Help out around our off-grid eco-backpackers and working Permaculture Farm in Hogsback, South Africa

Country

África do Sul

Favorito 260 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    18/05/2022

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are an off-grid eco-backpackers and working Permaculture Farm. We practice wise waste management with none of our waste going to landfills. Our buildings are all made using natural building techniques such as wattle and daub, cob and wooden cabins. Our Permaculture farm includes organic veggie gardens and food forest, chickens, geese, pigs, horses, dogs and cats. We use natural horse-man-ship and offer out-rides and overnight trails. In our kitchen we make our own soaps, household cleaners, preserves, bread, kombucha and keffir. We love to cook and serve hearty home-cooked meals from our wood-burning stove daily.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Hotelaria/turismo
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Currently would prefer a male volunteer to help with some lifting but all welcome

    We are situated in the mountain village of Hogsback in the Eastern Cape, South Africa. Our volunteers assist in all aspects of running the farm and backpackers: from helping in the kitchen to assisting with our horse rides (we use natural horse-man-ship), getting involved in natural building projects, updycled art projects and current initiatives.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Our volunteers sleep in a dorm with majestic views of the Hogsback Mountains.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are an off-grid establishment which means we create our own energy. We use solar power for lighting and charging electronics. We have a wood-burning stove and a wood-fire boiler for hot water. We have composting toilets, three showers (two outdoor overlooking the valley) and a bath. Our water is sourced from an on-site spring. We are waste-conscious and sort and manage our own refuse: nothing goes to the landfills. Re-using, up-cycling and recycling are part of our waste management strategies. We ask that all our guests and volunteers participate in wise waste management.

    During your time off you can explore the many hiking trails and waterfalls in Hogsback. There is also mountain biking and abseiling on the mountain. You can also visit the Eco-Shrine, walk the Labyrinth at The Edge and enjoy many local art and craft spots as well as restaurants and coffee shops with wifi. There is no public transport in Hogsback however we do offer a shuttle service to the village centre and neighbouring towns. There are also taxi's available to go to neighbouring towns.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours per day, 5 days a week






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 689669397661