Help with renovations and land while exploring Ladevèze-Rivière , France



Favorito 3 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Descrição


    We are a family of 4, 2a and 2c, and we have very recently purchased a typical Gascon farmhouse which we are told dates back to 1650. The main house is in need of renovation and repair, but it is currently habitable, although we should not want to mislead anyone - some of the facilities are in need of urgent repair, replacement or renovation. Some rooms (including bedrooms) are ok and need very little, but others require more work. We are also renovating the barn, to have bedrooms, a bathroom and a small kitchen, as well as a large open plan living space.
    We have reasonable sized grounds of around 4000sq.m.
    Our location is in a very small village would best be described as rural, but not isolated, with a few near neighbours. However, there are no shops and the nearest are a 5 minute drive away, as is the local cinema, post office, restaurants and bars so you would need a car or transportation for your leisure time. If you are looking for peace, quiet and relaxation, our location is perfect.
    We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you into our home and project!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Companhia para idosos
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We would like to really encourage workaways to become part of the household during their time with us.

    They can learn how to work with animals, gardening and building trade work.

    Hopefully they will discover a way of life that has changed very little over the last fifty years

    For those with an “open mind” the cultural exchange can give them an opinion on life from a completely different point of view.

    For those interested in astronomy, our location offers clear skies (weather dependent) and zero light pollution. The Pic du Midi Observatory is about 1.5 hrs away by car.

    Animal and nature lovers will also be thrilled with the abundant flora and forna on our very doorstep, as well as the birds and bats that nest in our barn. We have several rivers and lakes nearby.

    For the winter, the nearest ski resorts are approximately 1.5 hours by car.

    We have lots of experience of providing host accommodation in the UK for foreign students, and this has also led to some work in teaching English as a foreign language, although we do not hold any formal qualifications in this field. In return, we are also always looking to improve our French which is currently very basic.

    We have many years of travel and life experiences and of other cultures and we share our knowledge with our workaways. We are always intrigued to hear your life experiences and travel stories.

    We take the health and safety of both workaways and ourselves very seriously and try to make sure that our workaways are properly looked after. Part of this might include suggesting places of interest for sightseeing and days out. If required, we could possibly accompany each other.

    We believe our property and lifestyle provides an ideal escape from a hectic working, studying or city lifestyle and the culture and way of life in France gives the impression of what life was like in the UK in the 1970’s.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    In the summer of 2020 we bought a farmhouse and barn with about 4000sq.m. of land (about 0.5 acres) roughly 10 kilometres south of Plaisance du Gers, in the Gers Department, France.

    We are at the very initial stages of renovating the old farmhouse and barn and are at the stage where we need to do the plumbing, run electrics, put up plasterboard, insulation, lay tiles etc. Therefore, anyone with building experience or a wish to learn would be very welcome. Experience is a bonus but not essential. Our biggest requirement though is just general labour.

    Another project is the landscaping of the lawn and grounds. Again, experience is a bonus but not essential. We do not have a pool but have plans to install one, so any experience in this field would be a huge benefit!

    Another garden project is the planting and maintenance of boundary hedges.

    The house is in a rural location but not isolated. We are just on the edge of the Hautes-Pyrenees department, with long hot summers and mild dry winters. With views to the Pyrenees, the surrounding land is both very flat in places whilst also having hilly areas. This makes the area great for walking and cycling. The area provides a peaceful and relaxing area with wonderful views, and has rightly has earned its ‘sleepy’ Gers moniker. If you are looking for a neon-filled, late-night bar lifestyle, maybe this isn’t the place for you!

    We are both British and retired Steph was a service manager in the NHS and Chris lastly worked for British Airways after a career spent in sales and customer service, among other things. We have 2 school aged children. Whilst together we have basic knowledge and experience of building and DIY skills and some of the tools and necessary equipment we may not always both be at the property, and some jobs will require a minimum of 2 people (lifting, carrying, ladder work, etc). We are no longer as energetic as we once used to be, so extra help is always a welcome relief, as is the company.

    We would like 25 hours help a week, however how this is achieved is open to negotiation. We would expect workawayers to have at least 2 days off a week for your own leisure, rest and recuperation and food would not be provided on these 2 days.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Mutual exchange of language learning welcome! And guitar if you know how 🙂

  • Acomodação


    You will have your own private double bedroom. The bathroom is currently shared between all hosts/guests until the installation of new ones.

    Internet access via Wifi, which is mostly good however this area is notoriously inconsistent. Fast fibre connection is promised by the end of December 2020.

    We provide bed linen and towels, changed weekly.

    We strive to vary the diet, cooking from scratch where possible using local ingredients. Food would not necessarily be limited to French or English - we love food from all countries.

    For 5 days a week, we will provide breakfast, lunch, and the main evening meal which we would welcome you to join us. We are both sociable people and actively encourage conversation and cultural exchange especially at meal times as this this is as equally important to the meal as the food. Vegetarian diets/allergies could be accommodated, within reason depending on the requirement.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We would offer our knowledge on the local area, suggesting interesting visits and days out. We are still discovering all the area, both near and far, has to offer and would always welcome the opportunity to explore together.

    Public transport seems to be very limited, so a car would be essential.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Well behaved pets welcome, and would need their owners full responsibility for safety as we currently have open boundaries.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 851711914869