Join our permaculture adventure, Invermay, Victoria, Australia

  • Austrália
  • Favorito 178 vezes
  • Última atividade: 31 ago. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo



  • Descrição


    We are an active family looking for the occasional extra set of hands to get some jobs done and help build upon a number of permaculture principle based projects around our bush property.

    After establishing a flourishing permaculture property over a decade we moved about a year ago and are working on our new sustainability adventure on the outskirts of Ballarat with views over to the Grampians.

    Backing onto the Creswick State Forest, our property will provide you with ample bushwalking opportunities. We have already done a lot of work to establish our intensive garden beds and our food forest area is now completely mulched, meaning our focus is now in preparing for summer which means lots and lots of bonfires :)

    Both Dominique and Liz have completed Permaculture Design Courses (2016 and 2017 respectively). Liz has also completed Permaculture teacher training. On our last property we implemented a number of projects, including intensive crop rotation garden beds, wicking beds, setting up poly tunnels, creating a mini-forest garden orchard area and designing water systems most of which we are in process of replicating again.

    We love living in the bush. We are mostly vegetarian (some seafood) and take pride in the fact we eat from our garden most days.

    If this sounds like you, then please get in touch! Extra points if Liz can practice her Dutch on you (not mandatory) 😉🤣

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Both Dom and Liz are fluent in Dutch. Dom is originally from Holland, while Liz learnt the language while living there (and keen to practice!). Dom also speaks German.

    Liz has been interested in permaculture since the mid-nineties, collecting all kinds of gardening and permaculture books along the way. Dominique completed his PDC in 2016, with Liz completing hers in 2017. We are always keen to share knowledge and learn from others in any area that helps us live more sustainably.

    Other practical skills we can share with you include sustainable gardening techniques (including sheet mulching, raised garden beds), bee keeping (beginners), preserving and foraging techniques.

  • Ajuda


    Most of the work we do is project based, so we probably can complete a project while you are here, working where possible to your skills, experience or willingness to give it a go.

    During the cooler months we prepare for the summer: clearing, collecting and removing sticks. This often results in a weekend bonfire; a perfect way to end the day (with a glass of wine, naturally).

    On top of this we are forage extensively (and furiously) at various times of the year collecting, among other things, blackberries, mushrooms, wild damsons, hawthorns, elderflowers, elderberries for use throughout the year. At these times of year, there are a LOT of preserving jobs.

    Other tasks may include help with our brood of chickens. We also keep bees, and our dog Betty is sure to love you to bits (just rub her tummy, seriously). Two cats also live on the property, but live inside to protect the abundant bird life.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    When staying with us you will have your own private room in our home.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are both working from home, which is why we’d love you to take your free days off during the week if possible (we can always discuss). This is more so we can get in and work with you over the weekend. Many hands make light work as they say! The good news is someone is generally home, so if you need a quick lift into town something can generally be organised between us.

    Ballarat is very close (7 min drive). A pick up to and from the station can be arranged. We can happily drop you off at the train station on your days off to take in sights in Melbourne or Ballarat. Ballarat has some wonderful goldrush era architecture and lots of great things to do including Sovereign Hill, the Eureka Centre (see the Eureka flag), Ballarat Fine Art Gallery, Lake Wendouree, Ballarat Wildlife Park and the botanical gardens as well as the numerous cafes and wine bars that have recently opened up.

    If you have your own car Daylesford (spa country) as well as numerous cute goldfields era villages are very close and well worth exploring. Aside from the State Park backing into our block the area boasts great hiking opportunities. We are avid bush-walkers and have many books and maps for walks in the Central Goldfields and Grampians area if you need some inspiration, but you can otherwise literally walk out the front door and choose your own adventure / walk.

    Lastly, we are on tank water which means we collect all our own rainwater for drinking and bathing. This means it is a finite resource for us, so we are mindful of not taking excessively long showers :)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We recently signed up to Starlink so our wifi is great!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day for 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 376434583974

Comentário (21)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Come join our family in the Northern Rivers, Australia
Join our family in growing syntropic food and herb gardens and doing natural building projects in Koreelah, Australia