Our organic vegetable garden in Tipperary is seeking help to prepare for new project- Munster, Ireland

  • Irlanda
  • Favorito 117 vezes
  • Última atividade: 31 jul. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas



  • Descrição


    Update : Help wanted mid-January to March 2018

    Our organic vegetable garden has an exciting new project that we need your help with.

    We are a family home with an organic vegetable garden, we grow produce for ourselves and sell any excess at our roadside honesty stall. This year we hope to become a “social farm”, this means we will be part of a project that places adults with learning disabilities in a horticultural environment as part of their training.

    Due to a very mild winter and other work commitments this summer the garden has become completely overgrown and urgently needs serious maintenance. We have a poly tunnel, 4 raised vegetable beds, a small orchard, poultry run, stream and woodland. Nettles and weeds have taken over most of the garden and in some places are over 2m tall. We need help with hand weeding and digging to prepare the garden for the coming growing season. Some of the raised beds and fences need repairing and paths and hard surfaces need to be made safe. As the weather improves it would also be wonderful to build a bridge over the stream and to build a small play area.

    We can accommodate up to five volunteers together so may be suitable for you if you’re a looking to travel as a group. We have enjoyed hosting previous volunteers and welcome you if you are happy to work with us. But be warned this is mainly outdoor work and Ireland is wet and cold. General garden work needs to be done all year round but we also welcome anyone with specific woodwork/construction/DIY skills. Over the years we have had volunteers that have worked with us on specific projects with us such as creating raised beds and building a hen house..

    We are a family of 6 living in two separate dwellings in the garden. Tracy, Oliver and adult son Oisín live in the main house where you will stay. Daughter Áine, Geróid and baby Oscar live in a separate building in the garden. It is important that you like animals if you stay with us, we have a female husky who lives indoors and 5 outdoor cats that sneak in every day so not suitable for anyone with animal allergies. We also have egg laying ducks and hens in the garden.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Cuidar de animais
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have a large comfortable house and enjoy having people of all nationalities stay. Oliver is originally French and we have Japanese and Czech in our family so enjoy multicultural exchanges. Tracy works in adult education and can help you with your written English and grammar if you wish (though we are not a language school). Tipperary may not be obviously on the tourist list of things to see in Ireland but it is very "Irish" and very beautiful. You will see typical Irish towns and villages and small lakeside harbours, The people are genuine and friendly. We are also very central and only a bus journey to the more popular tourist attractions. We are a happy outgoing family and even if you never leave our house your language skills will greatly improve and you will experience and warm family environment.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Everyday jobs:
    Clearing paths
    Feeding animals
    Fence maintenance
    Clearing pathways
    Sowing seeds
    Clearing stream banks
    Grass cutting
    Pruning trees
    Clearing undergrowth

    Special jobs, if you have the skills:
    A bridge over the stream
    A play area
    A dog run
    A new poultry run
    Cob pizza oven

    We don't need you to do housekeeping but ask that you help us clear up after meals and keep your own room and bathroom clean. Ideally you will be able to use a spade, rake, lawnmower, saw, screwdriver, nails, hammer, paint brush etc on your own. You will need some physical strength to be able to lift things, at a small 150cm tall I won't be much help with this. It suits us best to have someone stay for about three to four weeks as this way we can start and finish specific jobs.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    We have a comfortable family home in a large enclosed garden with safe parking. We have two rooms available for guests and volunteers and they share a bathroom. The blue room has a double bed and a single bed and is carpeted, the red room has three single beds and a wooden floor. Both are at the front of the house overlooking the garden. The shared bathroom has two sinks, a bath and separate shower cubicle. We also often have other volunteers stay and nieces and nephews over the summer. Due to some building work in the garden we cannot accommodate families but will look at this again.

    Breakfast is help yourself, lunch normally soup and sandwiches and salad or whatever we have growing and dinner is together at large table either inside or in garden. We are meat eaters but can accommodate vegetarian and vegan diets.We have two TV rooms to chill out in. We are sociable and very easy going. Our dog is a female husky and she lives indoors, she is very friendly and loves having people to stay but I warn you her hair floats everywhere. The ground floor of the house is tiled.
    Oliver and Oisín are self employed and work from home and away different hours each day. Tracy works part-time and will be the main person you will be working with. She prepares most of the meals but if she is working you will be looking after yourself.

    We are in a rural location and transport is required to get to town to access cinemas, swimming pools, pubs, restaurants, cafes and even bus and train. We are very happy to collect you from the bus on arrival/departure and days off but we are not in a position to do drives to town very day after work hours. If travel is very important to you then you will need your own transport. We do have two bikes that can be borrowed.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Nenagh is a provincial town in the mid west of Ireland with national bus and train links to all major towns and cities. It is 30 mins from Limerick City, 60 mins from Galway city, 90 minutes from Cork city and 2 hours from Dublin. We are in a rural location 7km from the town between two villages, each village has a shop and a pub and is 2km away. We are in the perfect location for lake and river fishing, 500m from the river and 4km from the lake. We are also on the Lough Derg cycle route. We live on a small laneway 2km long.

    The lake area is very beautiful with many walkways, trails and picnic locations, plenty for you to do. However if you want to travel further afield then having your own transport would be very beneficial. Days out could include Portumna Forest Park, kayaking lessons in Killaloe, Bunratty Castle, fishing on Lough Derg, King Johns castle in Limerick. After working each Saturday we chill out for the weekend with a barbeque in the garden. We may have other volunteers staying or family members over the summer months so more people for you to interact with.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    About 25 hours a week, days to suit us both and agreed when you arrive.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 939911243451

Comentário (3)