Come discover wheelchair sports in Montréal, Canada

  • Favorito 402 vezes
  • Última atividade: 20 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    French 🇫🇷 to follow ⬇️

    It’s been awhile people, but I’m back:)

    Let me ask you, do you know Paralympic sports, ever heard of boccia? How about volunteering and earning some money if you want (CAD $5,000 to $7,000 per month) to help for a Paralympic athlete, fighting for a spot at the 2024 Paris Paralympic Games.

    How about helping someone that should be long dead with the type of disability I have! But through sports and healthy living, I have far exceeded my life expectancy and I show no signs of slowing down. Where there’s a will, there’s a way!

    Down to business: a drivers license, fluent English or French and a work visa are musts! It's also essential that you're a cat lover since I have two.

    I’m looking for someone with a strong sporting background, as an athlete and hopefully with your education as well, to assist me for at least 3 months.

    I am in search of someone to help me for my sport and in my daily life here in Montreal, which means preparing training equipment, assisting me throughout trainings (4-6 per week), fitness training at home, filling out reports, tracking my games and more.

    For assistance at home, daily life activities include but not limited to: household chores (doing the dishes, laundry, vacuuming, etc..), getting groceries, running errands, food prep and other related tasks.

    The deal: if you like sports, healthy living and would like discovering a whole new world, my proposal will surely interest you.

    What I offer is food (within reason), lodging and you get to help me in my preparation for my competitions and get a shout out for getting me on the podium and maybe even travel with me to major world cities.

    In closing, I live close to downtown, really near the botanical garden and Olympic Stadium where I do most of my training.

    Hopefully you will have experience in working with the disabled or have a bring on the challenge attitude, if you have never worked with the disabled.

    If you require more info on what I’m looking for or want to see a few videos of the type of help I need or a little bit more about myself, just ask or surf the net, I’m pretty easy to find.

    And maybe a mental recalibration would be good for you, we could do some meditation together.

    Marco
    __________________________________

    Laisse-moi te demander, connais-tu les sports paralympiques, as-tu déjà entendu parler du boccia ? Et que penses-tu d’aider un athlète paralympique qui se bat pour une place aux Jeux paralympiques de Paris 2024 en plus de faire un bon salaire si tu veux !

    Dans mon cas avec le type d’handicap que j’ai, j’aurais du être mort depuis longtemps mais, grâce au sport et à une vie saine, j'ai largement dépassé mon espérance de vie et je ne montre aucun signe de ralentissement. Vouloir c’est pouvoir !

    Les trucs importants:
    -Un permis de conduire et un permis de travail sont indispensables !
    -Tu dois aimer les chats et t’en occuper, j’en ai 2,
    -En plus de faire du bénévolat, tu pourrais travailler avec moi et gagner CAD $5,000-7,000 par mois, selon tes compétences.

    2024 semble très prometteur pour moi avec plusieurs compétitions et possiblement les Paralympiques! C’est comme les Jeux Olympiques.

    Si t’aimes le sport, voyager, une vie saine et tu aimes découvrir des choses nouvelles, ma proposition t’intéressera! Il s’agira essentiellement de m’appuyer dans mes activités sportives et journalières. Faut être plutôt une personne qui donne, mais tu recevras beaucoup en retour de cette expérience.

    Et peut-être une recalibration mentale te ferait du bien, on pourrait faire un peu de méditation ensemble.

    Marco

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will get a life experience of a new world, learn about incredible resilience in overcoming fantastic obstacles! We have an amazing and open community. Open your mind and heart, don’t be afraid, dive in and you will get an abundance in return.

    You will learn French and if you are French speaking, you will learn some québécois French and you will also improve your English, if It’s not your mother tongue.

    You will learn about Paralympic sports, experience a great city; Montreal is a very vibrant city, we have lots of green spaces in the city and very close to the city. It’s Montreal, it’s awesome, even during the winter, but as you can imagine, I prefer the summers as snow and wheelchairs don’t get along very well!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    If you have experience helping with the physically disabled, that’s a big plus, but it’s not a deal breaker, as you’ll learn as we go along. Embrace it as a challenge:)

    I expect you to be fit, as it helps with what the tasks you’ll be performing.

    What do I expect? I expect you to be organized, responsible, dynamic, go with the flow, be chill, work well with others, high energy during our tasks and very keen to discover wheelchair sports and my very particular community:) I like somebody hands on, that doesn’t back down from challenges, that wants to learn and shows initiative.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I live in an apartment complex and your domain for your stay will be the living room but no worries, you’ll have privacy as there will be a divider/curtain separating your space (approx. 3.10m x 3.30m pictures included).

    You will sleep on a comfy futon. You will also have a TV, working area, an IKEA shelving unit with drawers (clothes and stuff) and a small table. You will be comfortable.

    And of course I’ve got your wifi needs covered. I also have Netflix, Disney+ and a sports channel!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I’m a pretty simple person, I enjoy a stress free environment, where everyone gets along and where there’s solutions for everything, wouldn’t that be great. I live for my sport and to give kids and adults with disabilities some mentorship and guidance, on what you can achieve with dedication and passion.

    I enjoy going to the movies (from indie flix to blockbusters and watching the Simpsons and during the summer, I I like going to terrasses and I enjoy some walks/rolling.

    I have never smoked or done drugs and I don’t really drink, but I do enjoy a small glass of quality red wine with supper, once in a while. I’m a serious athlete, even given my limitations and I truly adhere to healthy living! I really believe it’s the reason I’m not dead, as the doctors gave me a short life expectancy!

    I expect you to be a non smoker, no drugs and drink with moderation, if you drink. You should pick up after yourself, I’m not a neat freak, I just like a tidy place. I want a down to earth person, someone not too complicated or demanding, just be happy to be

    And as I said before a good level of fitness is very helpful to helping me out:)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    About 25 volunteer hours per week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 976184869141

Comentário (1)

Fotos

Comentário


Learn & help in our bubbly corner in Saguenay Quebec, Canada.
Come and help on our 160 acre ranch in Westwold, beautiful British Columbia, Canada