Help a German-Canadian family in Northern Alberta, Canada

Country

Canadá

atualizado   Última hora

Favorito 258 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    04/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
Este é um anfitrião de última hora. Eles nos informaram que precisam de ajuda imediata e também para outras datas ao longo do ano.
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    September 2022:

    We have been in communication with many workawayers over the last few weeks. Here are a few questions that came up repeatedly and it’s maybe helpful if we post something about them here:

    We are not a company/ farm. So we are not looking to hire people. We just want to offer a place where travellers can stay and we will have a fun time together.

    We can also not help with visa applications/ invitation letters. That requires personal information and we cannot hand this out to strangers.

    We are a family that loves yummy food, enjoys cooking together and eat together. We have a big garden that nourishes us in the summer and early fall. We have welcomed workawayers with any kind of diet or food preference. Anyone is welcome!

    We live in a very rural setting in the middle
    Of the forest. Occasionally we have seen bear poop on our trails but bears do not come close because we have a dog. In the Winter we see elk, deer and moose. From the deck we can observe beavers in our creek.

    August 2022:

    Life has kept us busy and we did not make workaway a priority but would love to change this now. We would love to welcome any kind of travelers to our home, singles, couples, families from any walks of life. Since we like to travel ourselves, we are also always looking for people who are interested in long-term stays (i.e. over Christmas) and especially also starting May 1, 2023 until October 30, 2023 when our house and pets would like company while we explore the world. Looking forward to hearing from all you wonderful travelers out there :)

    June 2021:

    We have not updated our profile or been active on workaway for a while due to uncertainties COVID-19 related. We have now decided that we can welcome travelers. Our set up allows for required social distancing especially during time of arrival so we can let some time pass should there be any illness. We live in an area in Alberta where there are no or only few cases and we want to do our part to keep it that way - therefore we are careful. We also understand though that there might be travelers who are stranded and in need for host families. So please come. Jobs to do right now are gardening, landscaping and wood splitting. Household chores such as cooking and cleaning are shared and do not count as the expected work time as these things need to be done anyways no matter where you live. For the beginning of August we are looking for house sitters again. Duties would include watering plants, feeding animals (chickens, cat, dog, bunny, guinea pigs) and just making sure everythig is okay with the house. There is a big vegetable garden which might require a bit of care.

    November 2019:

    If there are any spontaneous travelers out there who still need a place for Christmas please let us know. Our place is available with a wonderful dark starry sky, a wood fired hot tub and fire place inside. If you want to spend Christmas in peace and quiet this might be your destination :)


    September 2019:

    We have had a wonderful summer with lots of traveling and workawayers at our place. Now Fall is here and we are still happy to welcome travelers. Work will be more inside depending on weather. There is still clean-up/moving jobs, some garden work, help with the chicken coop, some painting and everyday housework. With Fall around the corner we are back to work full-time, which means during the day workawayers can enjoy time by themselves at our place.

    If there is interest we are also happy to welcome travelers at our home over Christmas with the opportunity to do house sitting while we are gone. Details can be discussed in person.

    If you are a traveler who likes to do long-term planning we know for sure that we have lots of projects lined up for next summer. Starting in May 2020 we have lots of landscaping projects lined up including building the patio roof, starting flower beads, building a place for outside bonfires, sanding and painting the deck, building guest accomodations etc.

    We are happy to hear from anyone who is interested. Experience level does not matter, we like to teach travelers new skills :)

    May 2019:

    After taking a bit of a break from being a HOST family, we would now love to welcome people into our life again. The house that has been built in many hours of labor of love can now be enjoyed by many visitors :)
    Currently, the work here consists of gardening, cooking, cleaning (these jobs are always shared amongst everyone at our place - not just the hosts or workawayers doing them), and lots of landscaping work around the new house (including a new place for our fire pit so the evenings can be enjoyed together) . Lots of leftover building material needs to be moved and stored. Preparing firewood for the winter and cooking is another important job. House sitting continues to be an option as well as usage of our canoes and cars ( for further details see posts below). Looking forward to being connected with wonderful travelers again :)

    July 2018:

    Now we have lots of paint jobs, flooring and other carpentry tasks to do as well as tiling. If someone is interested in house sitting while we are on vacation that is an option too. There are still chickens and the cat to take care off along with the vegetable garden. Our canoes an be used in one of the nearby Lakeland you can use our cars to explore the area.

    Valleyview is a small community but the Greyhound stops here and has a small lovely coffee shop, a new fantastic Multiplex for swimming and other fitness interests and stores to buy the most essential things.

    We or friends often travel between Edmonton and our place and can give you a ride if it works with everyone's schedule.

    March 2018:

    Interior work is still happening. Dry walling, building cob walls, painting, flooring, building counter tops. It continues to be a very creative project and more ideas come as we go. Anyone who has experience with building or wants to learn new things is more than welcome to join us.
    This year we would also like to pay a bit more attention to our garden again. If this is an interest or skill of yours please come and play :) Cooking and other domestic duties never stop and if you like to show your skills in the kitchen this here is a great place for you. We all love to cook and share meals together.
    Otherwise not much has changed. The children are growing and turn into inspiring individuals, our cat is still there and of course the chickens.


    it is now August 2017

    and the walls and roof of our new house are done. We have now moved on to doing interior work. This involves working with wood, drywall work, plaster and cob work. It continues to be fun and creative and we love how everyone's ideas make this house grow and develop. Our kids have grown along with the house and are now 4 and 7 years old and continue to enjoy our life in the woods with lots of space to run and around and play. Our chicken family grew and currently we have lots of little chicks that need attention. Our cat Tomte is still around and loves to curl up on someone's lap.


    Hi,

    here is another update on us. It is now 2 1/2 years after our house fire and we are still in the re-building phase but it is a fun project. The building style we have chosen is very creative and called cordwood also known as stackwall houses. Look it up if you are interested! The walls are more than halfway done but there is still lots of building to do. If you like to build and be creative you might like being involved in this project.


    Hi,

    The original text below has to include some changes now about our living situation as our house burned to the ground in December. Our family is fine, luckily nobody got hurt. We are now looking for workawayers who might be interested in giving us a helping hand with our re-building project. Please contact us with any questions you have. We would be excited to welcome you!

    Hi,

    We are a German/Canadian family that lives in Northern Alberta. The small place is called Little Smoky, located about 3 1/2 hours northwest of Edmonton. We live in a quiet wooded area in a stackwall house, heat and cook with wood and live basically of the grid (solarpower...). We have two small children ( Juri and Sophie) a cat named Tomte and four chicken (Adelheid, Karoline, Johanna, Serephine). We try to live of the land and love to have people around to show them canadian culture, give them travel experiences and share some of the work on our place.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are a bilingual family speaking German and English. We enjoy learning from all travelers who come here and share their gifts of knowledge and stories about their journeys and home countries and experiences they have gathered.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    There are building projects on the go, our kids love company for playing and some garden work as well as preparing fire wood are some of the chores. We are very easy going people and would love to welcome you even just for a couple of days if you might not be sure how you will like Northern Canada.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    guest bedroom, garden house or tent

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our past workawayers really enjoyed the location in that it is off the beaten path. There is driving involved to see things but we can offer a car to our workawayers. We can be reached with greyhound and will be able to pick you up/ drop you off.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3-5 but this is flexible, does not have to be every day and not weekends (max 25 hours)

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)













Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 819516192581