Seeking garden experts and/or very handy people with home maintenance experience to help us in Salento - Apulia, Italy



Favorito 159 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia


 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    **Please only write us if you have gardening and/or dog-sitting expertise.

    Hi there! We are a couple from the United States who live in southern Italy. We work as teachers, translators and editors in order to pay the bills, but we prefer to be hanging out with the locals in our town, working on learning Italian, walking our dog on the beautiful beaches close by, riding our bikes, gardening, and playing music with friends. We have a house in the historic center of our beautiful town, and so we are looking for WorkAwayers to help us with gardening, building raised garden beds & perhaps a greenhouse, and we have various other home maintenance projects such as painting that we'd like to work on with handy people...

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have been WorkAway workers, so we know what it's like to travel around and participate in this kind of work exchange, and we'll do everything possible to make sure that you enjoy your time here and feel that it's a fair exchange for you. We are happy to show you around the area so that you can get a taste of the region.

    Our location is quite special. Lots of gorgeous beaches can be reached within 10 or 15 minutes by car and 20 or 25 minutes by bike. Sandy beaches, rocky coves, and beaches with protected pine forests and hiking trails are all within reach. The town is surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, and you'll see shepherds with their flocks grazing around abandoned fortified farmhouses when you're on your way to the beach. Our town is a very lively place despite its small population. There is always something going on, and the piazza is constantly full of life. Many young people live here and engage in creative pursuits. There are quite a few musicians living here, so if you play music, there is always the opportunity to jam with the townspeople. You will have plenty of time to explore the area, meet the locals, and enjoy the delicious local cuisine...

  • Ajuda


    Our house has a large garden, and as "new gardeners," we could use some help with the garden – thus, a lot of gardening experience is a must. We want to learn from your expertise! Garden tasks will include pruning, germinating seeds for our "forthcoming" veggie garden, weeding, planting, fertilizing, etc... We would also like to build some raised garden beds on our rooftop terrace and a greenhouse at some point soon.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are especially looking for folks who have experience with Mediterranean plants.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️The garden is actually the site of an olive press from the late 1300s – it belonged to the monastery that flanks our garden.

    Home maintenance:
    Here are some of the projects we need to accomplish:
    *building raised beds in the garden
    and perhaps you have some other ideas... :)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️If you come to help out and would like to take our dog for a walk from time to time, this would be greatly appreciated, too!

    Here are a few things that you should know:

    1. How much time is expected and the details of the tasks you need help with
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ A maximum of 4 hours per day for gardening (5 days a week)

    2. How meals and food will happen
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Because we are asking for so few hours, meals won't be provided officially, but we'll make you dinner every now and then (if we are here) and stock up some coffee and breakfast things for you upon your arrival.

    3. Internet/Phone rules
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ There is no phone, but you can use our wireless internet, which is fast and reliable.

    4. Public transport info
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ There are busses that go to the beach (not very regularly, but sometimes), and there is a train that goes to some bigger cities nearby (i.e., Lecce & Galatina), so that's a great option for day trips.

    5. Things to see and do locally
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Beaches, other towns, festivals... Kayaking, swimming, walking on the beach and in several nature preserves nearby... Playing music with the townspeople... Meeting locals... Relaxing in the sunshine on your private rooftop terrace or in our garden...

    6. Can you accommodate families/children/animals?
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We are happy to accommodate a couple or a couple of friends (2 people maximum), but unfortunately we can't accommodate children or other animals...

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    You can stay in our guest apartment. It is a studio apartment with its own private entrance, a kitchen with pots/pans/dishes/etc., a very comfortable bed, a table and chairs, a pellet oven to heat the apartment, and a private bathroom with a shower. Internet is provided. The entrance is actually around the corner from our house, so it is totally private. The apartment is cozy (i.e. small), but it is great for one person and fine for two people. It has its own private rooftop terrace. The apartment is in a quiet area of town.

    It's still warm enough here, but once the cold weather sets in, you might want to use the pellet oven to heat the guest apartment. You will need to buy your own pellets (but they are available nearly everywhere here and are quite inexpensive).

    *️️*️️Please note:
    Because the accommodation is private, this WorkAway placement might be less social than other placements. We'll do our best to spend as much time as we can with you, but it always depends on how much work and other obligations we have at the moment. But our place is situated very centrally, so if you're a bit independent, you'll have a lot of fun using your many hours of free time exploring our town and the area. We're in the center of the old town, so you can get everywhere you need to go in town within five to ten minutes by foot.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Preference will be given to Italian WorkAwayers, as we're trying to immerse ourselves in the language, but we are also very open to hosting all WorkAwayers who want to share their garden expertise with us and enjoy our beautiful region.

    We would prefer to have a non-smoker.

    Other things we can offer you: We can teach you beginning guitar and help you with your English.

    If you have any questions, just get in touch. We look forward to meeting you! :)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 861945783474