atualizado  

Help with building a homestead for our family using sustainable practices in Vermont, USA

  • Favorito 254 vezes
  • Última atividade: 5 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Homestead Build 2024
    This will be a very busy year of construction and homesteading!!

    - WATER: We have an intermittent water supply which currently requires a lot of regular maintenance and often freezes during the winter. We plan to dig out a new spring closer to the house, build a spring house, and re-plumb the house, and install some plumbing in the greenhouse.

    - HOUSE: We moved into our home before it was complete (back in 2019) and there are some sections which were hastily "thrown together" that now need to be done right. One 12'x12' section needs to be completely removed, framed, and re-installed. The north wall needs to have the 2nd floor rim joist installed and brought back into alignment. Additional cobbing inside and out are needed all over the house. Interior and exterior wood cladding needs to be installed on a few sections.

    - BARN: The barn is slowly coming along, but we need to finish the siding at the loft and a section on the east side. This will include hanging a few windows.

    - GARDEN, GREENHOUSE, & FOOD FOREST: Our greenhouse needs a new roof and we need to improve drainage around the structure. Additional fencing needs to be installed around the property increasing our garden spaces and orchard. If time allows we will build another barn/shed for housing our meat rabbits.

    - ROCKET MASS HEATER BUILD: We will be dismantling our J-tube and re-building it using newer techniques. We also will be completing the bench with some gorgeous Vermont Greenstone sourced on site. Shelves and niches will be carved into the cob as well.

    - OFF-GRID LIVING: Lots of daily chores including feeding goats, rabbits, & chickens, firewood, "normal" household chores like cooking & cleaning, etc.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our family is constructing our home using natural building methods--timber framing, round wood framing, straw bale in-fill, cob, etc. Our off-grid homestead features sustainable living--solar power, passive solar home, greenhouse, food forest, hugelkulture, composting. Our lifestyle is sustainable by using locally-sourced building materials--trees, rocks, and clay from the build site, locally milled lumber, used windows and doors, used local slate for roofing. We encourage our volunteers to work with us in design and construction methods. We don't know everything, so we listen to the wealth of knowledge others have and implement solutions immediately.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    General homestead tasks plus construction projects and gardening. The profile above details more of what's happening this spring/summer/fall.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a guest room that sleeps 2. We also have a loft for an adventurous person. Bedding provided.

    We will provide meals. We have a privy as well as some composting toilets.

    We are still in THE PROCESS of building our home, so along with the ruggedness of our home it is also a construction zone.

    If this isn't your cup of tea, that's totally understandable. Check back in a few months to see where we're at.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are in the heart of the Green Mountains with the Appalachian Trail and Long Trail only a few minutes away sporting Vermont's second highest Peak--Killington Peak. Our property is 31 acres of heavily forested hills with streams, boulders, and plenty of wildlife. Hiking and exploring are strongly recommended. Skiing, snowboarding & snowshoeing available. There is an abundance of streams, lakes, mountains, and hills nearby. Historic sites. Covered bridges. Farmers markets. Museums.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have both wired and wi-fi internet connections available. The guestroom is practically above the router so the connection is solid. The dining room table is rather large, near major light sources including huge windows, and also close to the router, so there's a really nice work space when it's not meal time.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a couple different parking locations both quiet and near potable water. Some solar access. More solar access can be had with some tree trimming (we want to turn that area into a meadow anyway).

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have a Great Pyrenees mix who is very friendly. She gets along well with most dogs. We now have 2 cats as well.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (usually around 20 hrs)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 946774366974

Comentário (4)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.3)







Join me on my homestead in Porter, TX - USA
French speaker to help with language practice and some home projects in Asheville, NC, USA