Come take care of our furry family in Sobral de Monte Agraço, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 316 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    29/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are Laura & Miguel :)
    We have been married for 10 years and we are 43 and 39 years old respectively.
    We have 6 dogs (Oli, Kat, Leia, Bilbo, Dalila and Sansao) and two cats (Rob and Joy). They are our family.
    We love to chill with a good movie (sci-fi especially), having dinner with our friends, cooking, travelling and chatting about current world affairs. Miguel is a university law teacher and lawyer, and I am a manager in the travel industry.

    *If you want to apply with us, please read our complete profile.*
    We can only accept people who are used to dogs, big and small - this is essential.
    We only accept people who send personalized messages.

    We live near Sobral de Monte Agraço , in a countryside property outside the village, with a garden.

    Our volunteering position is a good match if you have experience with dogs. Some of our dogs are shy and not social and require time, so minimum stay is 2 months.

    We need help with taking care of our furry family! This means walking them morning and afternoon, checking their water, their food, playing with them, etc.
    We are welcoming volunteers all year round.
    We provide a private bedroom and semi-private bathroom (meaning we use it very rarely).
    We would love to welcome people who love animals and have experience with dogs.

    Our Family

    Rob, the cat, has access to the outdoors as well, where he wanders and hunts, but sleeps and eats at home, where he gets his cuddles and love from us. He has no special needs, except making sure he comes back home, has water, food and a good belly rub! He is used to sleeping with us.

    Joy is the latest addition to the family: she was a stray cat, we found her in very poor conditions and took her to the vet and gave her a home. She is quiet, except when she snores, loves cuddles and is very independent.

    The dogs (who sleep with us) are Oli, Kat, Leia, Bilbo, Dalila and Sansão.

    Oli is the elder of the tribe, he is around 12 years old and he is not aware he is a dog. He is, in his mind, a person. This means he gets all the perks, except eating with cutlery. :) He has Addison's syndrome and takes pills (Astonin) everyday. He has very special needs: absolutely no stress (not even getting a hair cut or nails cut is allowed by the vet) and always sleeps with us, if need be under the sheets if it is cold. If you find this odd then maybe this is not the house for you. His medication has to be precise and cannot be missed at all.

    Kat, short for Katniss, is a 9 year old sweet calm princess with lots of curiosity about the world and lots of patience. She is very calm, but a little shy and very loving. She has Leishmaniose but has done her medication and she is clinically healthy. She loves (and demands!) her morning and nightly cuddles.

    Leia is a 7 year old princess, who joined us some summers ago. She loves running, playing, taking naps, and more running around! She needs constant attention, she is very scaredy and it takes a looong time and dedication to get her trust.

    Bilbo literally showed up at our doorstep, lost. He is 4 years old, 26K and is very smart and very docile, but unaware of how big he is!

    Dalila and Sansao were rescued from the forest, where they were born. They are still young, and very scared of the world and of all humans. They require patience and care.

    All of them were abandoned or lost and we adopted them from an animal shelter. They are part of the family.
    If you think that sleeping with dogs on your bed is strange, this is not the right home for you.

    Do you want to know if we would be a good fit for your volunteering experience?
    If you are thinking of applying and you:
    - think COVID vaccines were/are a form of control
    - refused to wear a mask and/or think it was silly and pointless
    - don't want to get vaccinated
    - are a support of authoritarian governments
    - believe in crystals & astrology

    ...we are not a good fit for you! This means we are a household who believes and respects science and human development.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are professionals in the areas of Law and Tourism, we speak several languages and love to travel. We have lived in different continents and we love to share a meal. We can share our knowledge in:
    - languages (portuguese,spanish, english and french)
    - vegan and vegetarian culinary
    - law
    - tourism
    - training and recruitment
    - Human resources / Human capital management

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help with our dogs and cats, in order to be able to give us a break and go away for the weekends.
    This means daily walks, checking water, food, playing and just keeping them company.

    We can arrange flexible hours, with days off (2 or 3 days a week and the rest off) and we would very much enjoy having meals together.

    We can accommodate 1 volunteer in a private bedroom (max 2)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Private room and bathroom, access to kitchen, living room, and the rest of the house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are 35m from Lisbon (by car) and 30m (by car) from the coast and beaches in the Ericeira and Mafra region.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have good internet access.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20 / week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)









Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 947421293293