Help in our home and garden in Angles Sur L'Anglin, France

Country

França

atualizado  

Favorito 546 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    16/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    August 2022 UPDATE :
    1.Coronavirus vaccinations are now not required by French government so we must live with the risk.
    2. Please explain how you could contribute to benefit your self and the host.
    3. August heatwaves since May create variable, flexible work hours.

    Immediate vacancy from now to end of August NOT for most of the list below.

    Mostly work will be getting garden and house tidy , doing repairs/ repaints of small items and general help in house and on computer / techware and sorting more unwanted items in the attic.

    Looking for 1 or 2 motivating guests, independent, energetic, enthusiastic, who understand the concept and beliefs for Workaway host and guest to benefit each other. Volunteers are those extra pair of hands for everyday tasks which have been neglected due to various factors including there have been no helpers for quite a while with the virus situation. Daily tasks are sometimes part of work hours and sometimes additional.

    Willing to participate in group FRENCH language study for an hour max per day, which would be extra to a 25 hour week because it benefits us both.

    In this ground floor L shaped former 18th Century village farm house, privacy is difficult. Personal space is important to keep so as to avoid unwanted negative stress. It's good to check in about how our experience is unfolding. It's LIFE and how we learn to be our better selves.
    I try to be 'a good host' but anyone unwilling to communicate is not my style. Mismatch of interpersonal issues requires an attempt to resolve differences to create a pleasant atmosphere so we all need to be considerate of the efforts that hose and guest need to make to expressing their needs and appreciation of effort. We also have to be mindful of the task we are doing to achieve the best we can. Smartphones can survive without us!!!!!
    I am not in 'loco parentis' & have no wish to host someone without basic language skills, who arrives without cash (there are no ATM machines for about 10km), who says well 'travelled' but who will not venture out alone! An extreme example experienced!

    PLEASE for AUGUST 2022 disregard this list: but read anyway.

    You are welcome if you
    a1) can use power tools ( chainsaws, sanders, drills etc) and manually prepare and paint exterior wooden shutters
    and exterior woodwork as in photos.
    a2) are a carpenter ( skilled and who has time) to repair base of shutters who could be paid extra for their work.
    b) who like decluttering
    c) can organise WRITING - poetry / memoire so that digital and hard copies are in same order.
    d) can weed and mow a simple large garden and courtyard.
    e) can pump tyres to use bicycles.

    You are welcome if you
    i) know how to convert blog postings to MS WORD or other format or book format or find a business to do so
    ii) know how to sort / organise large unwieldy iphoto storage. I once bought a system to do so!
    iii) can develop planning strategies for how to get things done.. ... have lost the skill..
    iv) can advise how to declutter old hardware / software

    ESSENTIAL to know :
    Minimum one week / maximum one month.
    Communicate by whats app before total agreement.
    - you will have a private room onto a shared courtyard but shared bathroom.
    - this rural sleepy tourist village is busy in Spring / Summer when Parisian families and Internationals arrive.
    - It's a quiet retreat! No razzamatazz!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Companhia para idosos
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    France profunde. Retreat. Solitude. Tranquility. Creativity. Nature.
    Use your time to pursue interests, share recipes, cook.
    Roc aux Sorciers - site d' Anthropologie Magdalénien
    Seasonal Tourist Events / Activities when the village is flooded with tourists.

    ME:

    Wishing to meet people, enquire about their lives, intentions, travel.
    Wish to live life, regain sense of purpose after Coronavirus isolation.
    I play Piano accordion: classic Italian & French musette, sing Balkan Songs in a French Singing Group.
    Love Solitude but need company.
    Learning to accept that my shortened Life is for Living so am reframing a past life.
    Like Writing.
    Willing to learn.
    Like Scrabble and willing to learn chess.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    See above.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    English / French. Interest to learn basics of other languages.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    VILLAGE:
    'Un des plus beaux villages de France' with a magnificent ruined fortress.
    It is a site for Magdalénien history ( later culture of Upper Paleolithic and Mesolithic history in western Europe.)

    ACCOMMODATION:
    Two steps from centre of village is a renovated ground floor 1850s French fermette. See photos.
    Single bedroom with exterior toilet.
    Twin bedroom if a couple.
    Interior shared bathroom / shower.

    NOURISHMENT:
    Healthy meals: meat fish vegetarian vegan gluten free etc: Say what you do NOT eat!
    Contribution to wine is welcomed if you are a habitual drinker.
    We try to have alcohol free days!
    Willing to learn new styles of cooking.

    OTHER:
    1. Please follow house rules.
    2. Bicycles available. see above.
    3. Unsuitable for smokers, alcoholics, animals, children.
    5. Spring & Summer - Courtyard facing north west.
    Rear garden - watch sun rise / sunset / bats, swallows, hear cuckoos & nightingales.
    Autumn & Winter - If you need central heating then this is not your place.
    Hot water bottles, electric radiators, blankets, shawls are available.
    6. Woodburners are managed by HOST for Health & Safety. You might be asked to stack logs, chop kindling, bring logs in.
    7. No television.
    8. Walking, cycling circuits in NATURE surround the village.
    9. Canoë rental available spring, summer, autumn.
    10. Wild swimming

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    TRAVEL:
    Collection from Poitiers / Tours airports BUT preferably Chatellerault train station as it takes an hour or more in each direction!
    NOTE that a Taxi from Chatellerault will cost 80 to 100 euros in one direction as there is no other transport.
    HOURS:
    Please help apx 5 hours for each of 5 days amounting to apx 25 hours per week or about 6 hours over 4 days.
    We NEGOTIATE rest days. Travel day is a rest day if you are here 7 days.
    The host needs a rest.

    VILLAGE & beautiful COUNTRYSIDE:
    Angles sur L'Anglin is a Garden of Paradise, Artists Dream, famous for Magdalennian rock shelter carvings, 'Les Jours' embroidery and a ruined 12th century Chateau. Every day is different, yet stone walled houses have stood for aeons and pathways take you to hidden natural treasures. It is unsuitable for those who like city razzamatazz.

    You can walk, cycle, swim, canoe, kayak, fish.

    In Summer it expands from fewer than 400 full time residents with Parisian and second home owners. There are restaurants, restos, bars, a wonderful English tea shop serving meals, a bakery, a multi-services bar and shop with Wifi, small library and market vans. Oysters are sold in appropriate months. Check availability in winter as restaurants close without tourists! It has a part time Tourist Office. No cinema. Supermarkets within 10km. Spa town 12km. One to two hours drive to River Loire Chateaux. On the border of Brenne National Park, a haven for flora and fauna.
    No Street lights after 23h / 24h

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    YES.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Parking for campervans in the village. For small vans there is private land without electricity / water / sewage.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Possibly...

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 25 hours per week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 928356668642