Come join us create and maintain a food garden and organise our space in the wilds of Cork, South West Ireland.

  • Favorito 48 vezes
  • Última atividade: 13 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a very busy unschooling, vegetarian family with 3 children, dogs, cats, hens and pigs.
    Our home is an old farmhouse on a hill in a stunningly beautiful rural part of Cork. We are 1 hour from the city and 30 mins from Killarney on a piece of land that consists mostly of natural native woodland.

    We grow our own food organically in the garden area which continues to expand. Its not a business but a passion to live closer with nature. Currently the push is on to get ready for the growing season. And to do some clearing around the house, so pruning and tidying back aswell as weeding is always required.

    Our plans for the future will include some build work hopefully to begin this summer. Theres lots to be created and designed yet. It would be lovely to share the workload and have input / inspiration to co create our relationship with the land we live on whilst enriching our lives and the lives of those whom wish to be involved.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    During your stay we hope that we can share some of our skills and interests. At our dinner table there is always a lively discussion, whether on current happenings in the world, the garden or woods, history or philosophy (martin) or on plants, nature and health (hanora) .
    Martin is a highly skilled Techie (works most days) and Hanora is a passionate lover of nature, gardener with a background in natural health and is a trained Yoga teacher.

    We live in the Ghaeltacht region (Irish speaking ) area of Cork although not native speakers ourselves.

    We feel there is a huge amount you could get from life here but it is very quiet area and not for everyone as it is rural. This is a place you will enjoy if you are looking for a bit of a retreat.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for independent positive minded individuals preferably with some practical experience whether in gardening or general maintenance to help us to prepare for the on coming season.
    We would like someone who would be able to help with prepping the ground for another polytunnel, building a new compost area, prepping the ground and to build a garden shed.
    If the weather is dry we need to get our cabin painted this year.
    Simpler jobs like weeding, pruning, tidying in the garden and general garden and land maintenance are always on the list.

    Those with strong will, initiative and cheery disposition welcome.

    Those interested should be capable of being around a busy noisy family. Our children age 14, 10 and 7 are pretty self directed and independent in many ways. The children are interested in horses, music, animals, writing, reading and arts and crafts al9ng with being generally playful wild and sometimes crazy.


    Time wise we would expect 5 hours help per day 5 days a week. Some of this work would be alone but some would be alongside Hanora.

    Anyone entertaining the idea of spending time here should come weather ready...Rain gear essential!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation is a either a caravan in the garden or a bedroom in our cabin which is next to our house. This gives you the space to have plenty of quiet to study, read or just rest. Martin or Hanora sometimes uses the living area in the cabin as an office space.

    We eat meals together everyday and our diet is vegetarian and wholefood based.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    As we are rural the public transport is limited but does exist with busses going from the village which is about 4 miles away. We have a bike you can use too. Killarney National Park ( Mountains and Lakes) is about 30 mins away, as is Gougane Barra along with beautiful walks on our doorstep.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We are very happy to have those of you in a campervan. We had a 3.5 tonne van here for a while. The track is rough and steep at the beginning but levels off. The last 2 summers we have had a family staying in a caravan with their children and this worked beautifully. Update we also now have a caravan for volunteers. It will sleep 2 people.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 813212729563

Comentário (5)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)







Sustainable gardening while you enjoy our rural idyll by the sea in Caherdaniel, Co Kerry, Ireland
Some dog walking, gardening and around our home in Munster, Ireland