Stone walling, recycled art and a dream of self sufficiency in Dienne, France

Country

Francia

actualizado  

1 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/04/2021

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi. We are Neil and Catherine and we are restoring a 16th century longere in the Limousin area of France. We have a barn which we are converting into a walled garden with pool, stone outbuildings and 7 acres which we are planting in fruit. We of course want to have the dream of self sufficiency, but need to protect the house and buildings from more damage years of neglect have caused. We have a dog called Bruce, love cooking and a few drinks, love to entertain and have fun. We work hard but we are absolutly emersed in the culture here and everything it has to offer.

    We speak basic French and English is our first language.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In return for your company, we will teach you stone wall construction, English, DIY and building skills, and you will be emerced in our very rural French commune. We are 20 mintues from Poitiers whiich is a fabulous university town, and are in a great area for cycling and walking in the parcs around us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    HI, we are a Kiwi/English couple in or late 40’s restoring a 16th century farm house and outbuildings in Dienne, near Poitiers. We would really love some help with rebuilding the stone walls around our pool and walled garden, which was a 16th century barn. We are restoring it back with the stones it was built with- its a labour of love. Then we will landscape the area and build an ornamental fish pond. We also have a small lake that we want to clear and bring back into use. At the very end wall we would like some help with an art work of a tree made from the old tiles from the roof of the house. We are rebuilding a pigsty, rooms and landscaping the grounds. We have 7 acres we are planting in veg and fruit trees and yes we are trying to mvoe to the dream of near self suffiency.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are English speakers and learning French. We speak French to a basic level.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a 1 bedroom gite, all self contained (decoration is a bit 80s!) It does have cooking facilities however we would like to have our guests eat with us and we cook for you. We can also teach you cooking if you would like! The pool is lovely (notwithstanding its not yet landscaped) so in summer its BBQ and sun and water!

    We also have room for camper vans if you are travelling in one, with electric availible. You can camp as well if you like- there are 7 private acres.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Its best if you have a vehicle but we can arrange pick ups and drop offs if you need them. We are 10 minutes walk from a small village but the larger attractions need transport. Thats the beauty of where we are- very quiet and restfull, very rural france ! There is a huge market on a Saturday and loads of the other villages have weekday smaller markets. In a hour and a half you can be in La Rochelle! We are only 1 hour 25 from paris by train so weekends away are easy!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Very good internet connections inside, around the pool and you will have your own space to work in the gite with a desk etc.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    7 acres to choose from and power provided. We have a workshop on site and a Neil is a mechanic.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have our own dog and are establishing farm animals. There are cats in the commune. You are very welcome with your pets.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 127958576275