Connemara Holistic Homestead needs help with Eco Build and Gardening in Ireland



Favorito 87 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    Come and help us build a special space from found materials and share our holistic life on our organic homestead in Connemara. We are living on the edge of Empire, growing vegetables, fruit, herbs and trees. We raise chickens for eggs and need help predominantly with building work . Our ethos is to be as sustainable as we can, leaving this land in better condition than when we took it over. We are also interested in re-wilding, hence all the tree planting. I work as a herbalist (and as a kinesiologist so we are very much focused on health and well being) growing herbs organically and wild harvesting - there is a lot to do during the summer months which is the time to be drying and processing the herbs into medicine. My husband is an artist and musician and he also loves to make things. He is currently building a round building using found materials. We like to upcycle and recycle. Some peoples' rubbish is our treasure! We have a gorgeous very friendly dog and three cats who are sociable when they feel like it. We are looking for help from mature, (min age 25), strong, (there will be a LOT of lifting and carrying!!!) enthusiastic people who share our ethos and are interested in learning skills that will profit them in the future. PREDOMINANTLY, WE NEED HELP WITH THE BUILDING WORK.
    Connemara is a very beautiful place and we are on a peninsula, surrounded by many stunning beaches, one of which is popular with surfers. The Twelve Bens are close by for walking and hiking and we are close to Clifden for shops and entertainment. There is music to be had during the summer and there are various arts festivals and village events. We are fortunate to have the beauty and pleasures of both sea side and countryside right on our doorstep and we are close enough to Inisbofin island and not too far from the port for the Aran islands.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Cuidar de animais
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I speak a little French and English and I have the odd word in Irish. I was a historian and am always keen to teach Irish history, folklore and magic. I love social history and am still finding out about how my ancestors lived as we try to emulate with our life style We both love music - all kinds, and my husband has a radio show which other volunteers have guested on. Live music is played in Clifden all throughout the summer. The Connemara Pony is very important to people here and there are many pony shows all around Connemara. We are not too far from the Gaelteacht - the Irish speaking area of Connemara - which has boat races during the summer. We enjoy our environment and would be happy to share this through walks in the mountains or at the shore. I can share my knowledge of local wild flowers and plants and their medical and magical properties. There are many communities in Connemara with festivals that we like to attend and they tend to focus on the natural environment, music and food. We grow our own vegetables and love to provide traditional Irish meals for our guests. We burn turf on our traditional range and we can bring our workawayer to the bog to see how turf is cut traditionally and footed. They will then have a chance to help stack the turf at home. There are many wonderful outdoor activities such as surfing and kayaking, hill walking and beachcombing. Many areas of Connemara are Areas of Special interest or Conservation revealing unique species. It is also possible to see archaeological artefacts in the landscape.

  • Ajuda


    For the building, which is the PRIORITY it would be great to meet someone STRONG with an interest in natural building, enthusiasm for this type of project and muscles!! Perhaps someone who has done something similar already, although enthusiasm, interest and the ability to self motivate will be just as welcome too. Work in the garden with me will be secondary to the build but will consist mainly of weeding, moving rocks, making new vegetable beds, harvesting, strimming and some painting. General maintenance really. Again, we are not looking for horticultural or building experts but we do want ENTHUSIASM, SELF MOTIVATION and an interest in plants and herbs. We most definitely do not want any time wasters. We do not want to tire ourselves out calling you to work each morning and repeating ourselves about what time we start work, Please, only come if you genuinely want to help us with our work and enjoy time in our beautiful area. If you show enthusiasm and self motivation we will be impressed and delighted and very grateful and we will do all we can to ensure that you get to see Connemara, enjoy the music, the beaches and the stunning countryside.

  • Idiomas

    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    WE are supplying a large tent on the land which will offer living and sleeping accommodation. We have a comfortable mattress and we have pillows and sleeping bags. There is an earth or compost toilet outside and access to water for washing. The shower is in the house and we can provide you with towels. Your laundry will be done once a week. We enjoy our privacy so we will take our breakfast alone and will provide all you need for your breakfast depending on what you like but it will include muesli, eggs, yoghurt, bread and cheese and jam. We prefer a vegetarian diet. We also like to be sociable and want to get to know people so we will share lunch and dinner and take turns preparing the meals, which we will all eat together in the house or in the garden depending on weather. We are looking forward to sharing Irish recipes and getting to try foods and recipes that you suggest. The weather can be capricious so bring sturdy boots and/or wellies, outdoor/rain gear and a warm sweater or two - just in case!! (Ha Ha!) The nearest village is about one mile away, Clifden is about six miles away. There is a bus at some times but not sure when but can find out.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We do like meeting new people and sharing ideas and experiences but we would like people to be mindful that they are not only coming to our home but to our lives and livelihood so ONLY COME if you are genuinely interested and enthusiastic. We would like to be able to respect you for your independent working and to know that you can take responsibility for your work. I only want to spell this out as we have been disappointed in some volunteers from another site who seemed to think that "playing" at this life style would be a fun way of getting around on a cheap holiday. We are serious about what we do but we also like to have fun doing it and we can all have fun if everyone pulls their weight. We really do need help and you will find that we are very appreciative of all help. We are excited to think that we are going to meet people who are going to help us achieve something we have been planning for a long time.
    We are now non smokers so we would prefer NON SMOKERS.
    We live close to members of the family and our friends are near by. There will be people coming and going, visiting and helping so you will get to meet other people who live around here. We have just had our first grandchild and so my daughter and her partner may be visiting with him. Sometimes the dog will need walking - another opportunity to see our beautiful area.
    We love our food and it is always a treat to get something from the garden for lunch or dinner. It would be lovely for us if the workawayers were sociable and pleasant.
    We try to limit our use of the car but depending on what is happening at any given moment, we could be going somewhere and you would be welcome to come too or we might be able to drop you off somewhere but please be aware that this is a very busy time of year for us and we will not be offering a taxi service. What I want people to understand is that we are happy to offer a very warm welcome and we will be very appreciative of help and we hope that we will all have an enjoyable experience but we do not want to be messed about or have to keep nagging and repeating ourselves hence the request for more mature workawayers with a bit of sense, independence, self responsibility, enthusiasm and a good work ethic. We will start work at 10a/m each morning - unless we have to change this (to a later time perhaps) and it would be great if our workawayers could be ready for 10 and not have to be called. We are easy to get along with and will do all we can to ensure that our workaway people have a lovely time with us and enjoy our area but ask you to please read our profile carefully and be sure that we are the hosts for you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 911182484135