Bubbly and lively family in the small town Wolpertshausen in South Germany looking for some help

  • Favorito 533 vezes
  • Última atividade: 24 mar. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    We are a lively, chaotic, rather loud, but nice family.
    That is my husband Helmut, me, Susanne, our kids Luisa (20), Manuel (17) and Raphael (13) and my Mom (81).
    Our elderst Daughter Emelie (23) has moved out meanwhile, but she's popping in every now and then.

    Then there are our animals: our Dogs Daisy and Charly, 3 cats ( 7 years old) and our rooster, Henry 1st, with his entourage of 2? chickens and some quails
    Furthermore there are Jacques and Claude, two french miniature goats (male) taking care of the lawn and everything else they can reach.
    We live in the small town Wolpertshausen in South Germany.
    We live in an old big farm house, actually it's two houses and a huge barn.
    We moved here 2015 and we love it,
    Still there is a lot to do, but step by step, we're getting further.
    As you see above, we love animals.

    The houses are restored in loam and timber fraimed. We only heat with basic furnace.
    The houses are surrounded by a nice big garden, some fruittrees, walnut, haselnuts, a lot of native "jungle", which we couldn't get managed so far, its just growing and growing.

    We love to sing and make music, we have a piano, flutes, cajons, guitars, we're not able to play all of it, but the instuments are here, ready to be used ;-) We have our own band and play concerts in our region.

    My husband works as a captain on a boat on the Rhine River, that makes him travel a lot.

    We've been offering workaway for a many years now and most of it was great fun. We really appreciate all the things that have been done, since we've started this. We've met so many extraordinary people. The kids have picked up a lot of english and all in all it is really a win/win-idea.

    We eat meat, mostly organic, but we've reduced it to a minimum. So we prepare meatless very often.
    We usually cook a warm meal once a day, normally at lunchtime, after the kids come home from school. Breakfast and Dinner are kept simple but good.
    We dont provide snacks, alcoholic drinks or softdrinks, visitors would have to buy that stuff themselfes!
    There were a few missunderstandings, that is why we mention it.
    We are not a hostel, our kitchen and pantry are not a selfservice place and we follow common rules of respect, good manners and hopitality.
    We are opening up as a family for total strangers, so we don't have to adapt to your habits, we would rather expect the other way round.
    BUT as life showed, there is always a new moment of unbeleavable behaviour coming around.
    What leaves us kind of insulted every time. We are not here to educate people.

    Also we're not exited to meet some extraordinary, special free spirit - who beleaves only his presents, will keep us satisfied and happy until the end of our lifes.
    Nope, this is workaway, so as the name says - work for accomodation and food- 5 hours a day, with a result at the end of the day. That should be at the appropiate rate, to what we provide here.

    Eveything else, socialising, sympathie, good vibes and matching chemestry, maybe friendship and hopefully a good experience on both sides - come in addition.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We're really into communication, bringing up our children, we focus on relationship, instead of following any concept or education-model. The kids visit a Waldorfschool (Steiner School), we love what Jesper Juul said about education.

    We are interested to create an invironment of respect and dignity of every human beeing. And we are praticing daily and sometimes we're really doing good;-))

    So if you are interested in personal development, awareness and humanity, we'd love to meet you.
    We could teach you different ways to meditate, just ask if that is of any interest for you. And of course practise language both ways, but we're not a language-school. All easy and chilled.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We're planing the following projects:

    No 1:
    The space in between the two houses needs a couple of hands to make that area nice and useful.
    We want to create an outdoor kitchen there.

    No 2:
    Waterprotection arround the house, means to clear off soil and dirt, bring in grit, concrete and flagstones

    No 3:
    We want to build two walls with natural stones. One as an Outdoorshower, the other one as a sight and windprotection.

    No 4:
    Clearing the barn, shifting, sorting out, organizing, there is much stuff, any thing just everywhere.
    So a person, who loves to organize would be a bliss ;-) BUT it is a huge mess, only for strong characters ;-)

    No 5: The front sight of our barn needs a facelift - desperatly, sanding the beams of the timberframes and fixing, plastering and painting the stoneparts in between .
    Thats the jobs need to be done.

