Help me starting an eco-project on the remote Graham island, in Haida Gwaii, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 12 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    19/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am a self motivated 42 year old woman from Quebec. I have lived on Haida Gwaii, BC for 8 years now and just bought a property which I am very excited to settle onto! I have travelled extensively and lived abroad for many years and love to meet folks from around the globe. I am living in a remote community on a remote island called Haida Gwaii which is a rainforest surrounded by the sea and by mountains. I have a kayak and paddle board, a bike and lots of knowledge of the surrounding area to share.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I am a cook, I also work doing Thai and Swedish massage, and am an avid outdoors enthusiast who loves to do wild harvesting, transformation and experimenting. I also love dance and yoga and art. I can exchange with my volunteers in 3 languages about world travel, local wild harvested food and culture, and much more!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I have just finished deconstructing a house (Eco Project - reduce, reuse and recycle as much as possible), and I will need help with re-building a shed, building a yurt plateform, setting up garden beds, making a compost bin, building a foot path and greenhouse, etc. Lots of opportunities to learn new skills and share experiences! I would prefer self-motivated, hard working travelers that have a minimum of experience but am willing to accommodate folks with little knowledge but a good dose of motivation and determination! Using power tools and hand tools is part of the job so if you have knowledge in that area, that is great! If you are willing to learn, that is also awesome! My house has just been moved to my property (July 2022) so there is lots to do!!! The closest grocery store/post office/liquor store/restaurants are only 5 minutes away (walking), and the woods with hiking trails are 30 seconds away, as is the ocean!!!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Private room with double bed in my house. I have a 2 bedroom house, with each bedroom being at opposite ends of the house. I would enjoy cooking to be shared but am prepared to cook for volunteers as well if that isn't part of your skill set! Would love to share at least 1 meal a day with volunteers.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    In our spare time, you can definitely go hiking in beautiful forests or on deserted beaches, you can use my double kayak and/or paddle board to explore some of the small islands in the bay, you can walk around town and explore the Haida cultural museum, the restaurants and library. This is a small community so no shopping malls or chain stores here!!! I also built a mobile sauna which you are free to use!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is internet although the connection is not always reliable and there is a limit to the amount of data we can use each month...

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is room to park your camper van in my yard!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    I am allegic to cats so unless you are traveling with your own accommodation (campervan), then no cats please! Dogs are welcomed though! I just lost my dog a few months ago and I love dogs!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 816628878388

Dê Workaway de presente
Saiba mais

Encontre o anfitrião perfeito