Help produce food for the local community in Washington State, USA

  • Favorito 114 vezes
  • Última atividade: 23 mar. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our mission is to help our neighbors produce food locally and feed as many people as well as possible. We have 105 acres with a house and a barn. Our special interests are forest maintenance, gardening, sheep, goats and cheesemaking. We use composting toilets and livestock to enrich our soil. We use renewable solar and micro hydro energy.

    We host family style in our house (2 bedrooms, 2 bath, shared kitchen, etc.), share meals, and work with our volunteers on a variety of farm projects. We are especially interested in those with some practical farming experience or an interest in establishing a farm of their own. Children are welcome, but no pets.

    Two week minimum stay, longer stays negotiated after we get to know each other.

    Animals are part of our soil fertility here. We eat pork, goat, lamb, beef, and chicken, plus occasional game. Vegetarians are not a good fit for us. We speak English, German and a little Spanish, and play Traditional Music.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de animais
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Depending on the season, guests will participate in raising the next generation of animals, walking the goats, sheep and donkeys for browsing in the woods, planting, harvesting and preserving garden produce, canning, milking, making goat cheese and butter, hauling hay, animal slaughter, fostering and harvesting the forest, bicycling in the Willapa Hills, and taking a day off here and there to visit the Pacific Ocean, etc.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The workload is seasonal, a steady source of variety and we try to match the tasks with the interests of our helpers. We want everyone to have a taste of what is so rewarding about subsistence farming and feeding yourself.

    Work consists of whatever needs to be done to maintain the health and happiness of the animals and the viability of the soil, plus keeping the attendant humans happy! This entails planting, weeding, harvesting, canning and drying, walking the goats in the woods to forage, milking, making cheese, maintaining trails to suppress fires, cutting and stacking firewood, cooking local foods, shearing sheep. All tasks are seasonal.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Spanish and German, and of course english

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Bedroom in the main house, shared bathroom and kitchen. Cook your own breakfast (we provide supplies), we all share lunch and dinner.

    Sandy does most of the cooking, but we welcome your additions. Kids very welcome, but no pets.

    The bedrooms are in the main house, and sport a double bed, closet, etc.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We provide a variety of bicycles. By car we are 3 hours from either Portland or Seattle. It is possible to get to Raymond by bus, and we are 10 miles from there and could come get you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have 3 /sec, and can upgrade to 5. WIFI.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We can provide electricity and composting toilets.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 874263675424

Comentário (3)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicação: (5.0)





Help with pet care in Washington, DC, USA
Help us practice Spanish while you experience the rich traditions and culture of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. USA