Stay in a historic cabin one hour from Oslo, in Enebakk, Norway

  • Favorito 343 vezes
  • Última atividade: 24 mai. 2024



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas



  • Descrição


    Hi there, I'm Josie. I'm 29 and currently doing a PhD in Neurology at Oslo's University Hospital. I usually spend Friday through Monday at my cabin in the Norwegian woods. I love building and carpeting and have renovated apartments (including homemade furniture) and am currently building out my second camper van. This cabin is my biggest project yet, and I would love some help with it, while also using this opportunity to meet cool, likeminded people. When I'm not working or building things, I like go a lots of long hikes with my Cocker Spaniel Marcie.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will get to know Norwegian cabin life, while only living 1 hour away from Oslo, where you can experience a lot of Norwegian culture, art, and aspects of modern Norwegian life. I am happy to teach you whatever I know about life in Norway and immigrating to Norway, and to teach you some basic Norwegian. There's also a lot of amazing hiking, skiing, fishing, canoeing/kayaking in the area.

    There's hundreds of kilometers of hiking trails in the region, several big lakes (for kayaking, swimming, fishing, ice skating), and in the winter cross country skiing opportunities. Less than 1h by bus are downhill skiing/snowboarding opportunities. There are options to go climbing (hopefully soon even within 50m of the cabin), and a bus that stops 2km away from the cabin will take you to Norways capital within 1h (the bus goes every 15-60 minutes depending on the time of day). From Oslo you have easy access to the rest of southern/western Norway.

  • Ajuda


    I'm preferably looking for people who want to stay for an entire month or longer, but there is always flexibility :)

    I'd love help with my cabin renovation project. I bought a cabin from the 40s, that needs some upkeep, and modernisation. The tasks do not require special skills.

    Some of the current tasks:

    - Sanding and staining wood panelled walls in kitchen (about 50% done).

    - Installing new windows

    - building furniture in the living room

    - Painting the downstairs bedroom

    - Installing trim around floor and ceiling in kitchen and living room

    - Taking care of Marcie who lives at the cabin most days

    - Other maintenance around house and garden, keeping things clean, contributing to daily household chores, such as sweeping, vacuuming, wash up, taking the trash to the garbage containers 700m away.

    - If you want you can help me with some of my camper related projects

    - I am currently also renovating an apartment in Oslo, that I would love some help with and which would allow you to spend some time in the city :)

    Most of these things don't require special skills, just some muscle grease, I have all the tools and materials, and am happy to explain/teach whatever needs explaining or teaching. Of course I'm always happy to learn from you, and happy to take suggestions if you would like to come up with your own project.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    You will be staying in my cabin, where I have two extra loft bedrooms with two beds each (unfortunately neither bedroom is standing height). Downstairs is the kitchen, and living room that you are free to use. I have some wifi (4G based) but I only have a limited amount og gigabytes every month, so it won't be possible to do frequent/long video chats, or frequent video streaming.

    I usually spend about 30-40% of my time at the cabin, so you'll also have some alone time. Whenever I'm there, I'm happy to provide food, and do/share the cooking. When you're alone, you'll be responsible for organising your own food (you're always welcome to grab whatever already is in the pantry).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Please note that you will be staying in a CABIN in the woods. you won't have the same amenities as you would expect in a house. At the moment we still don't have running water inside (just a hose outside), there is no shower, and now flushing toilet - we have an outhouse. You can't expect indoor temperatures exceeding 17-18°C, so make sure to bring some woollen underwear and warm sweaters. Also remember to bring clothes that you can get irreversibly dirty.

    I usually try to plan your arrival with you so I can at least pick you up from the bus stop, but in some instances that won't work with my schedule, in which case you have to walk 2km from the bus stop to the cabin the last few hundred meters to the cabin lead along a very uneven, unpaved forest path. Therefore I would recommend you use a backpack as your luggage, trolley suitcases won't work too well.

    I have to be able to trust that both you and the cabin will be safe when I leave you alone for the week, so I have to expect some basic knowledge of cooking, household tasks, fire safety, and common sense of you.

    Please add Happy 2024 to your message when introducing yourself, so I know you've read this info. Please also add specifically which dates you'd like to come (there's always a bit of flexibility if your travel plans change by a couple of days :) ) . I often get 3-10 messages every day, I try to respond to everyone in a timely manner, but it's often overwhelming so please only write if you think this place and you and I are a good match :)

    I look forward to hearing from you :)

    No help will be asked towards any business activities or guest rentals.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 925873819244

Comentário (7)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Help at our permaculture house and garden by the fjords in Ulvik, Norway
Enjoy a sustainable lifestyle close to nature in Vuku, Norway