We would love help with Gardening, creating a pond for our ducks and some painting, in Te Awamutu, New Zealand



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    We are Jack and Hadassah Jones. We are an international couple. Jack is English, spent many years in Germany so is fluent in German and married Hadassah who is a Kiwi. Hadassah grew up in Papua New Guinea, has an American accent but is a New Zealander. We both have travelled a lot and enjoy people from other cultures.

    Jack is 53 years old and works for a kiwi fruit business as the workshop manager.
    Hadassah is 48 years old and has her own small gardening business, tending other peoples gardens while still trying to do her own.
    We enjoy people from all walks of life, religion and cultures and hold to the importance of respect.
    We have a religious family background which has definitely impacted on our lives but we are not overly religious ourselves. We do give thanks for our meals.
    We are non-smokers and mostly non-drinkers. You are welcome to provide your own alcohol but prefer non-smokers
    The one thing we might seem a bit quirky about is that we like to have our shower squeegeed down and wiped after each shower. Just to stop water stains.
    We really enjoyed having workawayers and enjoy conversations, showing people around when we can and providing a nice place to stay.

    Also we have black ducks as our pets. They are very much a part of our lives. So hopefully you don't mind ducks because one of them comes inside for a visit. They can be messy but I try very hard to keep things clean. They are pretty adorable and if you stay with us, you will then forever after notice ducks everywhere. :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    It seems that when travelling if you are able to stay with local people, you gain a greater knowledge of the area, the way people live and what life is truly like for the people living there. When you are a tourist travelling through and only visiting tourist sites you don't really formulate a true picture of what that place is like.
    I think living with us will give you a picture of NZ life. What daily life looks life, what issues kiwi's are facing, how we approach life. We also have local knowledge of places to see and things to do that might not be on the typical tourist route.

  • Ajuda


    We are looking for help with a few different things

    We are creating a duck pond but it isn't such a small project. This is a specialized pond that should filter the water naturally to keep it clean. We have all the materials for it now and it is quite involved. We need some muscle power to help with the creation of this pond. We have to lift large rocks into place, create a waterfall and fill in all the gaps with stones. So if you want a project you can get stuck into this could be it. We would work on this project with you as it will require team work.

    There is also a wall on my cabin that needs staining and also on our garden shed. So if you like wielding a paint brush then here is an opportunity

    There is also lots of garden work to do. Our place is looking very much like a work site but has great potential to turn into something special.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    Our spare bedroom fits one person comfortably. It can fit two but will be a bit tighter. It is a comfortable bedroom, bright and cheerful.
    Our house is a fairly new build, it isn't large but very comfortable.
    Food will be provided, non-fussy eaters are always welcome, but we will do our best to provide for peoples food restrictions and preferences within reason. We are not vegetarian and so not overly experienced in cooking vegetarian food.
    Because of where we live having your own transport would be very helpful. We are in a small town that only runs basic bus services, so if you want to really get out exploring having a car to do so would really help. We can tell you of heaps of places to visit.
    I am happy to drop you off at the bus station if that helps. I am sure you can catch a bus to Waitamo caves or Hobbiton if you want to.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a small area called Kihikihi a suburb of Te Awamuta. We are very centrally placed for tourist activities. We are about 40 minute drive from Waitomo Caves. Another 40 minutes in a different direction to Hobbiton. We are about 1 hours drive from Kawhia, Raglan, Rotorua, & Mt Maunganui.
    We have a good knowledge of places to go, local hikes, rock climbing, swimming, caving activities for the area. We might even take you out ourselves if the timing works. We do love to share our local awesome spots.
    I am sure we could fill-up your time off with places to visit.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a couple of spots for campervans to park.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4 hours a day

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 981194579527

Comentário (6)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Come and experience the Kiwi farming lifestyle at the foot of Mount Taranaki, New Zealand
Looking for instructors and help with bush restoration projects on our farm in the Hunua Ranges (At the Top of the Hunua Falls)