocket money arrangement and not to be compared to a salary people earn with classical business jobs who do no cover free housing and boarding as we do.... Info and regulations of the aupair formula can be consulted on the french gouvernemental website, if you encounter problems finding the details do not hesitate to ask us for the link.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Experience what life is like in rural South West of France, a very beautiful unspoiled part of France, which is great for exploring, and hiking.

    Improve your french and discover the beautiful medieval scenery which surrounds us. Lovely walks all around!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We look for help a whole year around. But we do prefer persons who are staying minimally two to four weeks . We wish you to effectively help us 5hours /day during 5 days. I have a demanding home based work situation so we prefer reliable autonomous persons.

    We appreciate things done with enthusiasm but please consult us before starting tasks as it is us who will be permanently living with the end results.

    If you wish to stay with us you must feel comfortable with animals as we do have two big dogs and three horses. Nevertheless we can not host persons with pets as your private space is not ideal for pets and living in with our pets could make my day office job too hard if the pets don't get along.

    To be happy at our place you also need to enjoy spending some time on your own, just reading, meditating, hiking, riding or writing a book... Our place is very peaceful and we are looking forward to meeting responsible people with love for animals and respect for nature.

    Before you Apply please double check if you really feel comfortable with the researched profiles and do explain why you think you would fit in, which experiences you have etc .....so we can better evaluate your application.

    Before confirming venues we Always prefer to have a live chat by Skype or WhatsApp so that we can mutually evaluate what we expect from each other.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We have created you a "Garden Studio" a suitable full equipped private living space of which we send pictures after a first interview. It is an adapted mobile home which is well isolated, heated and reequipped as a classical house. This living space is situated in the garden but next to our house, and with view on the riverside.

    Your private area provides you in a double bed, satellite tv _ free internet, kitchenette with oven and a FILLED UP FRIDGE, own Shower room and WC as well as a little discrete terrace.

    Altough we do spend a lot of the meals together you need to prepare your own breakfast and some of your meals. We provide in a basic food package from your first day of arrival and afterwards we organise you regular shopping which we adapt to your personal preferences.

    We have some 18hectares land on the riverside, so you are sure to find a private spot to relax, to fish, to read, to enjoy a glass of wine or just work on your tan. You can also go horse riding, kayakking or golfing at less than three miles (5km) from the house.

    If you are without transport, you have a bike at your disposal as we are having a direct access to the regional green path which leads to the nearest town. And of course we do try to drive you to the nearest places too… At approximate five miles (5Km) from the house you will find public transport connections to larger cities, bars, restaurants, cinema and all the shops you could possibly need.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you come by train Agen station has several TGV connections - the nearest airports are Bergerac and Agen but you can also easily join us by Toulouse or Bordeaux airport. In function of your day and time of arrival there is local bus to our village or we pick you up.

    The Lot and Garonne is a friendly place of just over 300,000 inhabitants. It is surrounded by the Périgord and Dordogne to the north east, the Landes to the south west, the Gers to the south and by two major cities linked by the A62 motorway going through Agen: Bordeaux and Toulouse.

    You can uncover the treasures of the beautiful Lot and Garonne by cycling along the many cycling paths; walking along the country trails or navigating by boat on the 200km of waterways, rivers and canals. Water sport activities are popular in the Lot Valley. You can also watch rugby etc.

    It is a land linking the Quercy and the Landes regions. The countryside is hilly and is crossed by two beautiful rivers: the Lot and the Garonne. These rivers meet at Aiguillon. It is a mostly rural area. The Lot and Garonne is very fertile. It has orchards, vineyards and general farming. The main produce is prunes (which become the famous Agen prunes), tomatoes, wines of Buzet and Duras, melons, strawberries and asparagus... It is the most productive agricultural province of the Aquitaine region.

    Our region Lot et Garonne is a land full of history. Henri IV and Jeanne D’Albret came from this area. Situated between Bordeaux and Toulouse, between Guyenne and Languedoc, the Lot and Garonne experienced many different influences. Agenais was first part of the Aquitaine region in the first centuries AD, before experiencing the wars between the King of France and the King of England. These battles often went either way, upstream or downstream from Agen. Victories in these battles were often short lived.

    Either under Toulouse, English or Bordeaux influence, the Lot and Garonne, for a long time had very flexible borders. Administrations overlapped, some were influenced by Toulouse and others by Bordeaux; plus the powerful Albret family exerted authority in the Nérac region.

    For a long time the Garonne River was considered a natural border between the north and the south of the region.

    Under Louis XI, Agenais was aligned with Bordeaux, its parliament and the government at Guyenne. Created in 1790, the limits of the Lot and Garonne as they stand today, date back to 1808. At that time the borders with the recently created Tarn and Garonne, were fixed in the south east.

    However, things were not that simple, some regions naturally leant towards the Dordogne to the north, Gers to the south or the Landes to the southwest. Also the choice of the capital between Agen and Aiguillon was a topic of debate. Aiguillon argued its privileged and natural geographic position at the junction of the Lot River and Garonne River but Agen was designated capital due to its historic heritage.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    yes we can as we have a decent unlimited wifi in the private space of the workaway

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    In case you are travelling with a camper or a tent we can provide you a private parking place and electricity

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day / 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.6)

Comunicación: (4.6)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 135389692528