atualizado  

Help create a self-sustainable community on my desert ranch in Apple Valley, California

  • Favorito 232 vezes
  • Última atividade: 11 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hey everyone! My name is Jonathan and I'm a 36-year-old, LGBT-friendly, retired Air Force Veteran. I have a 5-acre ranch in the high desert of Apple Valley, California. I plan on creating a self-sustainable regenerative community and I need your help, experience and knowledge! I am just in the beginning stages of this process.

    I am currently working on building structures around the ranch for workawayers to utilize (dorm rooms, bathrooms, camping space, etc.). This year I'd like to build a greenhouse for my vertical garden towers. I'd like to grow 90% of the food we eat here at the ranch. If you’re experienced with construction, please reach out!

    Please read through my entire profile to make sure this experience is right for you. Whenever you reach out, I'll send a short questionnaire, and whenever I receive your reply and decide it's a good fit for us, I will schedule a video chat and confirm your dates and accommodations. If you are flying here, you must coordinate your travels to arrive at the Victorville Bus Station (16838 D St, Victorville, CA 92395) and confirm a pick up date/time with me.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Companhia para idosos
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn more about taking care of farm animals, ranch experience, helping with vertical garden towers, and exploring California.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Our schedule here is Monday through Thursday from 9am-2pm with a break for lunch at 12pm. You can expect any of the following combinations of tasks during your stay:

    -Animals (feeding, refilling water dispensers, cleaning up the cat house/barn stalls/pens & chicken coop)
    -Gardening (planting, pruning, propagating, watering, cleaning pots, etc.)
    -Yard Help (weed eating/spraying, mowing the lawn, insect/pest control)
    -Ranch Maintenance (mostly handy-man type work like fixing things around the ranch or putting together equipment)
    -Organizing Materials (organizing tools, supplies, labeling, etc.)
    -Construction (building sheds, greenhouses, outhouses, etc.)
    -Caretaker (My Mom is in her 70's and is a breast cancer survivor who has early onset Alzheimer's. She is self-sufficient but forgetful. She loves to play card games, go to the diner for breakfast, play bingo on Wednesdays and Thursdays and smoke/share her weed, lol.)

    I will most likely assign tasks based on your skills and preferences; however, you must be flexible and willing to work any of these tasks if needed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am interested in learning more Spanish

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    If you need accommodations I have converted my 1,200 sf garage into a dorm for workawayers. This includes:

    2 Queen Sized Beds with Curtains for Privacy, Storage for Clothes & a Night Stand
    Living Room w/ a 50" TV
    Wood-Burning Stove for the Winter
    Air Conditioning for the Summer
    2 Computer Desks
    Small Kitchenette w/ Hot Plates, Fridge, Sink, & Cooking/Dining Materials

    You will be sharing this space with another workawayer (2 if they are a couple). The garage doors can sometimes be noisy if it is windy out so please keep this in mind. I have also provided ear plugs to use when sleeping. This space is to be kept clean at all times since it is a communal environment. This means washing, drying and putting away your dishes after you eat, wiping down tables and countertops, vacuuming when necessary, and putting your things away.

    If you have your own accommodations like an RV, camper, van, or bus, I have an RV hook-up with septic, water, and electricity. If you plan on setting up a tent, we have plenty of outdoor space for you to choose a location. Keep in mind the desert gets extremely windy. You will have access to a shared bathroom as well as the kitchen and other common areas. For workawayers with their own accommodations, I don't require as many work hours (10-12 hours per week vs 20 hours) and I do not provide food, however you're welcome to grab fresh eggs from the chicken coop and help yourself to shared meals that I prepare.

    There is also plenty of outdoor space with firepits, hammocks, and lounge chairs. I have a small outdoor workout area with CrossFit equipment and a small indoor area with workout equipment.

    We have Tesla's Starlink for internet which is fast and reliable.

    Please make sure you have funds for food. I will provide organic ingredients such as fruits, vegetables, fresh water, canned items, rice, cereals, snacks, spices, and oils, etc. You're also more than welcome to grab fresh eggs from the chicken coop.

    Please note that laundry must be done off the premises. We can schedule a trip to the laundromat where you can wash and dry your clothes.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are lots of really good restaurants in my area. I'm 5-10 minutes away from Super Target, "The Gym", Walmart, Starbucks, CVS, local eateries, and a health food store. There's a Farmer's Market every Wednesday and Sunday 5 minutes away from the ranch. And a Sprouts Farmers Market 20 minutes away.

    I am centrally located between Los Angeles and Las Vegas (about 2.5-hour drive to both). I'm an hour away from Joshua Tree National Park and Big Bear Lake in the mountains, 1.5 hours from Palm Springs, and 2.5 hours from San Diego. I have an event calendar at the ranch and we usually take group trips/hikes about 2x a month. Let me know what you're interested in exploring during your stay!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Digital nomads are welcome! We have Starlink internet and it's fast and reliable. There's plenty of indoor and outdoor space where you can set up your laptop and work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I have 1 spot for an RV hook-up. There is septic, water and electricity available.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 hours a day, 4 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 324591269151

Comentário (6)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Find your heart in San Francisco or Lake Tahoe, USA
Come and enjoy quality time on a small island in Maine, USA