Learn how to help feral Cats in Tala, Cyprus

Country

Chipre

atualizado  

Favorito 55 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    73.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am the founder and sole operator of Fishing for Felines By the Mediterranean Sea. I am a 62 year old widow from the USA who has dedicated my time to sterilizing the feral cats which elude capture. I have lived in Cyprus for 6 years. I have three adult children and was formally a host for a Foreign Exchange student from China in the school year 2011-2012. To date I have personally captured 1900 cats for surgery and another hundred for injuries needing veterinary treatment. I currently have 20 kittens living with me awaiting adoption. In my earlier life I worked as a social worker and volunteered in Hospice and Hospital Chaplaincy ministries.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Trabalho beneficente
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Cyprus is an EU island country in the eastern Mediterranean. The local people are Greek Cypriot and enjoy their distinctive cuisine as a national pastime. English is spoken widely and their is an expat community spanning both European and Russian inhabitants. Many retirees are from England, Scotland and Scandinavian countries here for the sunshine and golf. The island is significant for its archaeological findings, its rich Greek Orthodox faith, its unique ecosystem and indigenous species of plants and birds. Places to explore include the "path" of Aphrodite, Goddess of Love, Scenic Beaches, the Akamas Penisula, numerous wineries, Latchi Port and Harbor, Paphos (European Capital of Culture 2017), a restored and revitalized "Old Town" section for night life, and countless minor villages with traditional stone houses and cobble streets. Within a 90 minute drive are the Troodos Mountains, the divided capital of Nicosia, the port city of Limassol and the international airport at Larnaca. Paphos airport operates on a more limited basis. Visitors should be aware of the historically significant invasion of 1974 in which Turkey invaded and has since occupied the northern coastline of the island. After the fall of the Berlin Wall, Nicosia is now the last divided capital in the world.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    My project is a Trap-Neuter-Return scheme to curb the birth rate of feral street cats in Paphos Cyprus. It operates under the umbrella of the Tala Cat Sanctuary which is currently housing 900 cats for rehoming. The cat park is located on the outskirts of the Agios Neophytos Monastery. The care of the cats in the sanctuary takes place from 8 AM to 2 PM.

    The trapping of cats for sterilization takes place in various locations around the community and usually occurs between 4 PM and dusk. Trapping is a "call out" service of the Sanctuary's overall programme. The sanctuary is within walking distance of the accommodation. Most of the work day there involves basic cleaning and maintenance of the grounds, grooming the cats, changing bedding and newspaper, washing bowls and replacing food and water. Evening trapping is carried out by riding in my Vauxhall Combo van to the particular site and setting up equipment on the premises.

    There are boxes and drop traps to be carried to and from the van. Once cats are captured we will transport them to the veterinarian clinic for surgery. Occasionally calls occur for injured animals. Some of the general maintenance involves scrubbing the boxes after use, preparing holding pens for female cats remaining overnight, washing bedding, caring for kittens who await adoptions, photographing outings and posting to social media. During your stay you could alternate between working at the sanctuary and coming out with me trapping; you would not be expected to do both in the same day. The variety will keep life interesting!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The apartment for your accommodation is an annex of my home. It consists of a sitting room with minor cooking facilities including full fridge freezer, microwave and induction burner, a clothes washer, a bedroom with double bed (54 inch width) a bathroom with large shower. The bedroom has sliding patio doors onto the courtyard which is enclosed by a fence and hedgerow. The back property line enjoys a spectacular view of the Mediterranean Sea in which one can see from the Paphos Airport to the beaches of Coral Bay. There is a jacuzzi suitable for year round use. The rooms have both heating and air conditioning. I can assist you with basic grocery shopping and the evening meal will be a mix of dining out, bringing in takeaway meals, light cooking etc.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Local public transportation here is not very good as busses run infrequently. Most visitors elect to hire a rental car. I can be of assistance in some of the sightseeing. It is worth exploring all of the archaeological sites, especially the mosaics at the Harbor, seeing the ancient frescoes inside the ceilings of the Orthodox churches. Kykkos is among the most famous. Driving through the rural country side you will see herds of goats. ATV can be rented for exploring through the Akamas region. Check travel sites for an endless list of possibilities as Cyprus has something for everyone, beginning with the amazing meze dining experience.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    The speed of my internet connection is reliable for digital nomads.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 775451597846