    No 6: Some windows need sanding an painting they are really weathered

    No 7: Some little jobs on walls, stuffing holes, repairing the render

    The projects mentioned above, are all options. We ususally find out together, which job matches with your skills, interests, the weather and my mood. Sometimes there is no choice . But basically I count on motivation and that makes normally a difference on results.
    You don't have to do that stuff all by yourself, but you can, if you're ambitioned or keen on doing so!
    Means, we'll always be arround, help, support.
    But we also appreciate people who are creative, think themselves and like challenges or love to do things from beginning to the end.
    If my husband is at home, it might happen, that other jobs need to be done, so the above is just optional, also are we flexible with all jobs. If you see something of your interest, have certain skills in sth., dont hesitate to speak up.
    We cannot look inside peoples heads, nor can we say by the shape of someones hands, what is of ones interest, what skills does somebody have, please talk to us.

    PLEASE do only apply, if you really want to live with a very bubbly family and not just looking for cheap accomodation.
    Also if you have problems with the fact that a woman tells you what to do, you better stay away, workaway is Susannes business ;-)

    If you work slow, that is really fine with us, but your help is relief and support for us. So it's not just some activity, to keep anyone busy. It has to be fair compensation.
    So, if there is more than one person staying with us, lets say two - the 5 hours a day add up, not half itself.
    Means I will expect more work to be done, than with one working guest.

    It is kind of difficult to appreciate service, we never asked for.
    So if the thing that you are really good at is computers, but we don't need that, I would expect, that you are willing to do, what is needed. Instead of insisting that this is your skill, and we have to take the offer. That is a waste of time and none of what makes workaway worthwile.

    It might appear tight, straight and strange to you, what is explained above - after another weird moment in workaway terms; we try hard to avoid stressful situations in advance, therefore all these words above. Thank you for your understanding!


    We're always open for last minute visitors in periods we are available, of course
    - if you are a spontaneous person, just ask, no matter if you bring skills for the project.
    - we have always little stuff to do, like sweeping, gardening, weeding, animal care, little maintainance
    - also possible for shorter visits
    - if you like being engaged with children and willing to visit a public pool five times a week, e.g. ;-)),
    than we can do the projects and you go swimming with the kids, that also supports us.

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    you will stay in your own space with seperate bathroom and maybe share the room with another workawayer. There's Wifi and free internet. We have no television .
    About the Off-days, usually we don't work on Sundays, so that is always a day off.
    The second day is mostly off during the week, so that you get the chance to go shopping or visit towns, when shops are open. Not necessarely on Monday though, depending how we get on with the projects.

    Saturdays we always work!
    (I dont accept any fancy diet, that changes with the mood, the moon or on daily bases.)
    If you have any allegies, I can deal with that, but I don't cook on demand!

    Not because I have any problems with any religion, personal needs, trend, lifestyle or ideas.
    I just want to have the choice, if I will have to cook seperate meals.
    We are a family not a hotel. Therefore it should be my decision, before someone arrives and not an extra job I 'll have to do, once someone is already here.

    For me workaway is meeting interesting people, cultural exchange, but mostly relief and support.
    Not additional things to do or extra cost for double cooking. Sorry, for being so straight, but we had a few weird experiences and just want to avoid misunderstandings, disappointment or wrong expectations.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The region where we live, is located between Nürnberg and Heidelberg ( both approx. 100 km away), its rather countryside and therefore very quiet. No nightlife, no pubs, no party!! So if you're into that, dont come!
    The next town is Schwäbisch Hall (14km) , with is a very nice town with a historical old towncenter and a beautiful park. There are a lot of cultural things to do, such as museums and theaters. Also there is a nice Public Pool (indoors and outdoors) with a big spa.
    The next shop is 3 km away.
    Next Busstop 2,5 km.
    Next Trainstation 10 km.
    Next Airport 110 km

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, the days off are not always in a row not necessarily on weekends!

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 935449651629

Comentário (32)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Join the crew for a 5-month long fulltime "orientation seminar" for young people 18-28 of age near Berlin, Germany
Spend time with our cats in Zwickau, Germany