1 / 9

Beginnings of a homestead in the Kootenays, Canada

  • Favorito 64 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29 mai. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We have 16.3 acres, mostly forested, partial wetlands, with a creek on the property. There is a soothing, cool wildness to the land. I'm creating a space where people can connect with other humans, and nature. A space to learn, heal, and love. We will start as a small homestead, and ideally develop into a small community!

    I spent many years volunteering with various communities around the globe! After spending years searching for a place to set some roots, I've rooted here, in the West Kootenays. This area is wild and powerful.

    I have experience with permaculture, building, plant medicines, and many things in between! I'm happy to chat about these things and share knowledge.

    While there are plenty of tasks to be done, I like to practice bringing awareness to how things are being done. I'd like to empower others by provided tasks that teach skills they are interested in developing.

    There are caves/mines around the property-- it was a mining site many decades ago. Town is 10 minutes away, wifi/cafe 3minutes away(by car). There is cell service and wifi.

    Slocan lake is minutes away. We have a canoe, too.
    Great hiking/biking all around.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Travelers will learn about the early stages of homesteading.
    Preparing spaces and developing systems for humans living in harmony with nature.

    Ideally, the lifestyle and the tasks themselves will be learning experiences. They are for me, I'm only mildly experienced in most of the tasks going on.

    I like to go to farmers markets, and this is a good opportunity to learn about the local culture. (It's an awesome community here!)
    I'm happy to teach what I know about alchemy, plant medicines and connecting with nature.

    I am connected with a couple communities in the area and there could be events that volunteers will be able to attend.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    These are the projects/general tasks for 2024:

    Spring:
    -Growing mushrooms(logs, buckets, and bags)
    -Helping mill/process wood
    -Helping with construction projects
    -Tending the greenhouses, seedlings, garden(all year)
    -Building a chicken tractor
    -General building/mechanic work/small projects

    Summer:
    -Helping to build large hedgerows for the food forest fence
    -Tending the gardens/chickens
    -Building a small house extension
    -Building soil. Hugelculture beds, biochar creation and inoculation, cover cropping. bed formation(Spring, too)
    -General landscaping
    -Helping to mill
    -Helping to gather and process firewood.

    Fall:
    -Helping with construction of an aquaponics system.
    -Digging/building an indoor pond.

    Mechanic, building, plumbing, electric skills are an asset, but not needed. For people that have no/low skills in any applicable area, a keen interest in learning and work ethic are needed!

    If I can find lots of help the plan is to get a young puppy in the fall! :)

    Volunteers will have to be in generally good physical condition, able to spend 20-25 hours per week(3-5 days, if requested), often engaging in moderately challenging physical duties. I can be flexible with when hours are done, or it can be structured. Depends on what works best for the person and/or group.

    Accommodation is tenting/glamping! The tents are nice, some are raised, or under giant redwoods. There are sources of heat, mattresses, and beefy sleeping bags for comfort. There is an RV with a woodstove, and a bell tent with a stove. It's comfortable, however, it is still camping! Its not an apartment complex with several wifi connections spread everywhere, electric heat, ect! These are the beginnings of a homestead in the middle of a lush forest-- please take note that it is rustic living. There is a full kitchen in the yurt which is used during the day to prepare/eat meals.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Living quarters:

    There is an area to park a tiny home/van/RV, available in April. It is less than 200ft from glacier water(excellent water) and less than 200ft from the power shed.

    There is a bell tent and an trailer for volunteers. Either can shelter two people, single peoples will be in the bell tent, as its slightly smaller. They are both near the creek. Sleeping gear can be provided to backpackers, if needed. We have extra blankets, sleeping bags, etc.

    There is a secondary, smaller tent for use during the summer. It is a 4-person tent, although It's probably better suited to one person or a couple. It has an air mattress and a small electric heater. This tent is usually set up near to the cabin, and there is wifi access at this tent.

    Workawayers are also welcome to bring their own tents/setups.

    Food stuff:

    I can provide cooked meals in the mornings each morning. My cooking is quite simple, and fortunately for the volunteers, I prefer to use mostly organic materials. If you appreciate high quality food, this will work out well for everyone!

    Lunch/dinner we will figure out a schedule where everyone gets to contribute to the process of making/eating food.
    This is generally structured and is a conversation to be had on the first day. Volunteers will have access to the kitchen in the cabin, and provided with food. Kitchen access is available during the day, but not in the middle of the night!(Someone, usually me, lives in the yurt!)

    It's mostly a vegetarian, mostly organic diet. There is occasional dairy and meat. For people who like to eat multiple servings of dairy and meat each day, this is okay. We recommend they supplement/prepare what they wish to their hearts desire.

    Volunteers are encouraged to cook and clean, although they can put hours towards other tasks if they really don't like to cook or clean. Cooking, cleaning, and duties performed in any living environment we generally don't count towards hours for the exchange. We believe that eating food, cleaning dishes, taking poops, cleaning messes/spills and such is a normal part of living in any setting.. and is not part of an energy exchange.

    Curries, veggies/grains with sauces. Big garden fresh salads. Occasional eggs/tofu. We like yummy oats on working days. There will be ample staple foods(vegetables, greens, quinoa, rice, beans, oats, peanut butter, bananas, eggs, tea etc) provided. Treats may be possible, but are not to be expected! Volunteers are welcome to use the kitchen if they would like to bake, make bread, or play around with recipes. We minimize cooking meat inside of the yurt/cabin during times of high bear-activity (typically late spring, and late fall).

    If there is a group of 5+, cooking meals and cleaning after meals is considered a work activity.

    Other stuff:

    We like to go to the hot springs a couple times a month in the spring and fall. I can provide a lift to these locations. This is a good place to bathe, and shower. There is also a nature shower set up in the creek.

    Farmers markets and such are frequented, too. We like to mingle with neighbors and be friendly with the community.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a bus that comes by and goes to nearby cities on Tuesday and Thursday.
    I make a trip into town each week and can usually bring people along.
    There are lakes, hikes, biking trails, springs, hot springs, and more around to do.

    I like to keep things clean around the property and ask that people leave the space as good or better than when they arrived.

    I've found most people that have come here use drugs/alcohol to escape problems, rather than for occasional enjoyment purposes or raising awareness. So, in most groups the policy is;
    No alcohol use on the land.
    No drug use on the land.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Sure.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Yes, there is a space where vans/RVs can park. If the RV/Van is self-sufficient(supplies its own power and food needs), we ask for 15 hours per week! Yes, there is sun at the site.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Yes, I love pets.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 937324982291

Comentário (1)

Comentário


Help with carpentry, painting and gardening at our music-filled home in Gaspé, Canada
Join a welcoming family close to Montréal, Canada