New zero-carbon house on the Côte d’Azur, south of France

  • 363 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 24 abr 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am Katherine, a 69-year-old semi-retired sustainable architect finishing a zero-carbon house in the south of France.

    ABOUT ME
    I have MS, and luckily still very mobile (it has mostly affected my left leg and I walk with a stick). My husband and I had planned to have a joyous third life on the Côte d’Azur unfortunately he died in 2017, so now it is just me enjoying my third life here in Provence, with friends and family often staying.
    I have been a passionate advocate of sustainable architecture throughout my career, designing homes that are good for people and the environment, with a specialism in designing homes for people with disabilities.
    This house is the culmination of my career as an architect.

    I am not fully retired yet, but heading that way, and I am making time and space to for other creative pursuits such as ceramics and sculpture . I regularly go swimming, Practice Tai-chi and go on short walks. I eat a healthy diet following the principals of Dr Wahl's protocol (lots of organic veg and meat).

    WHO I’M LOOKING FOR

    On a general basis I am looking for someone to help with things such as:
    lifting, gardening and pool maintenance.
    Proficiency with some computer-based admin tasks, a driver's license is essential and some fluency in French would be a welcome bonuses.

    Typically on a day to day bases, there is not a huge amount of work and this would suite someone who would like to work remotely, in exchange for accommodation helping out with tasks, and share the cooking and food costs.

    THIS YEAR.
    I intend to create a studio space for which some knowledge of building skills would be helpful.
    This I want to start as soon as I have a good professional team in place and I am aiming for, April and expect it to take 3 months.

    Ideally I am looking for someone who is very hands on, helpful, thoughtful and willing to lend a hand and enjoy the South of France.

    ABOUT THE PLACE

    The house is located in the Côte d’Azur region of France, in a stunning location with walks all around, the beaches are about 20 minutes away by car, the nearest village 5 minutes down the hill by car, there is also a bicycle available.
    Accommodation for a workaway will be your own double bedroom with en-suit facilities.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Benefits:
    - Living in beautiful surroundings in an interesting building.
    - car and bicycle available.
    - Local village has many events.
    - Freedom to get on with your own things.
    - Opportunity to come to France and see more of Europe, the location is approximate an hour drive from the Italian border.
    - Access to regular exercise opportunities, pool, walks, runs, cycling.

    Learning:
    - English
    - Information/wisdom about sustainable architecture
    - How to support someone with a disability
    - Cooking skills
    - Gardening and planting in a warm climate.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The main things I would like help with are:
    Having a helpful and considerate person around.
    Handy person:
    Fixing things, carpentry, gardening, clearing, planting and watering.
    cleaning around the house and garden.
    Cooking: I love cooking, and would be happy to share taking it in turns. (If you are enthusiastic about healthy eating all the better!)

    Great but not essential:

    Computers: I'm no techno whizz, but use a computer for my work plus emails etc, so additional support with this may come in handy.
    French speaking: I'm trying to improve my french as I live in France, so if you speak french, great.
    Admin assistance: occasionally helping me to stay on top of french admin tasks.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am interested in improving my french.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    New build 4 bedroom zero carbon house, set in approximately 1 acre, located in the area of the Côte d'azur, 20mins by car from the town of St Maxime.
    Beautiful location walks all around.

    Double bedroom with en-suit facilities.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Beaches and many sights and small villages around to explore.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Yes they have their own room with a desk.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is space to accommodate a campervan

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Small well behaved dogs

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    varies 2-4 hours a day, 5-7 days a week very flexible.

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 118224579858

Comentarios (3)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)