Help with stray animals in Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka

Country

Sri Lanka

actualizado   Última hora

34 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are two Spanish guys, Nacho and Mario, who run a kite school in Kalpitiya, Sri Lanka. After 5 years living in Sri Lanka we have noticed that most dog-owning families disregard vaccination and sterilization and end up dumping puppies on to the streets. Nowadays, over three million stray dogs roam the streets of Sri Lanka, suffering from starvation and without a place to call their home. This is the reason why we created an animal care organization where we mainly focus on sterilization and vaccination of stray dogs and cats.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In Kalpitiya, you will be able to meet a lot of local people and learn about the local culture.

    During the time off, you can enjoy Kalpitiya with dolphin watching, kitesurfing, kayaking, diving, paddle surfing, safaris, excursions, yoga, biking, etc.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The help we need is because we are working almost all day teaching Kitesurf courses. We need you to help us pick up the puppies and take them to the vet, or for example go out with one of us on a motorcycle in the morning to give food with Ivermectin or NextGard (depending on the type of scabies) to the street dogs. Also, when we gain the trust of an unsterilized dog or cat, we put it in our Tuk Tuk and take it to the vet. You don't have to drive, but you do have to give support.
    A "normal" day, although in Sri Lanka a day is never normal... It would be to tour the area in the morning to give second doses of medication to dogs with scabies, and then go to the places that we have arranged with local people to accompany us with his dogs to the vet to castrate him.
    In addition, we would like the person who helps us to also dedicate some time to taking good quality photos and publicizing social networks. In this way, we will have more visibility, the local people will become aware and will bring their animals to us so that we can take care of sterilizing them.

    We need volunteers to help us to bring dogs to the vet for sterilization and vaccination. Also, we need help with our social networks to raise awareness in the local community.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Español: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We would like to improve our English and we can help you with Spanish.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Volunteers will stay in a private double room in our house with a shared bathroom (western standard). All meals included (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). Free laundry and free WI-FI.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Volunteers can lend a bicycle for free.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 128644891761