Come and share this beautiful wild space with me in a Dorset village, UK

Country

Reino Unido

atualizado  

Favorito 140 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    12/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi, My name is Mandie and I am a community nurse living in a lovely Dorset village in a little cottage with an annexe (that I live in) and a large garden with a stream, fruit trees, vegetable patch, polytunnels.
    I have a few chickens and a cockerel. A friendly goose called Joe and Kizzy the cat. My old border collie dog, Loose, stays at my Mum’s while I’m working.
    I have two grown up children who are regular visitors and my Mum lives in the village.
    I enjoy cooking and having people to stay. I eat mainly vegetarian food or some locally produced meat on occasions. There are plenty of eggs from the chickens and homemade jams and preserves. I love making cakes and afternoon tea.
    I would welcome all sorts of help and would love people to come and share this beautiful but overgrown, wild space with me.
    I believe that most things are better when they're shared and that strangers are just friends you haven't yet met.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We live 2 miles down the hill from the lovely hilltop town of Shaftesbury, a small market town in Dorset with a fascinating history going back to Saxon times. The town is the home of Gold Hill (made famous by the “Hovis” advert) and has magnificent views over Thomas Hardy’s Blackmore Vale. It is the perfect place from which to explore the South West from Stonehenge to the east (30mins by car), to Bath and Bristol to the north and the Jurassic Coast to the south.
    The little town is quiet but full of independent shops, cafes and coffee shops. A small theatre, art gallery, museum and the churches are worth a visit There is an outdoor swimming pool open from May and there are a number of events and festivals planned for the summer and autumn... check out "What's on in shaftesbury". The stunning landscapes around Shaftesbury are well worth a visit. Compton Abbas Airport is a good place to have lunch whilst watching the planes take off and land over the Blackmore Vale and there are lovely walks in every direction.
    Stonehenge is 30mins away by car and Glastonbury about 40mins. Salisbury, with its stunning cathedral, is easily reached by train.
    The Jurassic coast is about an hour away.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I work full time and my partner, Adam, has a gardening business that takes up all of his time so I would welcome a little help mainly outside with sorting out an overgrown vegetable patch and gardening (mowing, strimming, weeding and simple tree help). Some general maintenance and do-it-yourself (which I can’t do!!!) inside and out. Clearing the stream and keeping it free from growth is particularly helpful.

    Help with taking care of the chickens and goose.

    Someone to clean the windows properly would be really welcome!

    It's handy if you can use a drill and other tools but not necessary. Woodwork and a bit of building knowledge is welcome.

    I have a dream to create an area for a bell tent with an outdoor kitchen/composting toilet/shower/firepit etc so experience and ideas are really welcome.

    There is a new poly tunnel frame erected that’s about to be prepared for spring. (Stripping turf, digging beds, path laying etc).

    So lots to be involved with and get creative with the space.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    There is a cosy cabin in the garden with electricity and with easy access to a toilet and shower. It has a small fridge, microwave, kettle and toaster.
    On occasions and by prior arrangement there is lovely little cottage available for you to stay in which is completely self contained. (Not available until October 22)
    There is plenty of room for camper vans or a caravan and there’s electric and water supply. You can access the shower room and washing machine that’s shared with the cabin.
    You're welcome to set up camp in the summer months. There is a 3mt bell tent erected with a single bed, bedding etc, electricity a kettle and a cool box.
    There’s always lots of good food available and let’s cater by individual arrangement as I’ve found different people like different things. I can easily stock the cabin with basic supplies for you to help yourself to your own breakfast; cereal, porridge etc. I usually make sandwiches for lunch and I’m happy to provide an evening meal and enjoy cooking for others.

    If you’re in the cottage, you will have your own bathroom but otherwise share.
    You can self isolate/ quarantine if you need to.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I would expect 5hrs help a day and a minimum of 1-2weeks stay, longer if it works out well. Flexibility is the key to good relationships. So if you work longer one day you work shorter on another. Or if we’re tackling a certain project with a deadline, work a week and have a week off.

    I am happy to show you the local areas of interest or give you lifts to and from the station when my shifts allow.

    There is a mainline station in Gillingham (10min car drive) with regular trains to London, Salisbury, Exeter, Bath and Bristol. There are regular buses through the village.

    I have good friends and family that visit and are a sociable bunch. There is a bit of an open house policy so you’ll get to meet lots of people as they pop in and out to say hello and, more often than not, eat cake!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lots of space for a camper van or two. And camping in the summer months.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)










Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 782278833833