Come and help an environmental NGO educate local people about sustainability in Kasese, Uganda

  • Uganda
  • 75 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 6 jun 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes



  • Descripción


    My name is William born and grew up in the Kasese district in western Uganda. As a professional, I am a tour guide and wildlife conservation activist. Founder and team leader of a nonprofit and community-based organization.
    I pursued my studies in wildlife and tourism management at Uganda Wildlife Research and Training Institute.
    I am fond of rescuing the environment and boosting travelers to discover Uganda because there's a lot to see in the Pearl of Africa.

    Currently, three people are working with the organization. Samson is working as the program director, Monday is working as the transport and delivery coordinator, and Jovia is working as the community coordinator.
    More staff members will be brought on board as we plan to officially open our organization's school in January 2024 and our goal is to offer free education to all children from financially struggling backgrounds, orphans, and those who have lost hope and dropped out of school for unknown reasons. Education is the best way to bless a child in Uganda. At our school, in addition to the Ugandan education standards and program, we shall be giving life-changing skills like tailoring, arts and craft design, ICT and digital training, catering, music and drama, conservation and environmental protection knowledge, etc

    We have our onsite organization's nursery bed, we pot and grow different tree species and later give these trees to our community members at a free cost.

    I believe that environmental protection is pivotal. Therefore, during my free time, I feel happy to involve children in environmental sustainability practices which helps them to see the value of conservation and tourism. Children are leaders of tomorrow they must be taught the challenges of global warming and climate change and be aware and equipped with the knowledge to treat our Planet properly and inspire all the young generation about the path ahead of them.

    I consider myself to be easy-going, open-minded, and friendly. I like meeting new people and I'll be glad to show you Kasese the gem of the Pearl of Africa and its surroundings using all my professional skills and knowledge.

    At home, I stay with my wife Jovia, and we both believe in the same goal, Jovia is a kind and welcoming lady and a good chef.

    Looking for creative and innovative workawayers in the following areas:
    1. Impacting skills development, talent, digital arts, crafts and design, and health.
    2. Architecture and construction work.
    3. Education
    4. Permaculture and conservation programs
    5. Culture exchange
    6. Exciting the young generation about the value of wildlife and environmental conservation.
    7. Proposal writing
    8. Website design
    9. Teachers

    I'm driven to help the local communities in Kasese who strive for a better future, thus I'm looking for creative and innovative people to come and join me to make it happen.
    Volunteer abroad to make a difference in our community.
    Mwasingya (thank you)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    What I can offer to travelers is: 1) Contact with locals 2) Experience local culture and food 3) Tour guiding tips 4) Planting trees in my organization's farmland 5) Helping and engaging the communities living close to Queen Elizabeth national park and Rwenzori mountains national park 6) Blessing the young generation 7) Knowledge sharing

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I need help with: 1) Finishing constructing the future hostel for couch surfers and travelers close to my house. 2) Engaging youth and local communities in nature conservation projects 3) Help us finish building our organization's skills training classrooms. 4) Helping to build up my first website 5) sharing life-transforming skills 6) culture exchange 7) Teaching our local community about good farming methods. 8) Teaching the local community people about the values of conservation and the effects of climate change or global warming. 9) Empowering and training skills that can make a difference in the lives of local people to earn a living or be self employed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I'm interested in learning new languages :)

  • Alojamiento


    You will be staying at my home in the center of Kasese. wifi is available, personal bedroom, TV, mini book library, chess, 3 meals a day, shared western bathroom, mosquito nets, and sanitary facilities are offered. Smoking and alcohol are accepted.
    My accommodation units are 10 minutes walk from the bus station, and 5 minute walk from the bank, hospital, playground, police, and central market.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    1) Touring national around the area for example Queen Elizabeth national park and Rwenzori mountains national park.
    2) Visiting the hot springs
    3) Visiting cultural sites
    4) Riding
    5) Hang out
    6) Experience the real Africa

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a good parking yard where workawayers can park their vans

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    All types of pets :)

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 116192191882

Comentarios (3)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Join our medical clinic and primary school in the beautiful Mt Elgon, Uganda
Community mental and psychosocial support in Fort Portal, Uganda