Help a family with gardening and animal care in Monte da Pedra, Portugal

  • Favorito 28 vezes
  • Última atividade: 4 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi! I am Ana! I am a city girl who moved to my husband's family's farm, in Monte da Pedra, Alentejo. We live with our 4 boys, aged 8, 5, 3 and 1, in this lovely and quite place.
    The farm is away from the city, and the nearest villa is 8 minutes away by car.
    This farm has 200 hectares, where horses, sheeps and chickens can run freelly and safe, with the 4 dogs taking good care of them. We also have a lovely cat.
    In the farm you can take long walks in the nature, ride a bycicle, go swim in the dam or swimming pool, relax near the river that flows from autumn to spring, and listening the birds and the silence. By night, you can be amazed with the sky full of stars.
    I have a master degree in veterinary medicine, but since i was pregnant of my second son, i've turn my life to family and tried to take advantage from the farm. So, in 2021 my husband and i started to breed sheeps. We are also slowly building some rooms for agritourism.
    My husband, Miguel, graduated in law, also have exchanged his desk work for the farm duties and stays all day manageing the farm, doing all kind of work. He loves motorcycles!
    The current year, i am homeschooling my oldest son, who joins me in every activity in the farm. The other three are at kindergarden.
    Our families still living in the city and we don't have anyone near by to help us with the farm or kids.
    Our family loves to recieve people and exchange knowledge and adventures! We would love to receive workawayers!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    People who joined us were able to enjoy a place so peacefull and charming that usally came to visit year after year. Normally, our "almost wild" horses and lambs made the delight of the visitors.
    Besides the knowlodge that we have been learning since we live on the farm and that we will share:
    . we speak portuguese and we are able to understand and talk in english and spanish, so we can teach a little bit of portuguese, if you speak one of this languages;
    . I love horses and i was a rider, so i can give an experience with the horses;
    . learn about some animals behavior;
    . my husband can show how to ride a motorbike;
    . you can learn how to ride a tractor;
    . We can cook some portuguese food; and
    . visitors can have an experience of living in a family of six.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We have different types of work, deppending on the time of season. Never the less, i will enumerate them:
    . maintaining/improving the garden/fields;
    . help with the animals;
    . pick up wood/stones/cork/old garbadge from the fields;
    . pick olives/pine cones;
    . teach english/spanish to our kids;
    . help us constructing small shelters for animals;
    . help my son with his vegetable garden;
    . play with the kids...

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Português: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    As we are trying to do agroturism in the farm, we have 3 rooms with private bathroom. The room will be shared if there are two workawayers simultaneously and if there are any guests using the others rooms. But, maximum, two workawayers per room.
    The kitchen is in the maine house, wich has a living and dinning room, too. The main house is a place to share with other visitors. In the kitchen, you can find the basic accessories for eat and cooking and microwaves, stove, oven and cooffe maker.
    Near the pool, there is outhouse where you can do a barbecue.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Workawayers will be sharing our family space and small paradise, so we would like to ask visitors to share a calm mood, be gentle with all animals and to be carefull with the environment. We will also ask workawayers to be tiddy with the spaces they use.
    Normally, I stay in the farm during the morning and early afternoon and then I'll go to the nearst town for kids extra activities and/or go to the supermarket. The nearst town is around 30 minutes by car, and there are no public transports to get there from the farm. I have a spare seat, if visitors need/want to go to the city, or to pick them to the farm. My husband is used to do the same journey in the morning. In the city, you can visit the rice museum, Ponte de Sor museum, the art gallery, see the urban drawings and walk on the rivers garden.
    The farm is really isolated! The nearest village is 50minutes walking/15 minutes by bycicle/6 minutes by car.
    Theres are some beautifull villages nearby, but without a car, is difficult to get there, since there is only on bus per day nearby. But, perhaps, we could arrange a trip in our car! In the nearest city, there are more bus to get to other towns.
    Close the farm, there is a beautiful walkling trail, that leads you to old water mills; there are too pre-historic dolmens.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Este anfitrião está aberto a aceitar viajantes com animais de estimação.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 792599284581

Comentário


Help around my home and with creating a dog rescue in Freguesias de Insalde, Portugal
Family welcoming help with the garden, various building projects and general land maintenance in Portugal