Help with our small organic farm, finish ecobuilding project, and learn about permaculture in Daugavpils, Latvia

Country

Letónia

Favorito 133 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    07/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 9 dias

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello, Workawayer!
    We are a big family - 2 parents and 5 children from 8 to 20 years old - from Latgale, living in our small organic farm (10 ha) that was previously owned by our ancestors. We keep animals - cow, chicken, ducks - and grow a garden with vegetables, potatoes, apples, herbs, berry bushes and many more to provide ourselves with meals.
    We rely heavily on ourselves to provide daily necessities therefore it is not always easy. Sometimes we are a few hands short in our chores and are happy to accept your help.
    We have been living in this location for 20 years, but it seems like there's never too little to do. Whether it's building a greenhouse, preparing hay for winter, collecting berries and making jam, planting trees or general maintenance work all around, we always strive to do do the best we can with the resources we have.

    We have an organic small farm (10 ha) with cow, ducks, chickens. There's beautiful lakes all around for swimming, fishing and watching sunrise.

    Usually, We are working with animals and garden, firewood and building and and need help to do all of this.

    We welcome anyone who wishes to come and stay, help and learn about Permaculture.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Permaculture, self-sufficiency, Latvian traditional songs, herbal teas if interested in the topic.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Now we have to finish rocket-stove heating system and our new sauna house. Lot's of building/insulation work with clay!

    Getting through everyday life requires a lot of work - maintaining the garden, planting and weeding, taking care of animals (milking the cow, feeding, collecting eggs from chicken, occasionally cleaning animal barns). Milk has to be processed every day - churning butter, separating cream, cooking cottage cheese and cheese. These chores, although not as hard, require attention, care and time. There are also physically heavier projects that are usually done by men - firewood preparation, digging, helping with construction.

    In the morning after breakfast we loosely discuss the plan of the day, usually we split into smaller "teams" and work on our duties. Cooking and preparing family meals are also a huge part of our routine as well as household chores. Even though physically taxing at times, life here is full of adventure and fun!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluente
    Russo: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We would lieke some practice in German and Japanese

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    If you like a nature life, this is for you. There is a beautiful cottage - strawbale house for volunteers that will be your own personal space. We prefer to do things together as a family, so we all gather around the table for meals at once. We eat a lot of meat and diary products as well as home-grown seasonal vegetables, fruit and herbs. Sometimes we bake our own bread. We can provide vegetarian meals (including our own milk/eggs) as well, but there could be problems with vegan food, especially in winter. So if You are vegan, You should provide specific products for yourself.

    We can also provide WIFI Internet . There is no hot shower, but You can organize simple washing every day. In summers we go swimming every day. 1-2 times per week we make smoke sauna. We provide things for bed, washing.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Here you can experience a simple, basic rural life. Food is prepared on a fire-stove, sometimes we make fire in the evenings and sit around it. If you want to feel what living in the countryside is really like, with all it's hardships, struggles but full of heartfelt emotions and true humanity, while being connected with nature, you are welcome to live with us!

    Latgale is a beautiful region, even the smallest local roads are full of sights to see. We feel very connected to our land and tradition, so we can teach you about Latgalian culture, history and music, and take you along to local events and festivals if there are any at the time. We can also teach you traditional instruments like kokle and flute.

    You can come by buss stright to our village. The closest big Town is Daugavpils. You can come to Daugavpils either form Riga or Vilnius (Lithuania) airport.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Internet speed is good, but the work space will be tiny.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lot's of place around to park a vehicle.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We have a cow, dogs, chicken, ducks with ducklings, cats. Your animals are welcome if they can live not harming ours :)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5days a week




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 133514721458