atualizado  

Come and enjoy quality time on a small island in Maine, USA

  • Favorito 39 vezes
  • Última atividade: 18 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Dear Workawayers,

    My name is Katy, I’m a 61 year old German-American, also an 8 time Workaway volunteer myself.

    My family and I are looking for help on a small island (about 1.5 miles long) off Maine’s largest city Portland. Our summer cottage is getting old and needs some TLC. We’d like some help around the house and garden, cleaning, organizing, dragging old wood up to the road for large-item pickup, etc. Nothing difficult.

    We can offer you your own room (most likely even a tiny en-suite cottage) and food for about 4 to 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week. You can take any two days off as agreed. I’m really flexible and if the weather does not cooperate, we’ll stay inside and take it easy.

    Back to our island. It is small. The winter population is about 50. The main mode of transportation is by foot, bike, or golf cart. We do not have any open stores, restaurants, or pubs during the winter, but a well-sorted public library. Everything, including groceries, has to be brought in from the mainland.
    We can be reached by ferry boat (about 5 times a day). Yes, there is a larger city, Portland, with all the usual city amenities, but the island itself is quiet and peaceful.

    We can cook together or I can cook for us both. Whatever you feel like.

    And: The island is always on "island time”! Some things work out someway/somehow, some don’t. That’s just the way things are around here. 😉

    I would love to hear back from you!
    Katy

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I, myself, have been on 8 different Workaways in Europe and loved the amazing experiences and encounters. Now I want to pay some of this back and share with like-minded individuals.

    There will be small-island living in beautiful surroundings in a typical New England cottage, right on the Atlantic.
    While we are „summer people“, we have many island friends who’d love to meet you and share meals, drinks, and game nights. It’s great to be part of a small tight-knit community and our one-room school house with currently 4 school kids is amazing.
    There is fabulous hiking on the mainland and several national parks, but bug spray is recommended!
    We may be able to find a lobster fisher to take you out lobstering. And there are whale watching tours right out of beautiful Portland, Maine. Once in a while, we see marine wildlife off our porch.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Helping us around the cottage and maybe some other small maintenance and gardening projects as the need arises. All to be discussed and agreed upon together.
    Nothing difficult and certainly nothing dangerous!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Swedish: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    A nice light room, either with double or single beds. Rest shared with us.
    High-speed internet. All regular meals paid. Bed linens, towels provided.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    On island: beach-combing, reading, book club, happy hour, game nights, kayaking, etc.
    Off island: free inter-island ferry-boat hopping, trips to town, national parks, etc.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Good high-speed Internet!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 873627877154

Comentário (2)


Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




Help us create a four acre sanctuary in Morgan Hill, California, USA
Family welcomes help with farm and farm stand at Honolua Bay, Maui, USA