Help gardening and renovating a cottage in rural NW Spain

Country

España

213 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    39  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    UPDATE: Thank you we now have the help we need until late March/early April.

    We return from our own workaway adventure in late March and we will need plenty of help in the garden sowing this year's crop, planting, weeding and generally catching up after a couple of months absence.

    We would welcome a single or couple, gardening experience not essential but a willingness to learn is!

    Short term help of a few days is always welcome.

    We look forward to hosting you soon.

    Lisa& Stewart have spent the past 13 years in beautiful rural Galicia self-restoring our old stone farmhouse. Having almost finished this task! in 2014 we took on a second project in the same hamlet for Lisa’s mum who also loves the tranquillity and local friendliness.
    Thanks to many enthusiastic workawayers we have now finished the restoration but we have enjoyed our workaway experiences so much we want to continue inviting people to our homes to help us with everyday tasks such as weeding, landscaping, bramble hacking and fruit picking in our organic allotment and other outside jobs like mortaring the stone walls and painting.
    The spring and summer are time for fiestas, outside eating, long walks and fun as well as some hard graft! Our local food fiestas start in February with the 'pig bone stew fiesta' and continue through may and june with a giant paella, then it is Sardines and the roman festival at Lugo in June (well worth a visit but you need to make a costume!) The local swimming pool opens later in the summer and is a great way to cool off when the temperatures soar. Galicia is truly a unique area so come and discover a new aspect to Spain, we look forward to welcoming you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are English and have lived in our adopted country for 13 years. We therefore have many experiences to share with people. In addition we love to hear new stories from our helpers from around the world. We believe social interaction keeps the world going. We love Galicia and are more than happy to share this beautiful place with you.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Volunteer work will vary from day to day and month to month depending on the season we are looking for outdoor help in the gardens, bramble clearing, fruit picking, leaf collecting (for mulching the beds) and maybe some painting or mortaring of walls. A flexible approach and a willingness to get stuck in are the qualities we prize most.
    We have a large organic allotment which keeps us pretty much in vegetables, fruit and nuts year round. From June through to November there is plenty of opportunity for fruit and nut picking and to learn preserving skills in the kitchen (drying, jam making, bottling). In winter there is wood cutting and more bramble clearing to be done. We also have chickens and rabbits for eggs and meat.
    We look forward to meeting you.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own bedroom with shared bathroom in our completed house so its comfortable. Please note we are trying to be as eco friendly as possible and have solar showers for summer use. In winter, water needs to be heated on the stove. We also visit the local pool regularly if you like to swim (indoor & outdoor).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Galicia is one of the most beautiful areas of Spain; unspoilt, tranquil, green and friendly. There is lots to do nearby. We are situated in a tiny hamlet with woodland walks and tracks outside the door, both houses are still only a 20min walk into a small market town with shops and cafes, many with wifi access. In return for your enthusiasm we offer your own comfortable bedroom and home cooked meals (cakes and puddings a speciality!). Non smokers only please. We do not have internet or TV at the house though we watch the odd DVD and have an extensive library of paperbacks. The Ribeira Sacra is a beautiful and not widely known area and well worth exploring. We are happy to take some trips out to explore with you. On the 1st of each month there is a local farmers market and the walled Roman city of Lugo is worth a trip. In winter the thermal spa baths in Ourense are a must. If you wish to explore further afield we have a resources file available with lots of ideas accessible by public transport. These past 5 years we have had lots of help from wonderful workawayers. We are looking forward to meeting more lovely people soon.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day. flexibility appreciated e.g maybe one full day and one off not necessarily weekends but we will try to accommodate your preferences if we can.

thermal spa. great in winter too
Lugo. A Roman city
ribeira sacra. beautiful area
Galician walks
'new' view from casita
garden cleared!
enthusiastic helpers make short work of brambles. THANKYOU
The Roman walls of Lugo
view from the house
View of the village
The garden waiting to be tamed!
Our new project..the kitchen
View from the house
Covered terrace, our most used spot
Part of the garden with kiwis
Our guest bedroom
Lisa in the bean (and poppy) patch
Stewart the chicken whisperer
























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 118397425719