Come and help with lambing, forestwork and gardening in Telemark, Norway

Country

Noruega

Favorito 237 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    30/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    98.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are running a small organic farm in Ulefoss, Telemark. We have sheep and some chickens, two cats and a dog. From May til October we have a few pigs in the old garden. 'The garden' is therefore no longer a garden, but a lovely dirty muddy place for happy pigs. :-)
    This is a private homestead and we are producing for our own consumption.
    I moved to this farm five years ago, so I still have a lot of projects going on. I am a nurse working weekends. I have a small vegetable garden which really needs some love and attention. Last summer it was badly neglected...
    I want to change the dense and bushy woods so it can be used as grazeland for my sheep.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    When you come here you will see how Norwegians live on a typical small farm. We try to make as much as possible from our vegetable-garden, and we conserve wild berrys during summer for the next year.
    We love to discuss with people from other countries, and to learn how they live. We travelled a lot before we moved to the farm. Now we have to invite the world to come to us instead.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help with a lot! We have so many projects going on. I want to have a street-art painting on one of the walls of the barn. You see what I mean in the picture of the sun and flowers. It might be too cold for much outdoor painting right now, so I'll finish it next summer. I also need help in the vegetable garden, depending on when you come of course. I want to re-arrange some of the beds so everything is ready for next season.
    We have a forest that needs thinning and other wood work. It would be nice if you can handle a chainsaw, otherwise we will teach you.
    We still have some indoor painting to do on a rainy day. Also general maintenance and help in the house and in the garden. The whole house needs to be cleaned properly, ceilings and everything. Anyone? :-)
    In April and May we have the lambing. Very rewarding time, but also very intense. Then I need someone to help bottlefeed the motherless lambs, and to cook dinner some times.
    From June until September most of the sheep will be in the hills/ mountain about 2hrs drive from here. Now they are on the farm. We have started to fence in a big field for the sheep on my neighbours land, and need help to finish it.

    We expect you to work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    Workawayers normally give a helping hand two or three hours in the morning and after a long lunch break another couple of hours in the afternoon.
    You choose yourself how you spend your time, meaning that you can work more hours some days to have a longer break and go on a hike or something. Plenty of oportunities to go hiking or canoing if you want. Please note that you will have to work / feed the animals in the weekends since I am away working then. Andy, my friend, will be here but he doesn't have anything to to with that.
    The work can be physically demanding as sometimes learning new skills is challenging. Please no dramaqueens, although they can be quite fun sometimes. :-)
    We take good care of you but would also appreciate a hand with the daily chores like the dishes, sweeping up etc.
    You may need to bring old clothes and strong shoes, but we might have some here to use if you need to.

    Vegetarians who can cook for me are very welcome!
    Looking forward to see you!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have three spare bedrooms in the house, and soon one extra bathroom. Kitchen will be shared with us.
    Our meals are not so regular, but we want to have at least dinner together. :-) It would be very nice if you could cook something from your country once or twice a week, but no stress.
    When it comes to other meals you are free to make and eat whatever you find in the house. Of course you clean what you have been using in the kitchen when you are finished.
    I don't smoke, and will appreciate if you don't either. Having said that, you can smoke outside the house if you need to. We don't drink much, but we enjoy a glass or two of wine or beer when we play cards on the veranda. In winter we move inside and sit in front of the fireplace. We use almost only the woodburners in the house for heating, I really love the heat they give.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Ulefoss is a small place along the very famous canal of Telemark, Telemarkskanalen. It is said to be one of the most beautiful waterways in the world. When the canal was completed in 1892 it was called the eitght wonder. It connects the coast of Telemark with the inland through a number of locks. One can go there by one of the old passenger boats or rent a canoe and padle.
    The nearest bigger places are Skien and Porsgrunn, with all facilities, about 30 min by car. Buses every hour. There are numerous hiking options in the aerea, everything from 5 minutes to as long as you could possibly want. About half a mile from our farmhouse we have a kind of really basic three-wall shelter with a fireplace. Very nice to stay overnight there.
    We also have two bikes you can use whenever you like.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (5.0)













Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 814928955551